Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 8, 2007, 03:07 PM   #1
Dandaman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Help! Powerbook won't start - HD Full

Did a quick search and couldn't find anything.

My HD in my powerbook and full and I can't seem to start up my powerbook because the hard drive is so full.

Does anyone know a way to get the computer started up so I can free up some space in my hard drive? I also have an external HD if that is of any help.

Thanks a ton in advance,

Daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 03:59 PM   #2
RaMaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandaman View Post
Did a quick search and couldn't find anything.

My HD in my powerbook and full and I can't seem to start up my powerbook because the hard drive is so full.

Does anyone know a way to get the computer started up so I can free up some space in my hard drive? I also have an external HD if that is of any help.

Thanks a ton in advance,

Daniel
Never have less then 8 Gigs left on the HDD, OS X just has problems with it. Happen to me, i had to re-install OS X.
RaMaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 04:01 PM   #3
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Did you try to start it in single user mode to delete something?
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 04:24 PM   #4
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
You can reboot with the OS X DVD and try reformating your drive... that is if you have your stuff backed up.

If you have an external drive you can install OS X on it, boot from that, then delete some of the files on your computer's HDD.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:11 PM   #5
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
Did you try to start it in single user mode to delete something?
nevermind. figured out how to start in single user mode. didn't work though.

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:14 PM   #6
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
If you have access to another OSX Mac and a Firewire cable, the easiest way might be to plug them together with Firewire, then start the Powerbook in Target Disk mode (hold the T key down while booting), then boot the other Mac. This should give you access to the hard drive of the Powerbook so you can delete some unneeded files.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:18 PM   #7
shoulin333
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Wirelessly posted (SAMSUNG-SGH-I607/I607FG1 Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 4.01; Windows CE; Smartphone; 320x240) UP.Link/6.3.1.17.0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Skunk
You can reboot with the OS X DVD and try reformating your drive... that is if you have your stuff backed up.

If you have an external drive you can install OS X on it, boot from that, then delete some of the files on your computer's HDD.
what he said
__________________
15" rMBP - Late 2013
27" iMac - Mid 2011 (Custom Fusion Drive - 256GB SSD/1TB HDD)
iPhone 5[S] - 16gb Space Grey(Verizon)
shoulin333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:22 PM   #8
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
See Section I here:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107210

You also need to know a couple Terminal commands like cd, rm, reboot.

Be very careful.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:26 PM   #9
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
OK. Then Target Disk Mode like CanadaRAM said, if you have another Mac.

Otherwise, I guess you'll have to look at it as good opportunity to upgrade your hard drive.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 05:35 PM   #10
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
If you have access to another OSX Mac and a Firewire cable, the easiest way might be to plug them together with Firewire, then start the Powerbook in Target Disk mode (hold the T key down while booting), then boot the other Mac. This should give you access to the hard drive of the Powerbook so you can delete some unneeded files.
Ok, so I backed up my computer on my external HD about a year ago. I got osx booted up running off the external HD. How do I access the HD of my computer to start deleting stuff? If I can't do this, my sister has a macbook (but she's out of town at the moment) and I can do the Target Disk thing. If I can do this through my external HD, that would be awesome.

Thanks again guys for all your help. This is why I love macrumors

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 06:06 PM   #11
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
If you have 10.4 on the external disk, launch Disk Utility, and if you see the internal disk, repair from there.

Otherwise, use the Terminal:

Do 'diskutil list' to see the device paths to the disks.

Look at the output of just 'mount' to verify that the internal disk is not mounted.

Lookup the documentation for 'fsck' and check/repair the internal disk automagically (not perfect, something could be lost here).

Use 'diskutil mountDisk devicepath' to mount the whole internal disk

Now you should be able to delete stuff.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 06:43 PM   #12
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
If you have 10.4 on the external disk, launch Disk Utility, and if you see the internal disk, repair from there.

Otherwise, use the Terminal:

Do 'diskutil list' to see the device paths to the disks.

Look at the output of just 'mount' to verify that the internal disk is not mounted.

Lookup the documentation for 'fsck' and check/repair the internal disk automagically (not perfect, something could be lost here).

Use 'diskutil mountDisk devicepath' to mount the whole internal disk

Now you should be able to delete stuff.
hmmm, disk utility seems to hang up while I try this... thanks though.

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:05 PM   #13
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Then don't use Disk Utility. Use the Terminal as I showed.

It will be the same if you hook it up to your sis' Mac.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:17 PM   #14
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
Then don't use Disk Utility. Use the Terminal as I showed.

It will be the same if you hook it up to your sis' Mac.
doh that's not good. terminal doesn't do anything also when i type diskutil list

a reformat may be in order

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:29 PM   #15
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
What does 'mount' say?
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:33 PM   #16
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
What does 'mount' say?
gives me 6 things:

/dev/disk1s10 on / (local, journaled)
devfs on /dev (local)
fdesc on /dev (union)
<volfs> on /.vol
/dev/disk1s12 on /Volumes/Media (local, nodev, nosuid, journaled)
/dev/disk1s14 on /Volumes/Other (local, nodev, nosuid, journaled)

????

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:44 PM   #17
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
OK, so it looks like you have 3 partitions on the external disk, and the internal disk is probably /dev/disk0

What does 'pdisk --list /dev/disk0' say?
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:46 PM   #18
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
OK, so it looks like you have 3 partitions on the external disk, and the internal disk is probably /dev/disk0

What does 'pdisk --list /dev/disk0' say?
pdisk: can't open file '/dev/disk0' (Permission denied)
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 07:50 PM   #19
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Needs superuser permission. Do 'sudo pdisk --list'. It will ask for the admin password.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 10:12 PM   #20
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Dude... if your external is big enough to take your entire laptop drive them clone it over and reinstall OS X on machine. There should really be no reason to go into terminal and hack into your machine. I think we're just making it harder than it seems.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 12:06 AM   #21
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
Needs superuser permission. Do 'sudo pdisk --list'. It will ask for the admin password.
I got some info out of that. Basically telling me what is free and what not. What do i do from there?
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 12:17 AM   #22
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandaman View Post
Ok, so I backed up my computer on my external HD about a year ago. I got osx booted up running off the external HD. How do I access the HD of my computer to start deleting stuff?
Wait: are you saying that when you boot from the external drive, you can see the icons of the external drive's partition(s), but you DO NOT see the mounted icon of the internal drive?

If that is the case then you have more severe problems than just an overfull hard drive.

You may have a b0rked directory structure on the internal drive, or a hardware problem.

You say the DiskUtility is hanging when you launch it from the external drive, and attempt to Repair Disk on the internal drive?
Does the internal drive show up in the DiskUtility list of drives on the left?

Can you get access to a bootable diagnostic-repair tool like TechTool Pro or DiskWarrior or both?
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 12:22 AM   #23
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
Wait: are you saying that when you boot from the external drive, you can see the icons of the external drive's partition(s), but you DO NOT see the mounted icon of the internal drive?

If that is the case then you have more severe problems than just an overfull hard drive.

You may have a b0rked directory structure on the internal drive, or a hardware problem.

You say the DiskUtility is hanging when you launch it from the external drive, and attempt to Repair Disk on the internal drive?
Does the internal drive show up in the DiskUtility list of drives on the left?

Can you get access to a bootable diagnostic-repair tool like TechTool Pro or DiskWarrior or both?
DiskUtility is hanging when I launch it from the external drive. Nothing shows up in DiskUtility.

I have TechTool Deluxe. Will that work? I hope I can save this thing. Thanks for you help Canada.

Daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 07:19 AM   #24
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandaman View Post
I got some info out of that. Basically telling me what is free and what not. What do i do from there?
That should show you the partition maps for the disks. You can see which are the ones containing filesystems in the broken disk (those of type Apple_HFS, I assume you're not using an Apple-specific type).

Form the numbers there you can deduce which is the corresponding device (something like /dev/disk0s10, for example, for the 10th partition on disk 0).

You can give that parameter to 'fsck' (or 'fsck_hfs' if the other refuses to execute). You probably also have to 'sudo' the command as before.
The -f parameter to fsck_hfs forces a check/repair even if the journal is clean on journaled filesystems.
For the -y parameter to both answers 'yes' automatically to the questions that the tool may ask you (eg, confirmations to repair).

Remeber, something could be lost with the automatic repair, but doing it manually would be very difficult.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 09:57 AM   #25
Dandaman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
That should show you the partition maps for the disks. You can see which are the ones containing filesystems in the broken disk (those of type Apple_HFS, I assume you're not using an Apple-specific type).

Form the numbers there you can deduce which is the corresponding device (something like /dev/disk0s10, for example, for the 10th partition on disk 0).

You can give that parameter to 'fsck' (or 'fsck_hfs' if the other refuses to execute). You probably also have to 'sudo' the command as before.
The -f parameter to fsck_hfs forces a check/repair even if the journal is clean on journaled filesystems.
For the -y parameter to both answers 'yes' automatically to the questions that the tool may ask you (eg, confirmations to repair).

Remeber, something could be lost with the automatic repair, but doing it manually would be very difficult.
WHEWWWWWWWWWWW....

I booted up from my external HD this morning and low and behold, I could see my powerbook HD. I'm currently pulling all my important files into my external HD and then I'll try to recover this HD. I'm gonna try deleting some files first and then try to start up with the normal HD.

Thanks a ton you all, especially cube and CanadaRAM. I owe you guys big time.

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
start up disk full macuser987 MacBook Pro 29 Feb 12, 2014 04:21 AM
PowerBook g4 12" shut down unexpectedly when I opened the lid fully, now won't start Publius41975 PowerPC Macs 3 Feb 5, 2014 02:47 PM
Start-Up Disk is full on old MB, what to do please? JackRabbitSlims MacBook 5 Sep 10, 2013 09:38 PM
Post-spill MBP won't charge new battery, sometimes won't start jchall MacBook Pro 0 Aug 26, 2013 08:10 PM
My start up disk is saying that its full knbr680fan MacBook Pro 14 Jun 26, 2013 05:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC