Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:11 AM   #1
Gloor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
How do you take a screenshot?

I recently switched to mac and I was wondering how do you take a screenshot of your desktop. I can't seem to find it. Anyone pls?
Gloor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:13 AM   #2
FunkyMonkey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Right behind you
Command-Shift-3. (Command is the one with the Apple logo on it).
__________________
"I'm in between things that only go half way."
FunkyMonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:13 AM   #3
GuntherS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium
Cmd - Shift - 3 = Fullscreen screenshot
Cmd - Shift - 4 = You can select the area for the screenshot
Cmd - Shift - 4 - Space = You can take a screenshot of a window
GuntherS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:15 AM   #4
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Command + shift + 3 takes a screen capture of the whole screen. Command + shift + 4 lets you select what area of the screen. Command + shift + 4 + space lets you just get a single window/Dock/Menu bar.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:21 AM   #5
Gloor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Wow, thanks for great help guys. Thank you
Gloor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:26 AM   #6
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Wait, one more way and you may like it better because it has more options. It's called "Grab". It's in the utilities folder. I love it!

Since you are new to Mac here's a cool tip. Open the Macintosh HD and drag the Applications folder to the Dock next to the trash. Right click or hold down on the mouse on the Applications folder and it will spring up with all your applications for quick access.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 11:36 AM   #7
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
And one more yet... if you take a lot of screen grabs, consider Skitch. It's a very nice program that provides really simple (but elegant) captioning, circling, arrow-pointing options. It also manages a library of grabs that you take, and it webpost them with a couple of button clicks so that you can post them in forums or inline them in a web page. It's great.

I occasionally still take opt-shift-3 screen grabs, because I want to capture something Skitch doesn't seem to handle correctly (like you can grab menu bars and things as full-screens with the keyboard, but you can't do it when you're using the mouse too, and so Skitch doesn't work well for that). I still just drag them into Skitch and delete the originals, though.

I can invite you if you'd like...PM an e-mail address.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 11:33 AM   #8
togermano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
Wait, one more way and you may like it better because it has more options. It's called "Grab". It's in the utilities folder. I love it!

Since you are new to Mac here's a cool tip. Open the Macintosh HD and drag the Applications folder to the Dock next to the trash. Right click or hold down on the mouse on the Applications folder and it will spring up with all your applications for quick access.
thanks for that!
togermano is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you take a screenshot in Windows? zen Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Apr 1, 2012 02:03 PM
How do I take screenshots at my displays native pixel density? ...NOT 72 PPI! lonesdav000 Design and Graphics 23 Jul 12, 2011 05:11 PM
How do you take screenshots with your iPhone? definitive iPhone 2 Oct 14, 2008 06:14 PM
How do you take screenshots of DVD player? fash Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Sep 14, 2005 02:32 PM
How do you take a screenshot in UT2K3... mangoman Games 4 Dec 12, 2003 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC