Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Old Sep 7, 2007, 01:25 AM   #1
Kiskeya
macrumors newbie

Best Macs for Pro-Tools!!!!!

I'm a record producer who's looking into upgrading all of my computers to Macs. I'm now using a couple of Vaios and Dells and they've been nothing but headaches once I upgraded to ProTools.

Can anyone suggest the best MacBooks and iMacs for ProTools Studios?

I also record allot of instruments (Guitar, Bass, Piano, Violin) straight into my recordings with Pro-Tools LE, so the options of recording Midi is very important. I'm currently using an Mbox via usb, will anyone suggest that I also upgrade to firewire for example?

I'm a newbie to the Mac world so excuse me in advance if I'm not familiar with the right terms?

Thank you.

Kiskeya.

(Thanks CanadaRam for pointing me to this forum)...
Kiskeya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 02:55 AM   #2
furious
macrumors 65816

I have a feeling you will need RAM. The best Mac for you then would be a MacPro.

Otherwise what is your budget? Do you need portability?
Old Sep 7, 2007, 10:48 AM   #3
Kiskeya
macrumors newbie

I'm trying to get as many Macs I can for 5K. I do need portability since I do travel allot.
Old Sep 7, 2007, 11:01 AM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiskeya View Post
I'm trying to get as many Macs I can for 5K. I do need portability since I do travel allot.
OK then: Your choices are limited. MacPro loses for price and portability

iMac -- this is still the value champ, however you have to be willing to ship it or lug it, it is not a grab and go laptop.

So you can get approximately 2 MacBook Pros or approximately 3 MacBooks plus a large LCD external monitor or 2.
For reasons stated in the other thread (larger screen size, expansion slot), the MacBook Pro is the safest choice -- but you give up at least one machine in the fleet.