Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:33 PM   #1
NotFound
macrumors 6502a
 
NotFound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
anyway to set homepage in safari?

I don't like how everytime I open safari it takes me to the last page I viewed.


Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Andrew
NotFound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:37 PM   #2
Roessnakhan
macrumors 68040
 
Roessnakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albuquerque, USA
I don't think there is. I just go to my homepage once again before I close Safari so that way its set when I go back.
__________________
"I reject your reality and substitute my own." - Adam Savage
portfolio | twitter | flickr | last.fm
Roessnakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:39 PM   #3
ivi7
macrumors 6502a
 
ivi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewxps View Post
I don't like how everytime I open safari it takes me to the last page I viewed.


Anyone have any ideas?
If you go to safari - preferences you can change the "New windows open with" tab to something other than what you have it on now.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
Macmini 1.83 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
8 GB Iphone
ivi7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:41 PM   #4
Roessnakhan
macrumors 68040
 
Roessnakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albuquerque, USA
I wonder if that's a feature confined to the iPhone, because I just went to the touch's Safari settings and that was not there.
__________________
"I reject your reality and substitute my own." - Adam Savage
portfolio | twitter | flickr | last.fm
Roessnakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:42 PM   #5
NotFound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NotFound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
i dont see that anywhere on my ipod touch...
__________________
Andrew
NotFound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:45 PM   #6
ivi7
macrumors 6502a
 
ivi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewxps View Post
i dont see that anywhere on my ipod touch...
Sorry my bad It cant be done on the ipod touch.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
Macmini 1.83 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
8 GB Iphone
ivi7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:46 PM   #7
NotFound
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NotFound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
hmmm... thats a suck-fest.
__________________
Andrew
NotFound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:48 PM   #8
infosprt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivi7 View Post
If you go to safari - preferences you can change the "New windows open with" tab to something other than what you have it on now.
I don't see that selection on my iPhone. I'm looking at "Setting" -> "Safari"

Where are you seeing that selection at?

Thanks,
Al
infosprt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:50 PM   #9
ivi7
macrumors 6502a
 
ivi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by infosprt View Post
I don't see that selection on my iPhone. I'm looking at "Setting" -> "Safari"

Where are you seeing that selection at?

Thanks,
Al
On my mac. Didnt realize I was in the apple touch forum .
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
Macmini 1.83 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
8 GB Iphone
ivi7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:54 PM   #10
infosprt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivi7 View Post
On my mac. Didnt realize I was in the apple touch forum .

OK, thanks I thought I was missing something on my iPhone.

-Al
infosprt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:58 PM   #11
jacktiernan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vic, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivi7 View Post
On my mac. Didnt realize I was in the apple touch forum .
I don't have my touch yet - so this is a guess....

Is it possible it imports your homepage from safari on your computer, like it does your bookmarks?? Don't shoot me down if i'm wrong, just trying to help!
__________________
Wherever I go, here I am
jacktiernan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 06:35 PM   #12
infosprt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacktiernan View Post
I don't have my touch yet - so this is a guess....

Is it possible it imports your homepage from safari on your computer, like it does your bookmarks?? Don't shoot me down if i'm wrong, just trying to help!
I doubt that it wil have the capability since it is not on the iPhone.
infosprt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 11:06 PM   #13
jlauve
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
You can set Safari Homepage on an iPod touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewxps View Post
I don't like how everytime I open safari it takes me to the last page I viewed.

Anyone have any ideas?
Andrew, try making a Homepage icon for the bookmark to the page you want Safari to always open to:

1. Open Safari
2. Navigate your way to http://www.google.com/m/classic or the search engine or homepage of your choice (I'll proceed with Google here)
3. On the center of the iPod navigation bar at the bottom of the screen, tap the "+" to add a bookmark
4. Tap "Add to Home Screen"
5. Accept the name "Google" (or rename if you wish), and tap the blue "Add" in the top right corner of the screen
6. Tap and hold your new Homepage icon called "Google", and all the icons start to wiggle.
7. Drag you new Google wiggling icon to wherever you want it on one of your screens, likely screen one
jlauve is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 04:27 PM   #14
applehockey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlauve View Post
Andrew, try making a Homepage icon for the bookmark to the page you want Safari to always open to:

1. Open Safari
2. Navigate your way to http://www.google.com/m/classic or the search engine or homepage of your choice (I'll proceed with Google here)
3. On the center of the iPod navigation bar at the bottom of the screen, tap the "+" to add a bookmark
4. Tap "Add to Home Screen"
5. Accept the name "Google" (or rename if you wish), and tap the blue "Add" in the top right corner of the screen
6. Tap and hold your new Homepage icon called "Google", and all the icons start to wiggle.
7. Drag you new Google wiggling icon to wherever you want it on one of your screens, likely screen one
This is the best thing to do... I will upload some photos to show you
__________________
iPhone 4, Mid-2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro; iPod Touch 16GB, iMac
Twitter- twitter.com/applehockey
www.YourAppleWorld.com | Your Site for Anything and Everything Apple
applehockey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 04:53 PM   #15
applehockey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
__________________
iPhone 4, Mid-2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro; iPod Touch 16GB, iMac
Twitter- twitter.com/applehockey
www.YourAppleWorld.com | Your Site for Anything and Everything Apple
applehockey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 06:54 PM   #16
qacjared
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
If your willing to hack it. It should work.

1. Install Developers Tools from your Mac OS X restore disk, or Mac OS X install disk. It includes a program called "Property List Editor"
2. Pwn iPod
3. Install SSH.
4. Using SSH navigate to /User/Library/Safari
5. Get SuspendedState.plist and copy it to your mac:

6. Make a copy of SuspendedState.plist

7. Open SuspendedState.Plist with Property List Editor
8. Edit SuspendedState.plist to be like this:

9. Save SuspendedState.Plist
10. Overwrite the copy of SuspendedState.plist in /User/Library/Safari on your iPod with the one you saved on your mac.
11. Edit the file permissions of SuspendedState.plist so that MobileSafari can not overwrite this file.

12. Now MobileSafari will not be able to save its state and will be forced to revert to the saved state you selected.

While this is not a homepage setting. It has the same effect.

Last edited by qacjared; Jul 27, 2008 at 07:02 PM. Reason: More Pictures
qacjared is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 04:27 AM   #17
macjohn123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
How to set homepage in mobile safari

Requirements: jailbreak iphone/ipod, ssh, winscp

1. Navigate to the webclips directory: /private/var/mobile/Library/WebClips/
2. You will see directories similar to this one: 833C7AC6-9AD4-4350-A873-6CE648B76AF4.webclip
3. Each of these directories contain two files: Info.plist and icon.png
4. Move through the directories opening the Info.plist/icon.png file until you find the webclip you're looking for.
5. You can now alter the webclip information by editing the Info.plist file, which is nothing more than a XML file. (Search for edit plist files to find plist editor)
6. If you have a better icon you can simply replace the icon.png file.
7. Now to prevent your iphone from overwriting and replacing the info.plist/icon.png file with the default file/icon everytime you visit the site, you need to use some tool to change the permissions on both the webclip directory and the plist file you've just edited and set it to read only. Use a tool like icommander to set the directory permissions and plist file permissions.
8. You're done. Now reload the SpringBoard. You should have your own custom icon that will take you to the same safari web page everytime!
9. Just do a google search on any of the terms in this instruction if you do not understand.

Credits: Part of this instruction came from user: thedp. Thanks.
macjohn123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get multiple homepages in Safari? da_alchemist Mac Applications and Mac App Store 21 Sep 25, 2012 12:23 PM
Netflix Homepage doesn't load in Safari LD220 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Oct 9, 2011 10:01 PM
how to set homepage safari linkmylinks iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 11 Aug 15, 2011 12:18 AM
Anyway to set specific chapters in iDVD? rockinrocker Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 5, 2010 12:21 AM
Is there anyway to drag tabs in Safari? Aniej Mac Basics and Help 4 Apr 16, 2007 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC