Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2007, 09:57 PM   #1
davidg4781
macrumors 65816
 
davidg4781's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moulton, TX
DOSBox Help

I'm not sure if this should go here, but, most I've seen DOSBox for is gaming, and, well, yeah....

I was wondering if there's any way to make the interface more, umm, elegant. I remember a long time ago, back in the days of DOS, I had something installed on my computer called AutoMenu. I can't seem to find any mention of this.

Can I use Windows 3.11 in DOSBox? I really don't see why not, but I'd like some other people's advice before searching it out. I don't even remember if you can launch DOS programs within Windows.

Another question (sorry, I'm waiting on someone from ebay to send me a code for AppleCare and I'm too anxious to do anything else...warranty's up on Sunday), how do I change the preferences so that it automatically mounts the folder I'm using. I read something online on how to do it. It was something about telling it to create an config file and editing that. When I do that, it changes it to a Word file (not sure if it changes the file, but that's what it opens in) and it doesn't do anything. It mentioned putting it into the DOSBox folder in the library, but it's not there. I created one, and it still didn't do anything.
davidg4781 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 12:08 PM   #2
aikeru
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I've been using DOSBox for a long time.

1. Can install Win3.1? Yes. You can install Win3.1, 3.11, should even be able to install Windows NT but I've confirmed Windows 9x doesn't work with even the latest DOSBox 7.x.

2. Interface? Sure - whether that means installing Windows and using that as your "interface" or you get semi-creative with a batch script. Bear in mind, DOSBox's "DOS" doesn't support all the *commands* "regular DOS" does (but programs, sure).

3. Automatically mount - Well in a Windows environment (I'm not a mac user you edit dosbox.conf and add lines at the bottom like you would an AUTOEXEC.BAT (which is the first thing DOS will do when it "boots up").
So add mount commands at the end of your .conf. This file is already "created" for us Windows people. :s
aikeru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 01:48 PM   #3
davidg4781
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
davidg4781's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moulton, TX
How can I install Windows 3.1? Is there a CD that I can buy anywhere? I wasn't even able to find the floppy version. With that, I can at least transfer them to CD while I still have my PC.

As far as the dosbox.conf file goes, I don't think it's made with Macs. I did a search, and the only ones it could find were in the trash, when I was experimenting with them. Maybe I need to keep it in a folder or something.
__________________
2010 MBP 13" 2.4 GHz 4 GB RAM 750 GB HDD iMac G4 20" 1.25GHZ 2 GB RAM 250 GB HDD
iPhone 5S 4" 32 GB Apple TV 3rd gen
davidg4781 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2007, 04:48 AM   #4
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Mac DOSbox comes with a Preferences file (that you have to install manually), exactly like the Windows dosbox.conf file. Use that to configure all your settings including automount stuff.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2007, 11:05 AM   #5
davidg4781
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
davidg4781's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moulton, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by apfhex View Post
Mac DOSbox comes with a Preferences file (that you have to install manually), exactly like the Windows dosbox.conf file. Use that to configure all your settings including automount stuff.
I tried that, and it made the file on the desktop. It also didn't do anything when I adjusted it. Maybe I did it wrong.... any help?
__________________
2010 MBP 13" 2.4 GHz 4 GB RAM 750 GB HDD iMac G4 20" 1.25GHZ 2 GB RAM 250 GB HDD
iPhone 5S 4" 32 GB Apple TV 3rd gen
davidg4781 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Boxer/DosBox Game Saves ? Washac Mac and PC Games 6 Feb 6, 2013 05:05 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC