Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 14, 2007, 11:37 PM   #1
EHUnlucky7x9@ao
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to EHUnlucky7x9@ao
How to format HD using command line?

Disk Utility won't format the HD... it was an external HD that fell off a 4 ft table. It shows up on Disk Utility... i can't do anything with it though. It doesn't mount, can't partition, or erase. It shows up as an unformatted HD called disk1.

Anyone with any suggestion?
__________________
3.5 i7 3770k, 8Gb 1333 Ram, HD4000, 6 TB HD
2.3 i5 MBP
EHUnlucky7x9@ao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2007, 11:39 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
man diskutil
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 12:52 AM   #3
ab2650
macrumors 6502a
 
ab2650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cloverdale, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHUnlucky7x9@ao View Post
it was an external HD that fell off a 4 ft table.
The operative word being "was."
Me thinks your problem is in hardware, not the software to format the drive.
__________________
MacPro Quad 2.66GHz • MacBookPro 15" 2.16GHz • MacBook 2.2GHz • MacMini 2.0GHz • TV 40GB • iPhone 8GB
ab2650 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 08:28 AM   #4
EHUnlucky7x9@ao
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to EHUnlucky7x9@ao
There is some data in the HD that needs to be extracted though. I found a thread on Mac OSX Hints that there's a Unix command called dd that I can use to force the disk to read and ignore the error so it doesn't stop spinning. The HD still spins and it shows up on Disk Utility as "disk1" but I can't do anything with it.

I'm going to read up on dd and see if i can pull out the data and save it as a .dmg file. .... only problem is.... none of what i've read tells me exactly how to do it. They just give the line.... so should i enter it into terminal? Anyone know the steps to do this?

If not... my only solution is to leave it be. to make sure I don't mess up my Mac and/or externals connected to my MB.
__________________
3.5 i7 3770k, 8Gb 1333 Ram, HD4000, 6 TB HD
2.3 i5 MBP
EHUnlucky7x9@ao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 12:23 PM   #5
Mumford
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Altadena, CA
dd won't ignore errors. It will block (wait indefinitely) or fail just like any other application. That said, it's still something to try.

If you have a PC around, you might also want to check out SpinRite. It's very good at getting a bad disk to work long enough to get the data off... I've used it several times for that purpose. It won't work on Intel Macs because of BIOS differences, thus the need for a PC.
__________________
UMBP 15" 2.5Ghz 16Gb
Mumford is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 04:41 PM   #6
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHUnlucky7x9@ao View Post
There is some data in the HD that needs to be extracted though. ...
Then why did you ask about formatting. If you do that your data is toast. You might want to find a local professional to take it to for trying to recover some data.
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2007, 08:22 AM   #7
EHUnlucky7x9@ao
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to EHUnlucky7x9@ao
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
Then why did you ask about formatting. If you do that your data is toast. You might want to find a local professional to take it to for trying to recover some data.
Well, basically... it'd be nice to get the data out. If not, then it's ok. I just want the HD to work again.
__________________
3.5 i7 3770k, 8Gb 1333 Ram, HD4000, 6 TB HD
2.3 i5 MBP
EHUnlucky7x9@ao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2007, 02:57 PM   #8
Mumford
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Altadena, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHUnlucky7x9@ao View Post
Well, basically... it'd be nice to get the data out. If not, then it's ok. I just want the HD to work again.
You should no longer use this harddrive. Get your data off (if possible) and never use it again. It's obviously been damaged somehow. If that damage is physical (a scratch on the platters, for example), problems will increase significantly with use. Anything new you manage to put on it will be lost.
__________________
UMBP 15" 2.5Ghz 16Gb
Mumford is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convince my parents to let me buy a 17" MacBook Pro Ulf1103 Buying Tips and Advice 58 Nov 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Tutorial: How to get PCSX2 to run on Mac (without BootCamp) Mirrors Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 14, 2013 08:19 PM
[HOW TO] DIY iPhone 4 Swivel Car Mount QuarterSwede iPhone Accessories 13 Mar 8, 2011 02:51 PM
How to configure gcc for command line use? DavidInNH Mac Programming 5 Oct 7, 2009 11:44 PM
how to close application using command diyora iPhone/iPad Programming 5 Oct 2, 2008 03:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC