Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2007, 07:17 PM   #1
shi2koi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Connect Macbook Pro to TV

I bought a DVI to HDMI cable and connected my MacBook Pro to my newly purchased Sony Bravia 32 inch HDTV (720p). The desktop background shows up nicely, but all icons and such are nowhere to be found. Any open windows, applications, and such show up on the MacBook Pro screen, but not on the TV.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong?
shi2koi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 07:45 PM   #2
Habakuk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vienna Austria Europe
Nothing wrong with it. By now you can move a window or something to the TV by leaving the notebook's display boarder at the right side with the cursor. There should be a monitor icon in the menu bar (if not open system preferences - display). Click on it and you will find all possible settings. It is possible to clone or span the desktop or move the menu bar or have the TV 90 degrees tilt (upright).
__________________
Hurry up! Selected & time-limited iOS App Store FREEbies and sales
(German-language blog; but you'll find all links, pics and videos)

Last edited by Habakuk; Sep 7, 2007 at 08:08 PM. Reason: Typo
Habakuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 07:47 PM   #3
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
You're spanning. The TV is an extension of your desktop.

You can make it your primary display and move teh dock/etc... to it with the Display tool in System Preferences.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 11:27 PM   #4
shi2koi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
That's it. Thanks for the assistance.
shi2koi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 03:34 PM   #5
csivegas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Could someone expand on the display for me. I hooked a friendís Mac book Pro to a projector and the display was as described here, it was an extension of the desktop. We could drag items to the right of the desktop image and they would go up on the screen. So we went into the preferences and display. There were three tabs, Display, Arrangements, Color. We then went into arrangements and found the mirror image box and check marked it. So then what we were seeing on the desk top was what we were seeing on the projector. Then once we disconnected the VGA cable my friend said the desktop images were stretched a little. We went back to preferences to uncheck the mirror box and the arrangement tab disappeared. Could someone explain this to me? Iím not much of a Mac person.
csivegas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 02:31 AM   #6
Habakuk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vienna Austria Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by csivegas View Post
Could someone expand on the display for me. I hooked a friend’s Mac book Pro to a projector and the display was as described here, it was an extension of the desktop. We could drag items to the right of the desktop image and they would go up on the screen. So we went into the preferences and display. There were three tabs, Display, Arrangements, Color. We then went into arrangements and found the mirror image box and check marked it. So then what we were seeing on the desk top was what we were seeing on the projector.
Everything is so as it should be. You did a cloning of the desktop.

Quote:
Then once we disconnected the VGA cable my friend said the desktop images were stretched a little.
...at the notbook display. If you clone the desktop both displays change to the resolution of the weakest device. Here it is the projector I guess. The MPB's display doesn't really look good then. When you disconnect the cable the MBP should change it's resolution automatically to the best (original) one. If not you'll have to change it manually in the System Preferences - Display.

Quote:
We went back to preferences to uncheck the mirror box and the arrangement tab disappeared. Could someone explain this to me? I’m not much of a Mac person.
The tab is only apparent when an external display is connected. There is nothing to arrange when there is no second device.
__________________
Hurry up! Selected & time-limited iOS App Store FREEbies and sales
(German-language blog; but you'll find all links, pics and videos)
Habakuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 04:35 AM   #7
ST8D
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
No color or sound on TV

When I connect my Macbook Pro to my Sony Bravia TV, the image on the TV is only in black and white and the sound doesn't transfer from the computer. I am using the connection from the computer that splits into the Red/Yellow/white connectors for the TV. Any suggestions to get color and sound on the TV? Thanks.
ST8D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 06:16 AM   #8
NicP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST8D View Post
When I connect my Macbook Pro to my Sony Bravia TV, the image on the TV is only in black and white and the sound doesn't transfer from the computer. I am using the connection from the computer that splits into the Red/Yellow/white connectors for the TV. Any suggestions to get color and sound on the TV? Thanks.
Which cable are you using exactly? I don't know of any single cable from the computer that will split into red/yellow/white
NicP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 08:42 AM   #9
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicP View Post
Which cable are you using exactly? I don't know of any single cable from the computer that will split into red/yellow/white
Sounds like Composite, but you're right. You need two cables to do that. One for the yellow and red and white from the headphone jack.

ST8D, are you perhaps outputting NTSC to a PAL TV or vice-versa?

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2007, 08:59 AM   #10
jonnylink
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Sounds like Composite, but you're right. You need two cables to do that. One for the yellow and red and white from the headphone jack.

ST8D, are you perhaps outputting NTSC to a PAL TV or vice-versa?

B
in another thread someone is considering using this cable which is probably the type of thing the original poster is using
jonnylink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2007, 11:22 AM   #11
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnylink View Post
in another thread someone is considering using this cable which is probably the type of thing the original poster is using
ST8D certainly wasn't looking for that cable since he describes yellow red and white plugs.

Note that the DVI-> HDMI solution you linked to still won't carry video and audio on one cable.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2007, 05:51 PM   #12
jonnylink
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
ST8D certainly wasn't looking for that cable since he describes yellow red and white plugs.

Note that the DVI-> HDMI solution you linked to still won't carry video and audio on one cable.

B
Yikes, I have to read more carefully. I totally misread the question. And you are right, about the audio. Another person had picked that cable. Looks like a "monster cable" version would work for audio and video, no?

Still doesn't apply to the post I was trying to apply it to though... which only the poster could have answered anyway.
jonnylink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2007, 06:11 PM   #13
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnylink View Post
Looks like a "monster cable" version would work for audio and video, no?
Nah. There's no audio on the DVI connector, so if you convert that to HDMI you still need audio from somewhere...

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2007, 06:57 PM   #14
Everingham.Curt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
will a DVI to composite video cable work for connecting a macbook pro to a TV? (my TV has YPbPr-type composite video input)
Everingham.Curt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 10:54 AM   #15
obes469
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Mini dvi to hdmi

hey can someone give me the link to a site where I can get Mini DVI to HDMI? I accidentally bought a Mini DVI to HDMI to a macbook...which is larger port then a macbook pro haha. I would love to buy another just would like a trusted site.
obes469 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect a MacBook Pro on that TV? RubberSol Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Apr 8, 2014 11:09 AM
Connect Macbook Pro to two monitors? mason.smith1975 MacBook Pro 9 Jun 14, 2013 10:24 AM
Macbook Pro connect to TV padagr MacBook Pro 8 Mar 31, 2013 05:47 PM
MacBook Pro won't connect to TV camilaperezb MacBook Pro 7 Jan 25, 2013 02:47 AM
Connect iMac and MacBook Pro. Fahad.A.D iMac 2 Jan 21, 2013 01:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC