Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2007, 07:25 PM   #1
rrmalik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Activity monitor question

I usually have the floating CPU window displaying on some part of my monitor. However, that floating window has recently disappeared. When I try to get it to reappear (right clicking on the activity monitor icon on the dock, going to Monitors, then Floating CPU Window, and then clicking horizontal), nothing appears.

I am at a loss... any help?

Thanks a bunch.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 07:38 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Did you accidentally move the window off screen at some point? The floating window remembers it's position. Try deleting the com.apple.ActivityMonitor.plist file in ~/Library/Preferences/
robbieduncan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:19 PM   #3
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Or try Expose to see if the window at least appears.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:41 PM   #4
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Or try Expose to see if the window at least appears.

-Kevin
Unfortunately that won't work as the floating window gets hidden when you activate Exposť.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 08:49 PM   #5
rrmalik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I tried deleting that file but to no avail. Are there any other solutions if I indeed accidentally dragged the floating window off-screen (which seems very possible to me)?

Thanks for the replies.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 09:53 PM   #6
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Did you delete the file when Activity Monitor was running? If so try it again when Activity Monitor is closed.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 10:52 PM   #7
rrmalik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Ah, that did it.

Thanks.
rrmalik is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's taking my active memory? gatortpk Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 21, 2011 03:41 AM
Activity Monitor bytes vs. bits eah2119 OS X 0 Jan 4, 2011 07:01 PM
Activity Monitor Question JK.online MacBook Pro 6 Feb 20, 2007 09:01 AM
Activity Monitor questions JonD25 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 14, 2006 10:37 PM
Activity Monitor Question peterj1967 OS X 3 May 21, 2005 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC