Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2007, 12:51 AM   #1
floam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
New iPod Classic Firmware, 1.0.1

There is new firmware available from inside iTunes. It just says there are "bug fixes".

Subjectively, the menus feel like they are back to as fast as the 5G iPods were, but Coverflow still sucks.
floam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 01:07 AM   #2
nateDEEZY
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by floam View Post
Subjectively, the menus feel like they are back to as fast as the 5G iPods were, but Coverflow still sucks.
Thanks for that! iTunes was set to check for an update tomorrow, I'm definitely hoping the menu is fixed and is just as fast as the 5G... Installing now.

Update: The speed of the menu definitely feels on par with the 5G ipod, cover flow is still pretty sluggish.. but seems a lot better than before. Not entirely sure if it's the placebo affect though, I only used the ipod for about a good 15 minutes playing with the menu before I heard of the update.

Last edited by nateDEEZY; Sep 15, 2007 at 02:35 AM.
nateDEEZY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:36 AM   #3
Shorties
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Awesome thanks! Strange now when I sync it it has just a P in the title bar instead of iPod.
__________________
17 inch Macbook Pro 2007 Black iPhone 5 32GB Sandy Bridge i7 Hackintosh

Last edited by Shorties; Sep 15, 2007 at 03:00 AM.
Shorties is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 09:44 AM   #4
rychencop
macrumors 65816
 
rychencop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: http://www.northaugusta.net/
Send a message via AIM to rychencop Send a message via Yahoo to rychencop
I agree! Some of the lag in my Nano is no longer there, so I guess that was part of the fix.
__________________
15.4" 2.4GHz A1226 MBP, 4Gb Ram, 240Gb SSD, OS 10.7.5
3G Nano , iPhone 5
rychencop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 09:45 AM   #5
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
awesome! this makes me feel better. i'm planning on picking up a classic either tonight or next week so a simple patch actually helping the situation eases my concerns.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:27 AM   #6
rockthecasbah
macrumors 68020
 
rockthecasbah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorestown, NJ
I just installed it, It worked wonders. I had been having clickwheel responsiveness issues, it cleared that up completely. I agree also with the OP, the menus are snappier. Coverflow is better, however, and I wouldn't say it "sucks" at all. It runs much more smoothly, just you still need to wait a second sometimes if you scroll fast and album art hasn't loaded completely. It nevertheless works better than before the update...
__________________
15'' 2.4ghz MacBook Pro (Matte), 2GB RAM, 200GB HD
Wii code: 7876 8987 6478 7445
My Last.fm
"Ignore her, she's a feminist"
rockthecasbah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:30 AM   #7
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
well thanks again for letting us all know.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 12:45 PM   #8
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
I just got my 160gb yesterday and I haven't yet installed this update, but thanks for the tip! Also, my ipod only has a "P" in the title bar too when it is syncing...

EDIT- installed it. It fixed some problems I was having with my movies... previously the names of the movies did not correspond to the right file (i.e., selecting Zoolander played Anchorman). Glad Apple fixed these things so quickly!
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes

Last edited by rockstarjoe; Sep 15, 2007 at 12:52 PM. Reason: More info
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 12:45 PM   #9
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
can one of you guys post a pic of the "P"?

and is it only when syncing?
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 01:43 PM   #10
fredsherbet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hertford, England
accessing the list of playlists is so much more responsive must be caching them now
__________________
MacBook: C2D 2GHz, 2GB Ram
First iPod: Classic 160GB
Latest addition to family: Mac Pro: 2xQuad 2.8, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 24" Hyundai W240D-PVA
fredsherbet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 01:45 PM   #11
netdog
macrumors 603
 
netdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Safari definitely seems snappier.
__________________
We don't see the world as it is. We see it as we are. -Anais Nin
Classical Homeopath and Naturopathic Doctor in London
netdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:20 PM   #12
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by netdog View Post
Safari definitely seems snappier.
um, safari isn't on the classic...
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:25 PM   #13
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by swwack91 View Post
um, safari isn't on the classic...
It's a MacRumors meme.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:26 PM   #14
iNeko
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Cover Flow still lists by artist... I'd say that was a pretty major bug... Nano seems snappier though, scrolling though Album list especially
iNeko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:52 PM   #15
sharp65
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I actually prefer coverflow to list by artist, I wouldn't call that a bug. The menus seem more responsive though.
sharp65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:53 PM   #16
ndheah
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Send a message via AIM to ndheah Send a message via MSN to ndheah
I havn't used an iPod in years, last one was a Mini so I was unsure if this was how they are now. After getting this update last night my classic is so much more responsive and easier to use!!
ndheah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:56 PM   #17
Tom B.
macrumors 65816
 
Tom B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
The charging screen has changed too.

But I would still like an option to exclude certain album covers from the main menu.
__________________
MacBook | 2.2GHz | 4GB RAM | 500GB HDD | Mac OS X | Windows 7 | Ubuntu
SyncMaster 2343BW 2048x1152 | Magic Mouse | Bluetooth Keyboard
iPhone 4 | 32GB | black

Last edited by Tom B.; Sep 15, 2007 at 03:30 PM.
Tom B. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 03:33 PM   #18
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by swwack91 View Post
can one of you guys post a pic of the "P"?

and is it only when syncing?
Here is the "P". Seems to happen when it is plugged in.

Also they still haven't fixed the Compilation bug... compilation artists are still listed under Artists instead of being hidden like they were on previous models.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5745.JPG
Views:	498
Size:	180.2 KB
ID:	85132  
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 04:13 PM   #19
iNeko
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp65 View Post
I actually prefer coverflow to list by artist, I wouldn't call that a bug. The menus seem more responsive though.
I meant compilations being split up in cover flow, by artist - instead of one album with "Various Artists" I have hundreds of the same album, but each with a different artist... Cover flow is essentially useless on the new iPods at the moment - that, is what I'd call a bug
iNeko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 04:26 PM   #20
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
lol the "p" looks funny. i guess something was lost in translation and the i,o, & d got deleted.

anyone up for firmware 1.0.1.1?
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 04:44 PM   #21
nateDEEZY
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Mine doesn't seem to have that bug, where it just shows the P, maybe try a restore?
nateDEEZY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 04:51 PM   #22
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
I seem to have found an even bigger problem. I have my classic set to sync with a few playlists, but it is also syncing with a bunch of playlists that I haven't selected. Not the whole lists, though... it seems to be a random number of songs from each list! Bizzare. Anyone else notice this?
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 05:42 PM   #23
sharp65
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iNeko View Post
I meant compilations being split up in cover flow, by artist - instead of one album with "Various Artists" I have hundreds of the same album, but each with a different artist... Cover flow is essentially useless on the new iPods at the moment - that, is what I'd call a bug
Oh I gotcha, yea that does need to be fixed!
sharp65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 06:06 PM   #24
downingp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockstarjoe View Post
Here is the "P". Seems to happen when it is plugged in.

Also they still haven't fixed the Compilation bug... compilation artists are still listed under Artists instead of being hidden like they were on previous models.
My 80 gb classic seems to have the same "p" when connected to my imac.
downingp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 06:19 PM   #25
Shorties
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by swwack91 View Post
lol the "p" looks funny. i guess something was lost in translation and the i,o, & d got deleted.

anyone up for firmware 1.0.1.1?
Haha yeah, actually sometimes when its syncing for me it does "iPod" other times it just does "P"
__________________
17 inch Macbook Pro 2007 Black iPhone 5 32GB Sandy Bridge i7 Hackintosh
Shorties is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Old iPod classic won't play music: New iPod classic Frozen Scepticalscribe iPod 3 Feb 19, 2014 05:18 PM
Latest Ipod Classic 7th Gens have different firmware and hardware? Max Dread iPod 1 Feb 7, 2014 07:17 AM
Where to find latest (and history of) Firmware Updates for Classic 160GB? Max Dread iPod 6 Jan 27, 2014 05:01 PM
Nano Watch Mock Up. Return of Classic iPod Classic Controls jozero iPod 2 Sep 6, 2012 01:09 PM
New ipod classic firmware downgrade? sirdugh iPod 2 Jun 27, 2012 06:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC