Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2007, 07:25 PM   #1
rrmalik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Activity monitor question

I usually have the floating CPU window displaying on some part of my monitor. However, that floating window has recently disappeared. When I try to get it to reappear (right clicking on the activity monitor icon on the dock, going to Monitors, then Floating CPU Window, and then clicking horizontal), nothing appears.

I am at a loss... any help?

Thanks a bunch.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 07:38 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Did you accidentally move the window off screen at some point? The floating window remembers it's position. Try deleting the com.apple.ActivityMonitor.plist file in ~/Library/Preferences/
robbieduncan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:19 PM   #3
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Or try Expose to see if the window at least appears.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:41 PM   #4
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Or try Expose to see if the window at least appears.

-Kevin
Unfortunately that won't work as the floating window gets hidden when you activate Exposť.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:49 PM   #5
rrmalik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I tried deleting that file but to no avail. Are there any other solutions if I indeed accidentally dragged the floating window off-screen (which seems very possible to me)?

Thanks for the replies.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 09:53 PM   #6
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Did you delete the file when Activity Monitor was running? If so try it again when Activity Monitor is closed.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 10:52 PM   #7
rrmalik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Ah, that did it.

Thanks.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activity Monitor Help me! Dukeluke MacBook 6 Jan 10, 2014 10:46 PM
Activity Monitor Applefan 2013 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Nov 3, 2013 02:26 PM
Activity Monitor - wdhelper? Braders88 Mac Basics and Help 5 Oct 7, 2013 12:26 AM
Help. Question about Activity Monitor and CPU usage VideoNewbie OS X 1 Aug 2, 2013 03:46 PM
Using Activity Monitor jj17 iMac 2 Nov 19, 2012 01:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC