Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2007, 03:17 PM   #1
Will Cheyney
macrumors 6502a
 
Will Cheyney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via AIM to Will Cheyney Send a message via MSN to Will Cheyney
Would a US iPhone work in the UK?

If I bought an iPhone in the US and unlocked it, would it work back in the UK on a UK network provider?
__________________
Love your Mac 3.06Ghz 24" iMac, 4GB RAM, 2.5TB HDD.
Will Cheyney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 03:32 PM   #2
CD3660
macrumors 68030
 
CD3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire, United Kingdom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Cheyney View Post
If I bought an iPhone in the US and unlocked it, would it work back in the UK on a UK network provider?
Several people on these forums have unlocked U.S. iPhones working on different networks in the U.K.
__________________
13" rMBP i5/16/256
11" MBA i7/8/256
iPad Air (4G)
iPhone 6
CD3660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 03:35 PM   #3
Prof.
macrumors 601
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Talking

Someone else asked this question on another website. The answer they got was NO.

Prof.
__________________
Patiently waiting for my 64 GB iPhone 6 Plus.
11.07.14
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 03:54 PM   #4
dfnj123
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Just wait a few weeks...
dfnj123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 04:00 PM   #5
CD3660
macrumors 68030
 
CD3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire, United Kingdom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
Someone else asked this question on another website. The answer they got was NO.
Well the answer was wrong. Just take a look at various threads on MacRumors to see what the true situation is.

See this thread for example:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=357188
__________________
13" rMBP i5/16/256
11" MBA i7/8/256
iPad Air (4G)
iPhone 6
CD3660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2007, 03:09 AM   #6
sweetice2007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
it does work.

i have got an iphone which was shipped diretly from usa.

it is an unlocked version and works fine. im using a 3 pay n go sim card with a 5 data allowance add on and it works great, it picks up orange opposed to 3 and uses orange's edge - rather slow but its meant to be the best one around . o2's edge support is very very very poor, tmobile and vodafone are expensive.

i can make calls, send txts, take pics, use the ipod, surf the net, access my emails, everything that the usa guys can do - apart from visual voicemail - i dont really mind this since i rarely ever get voicemails anyway ...
sweetice2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 4 and 5s-- What can my work see? pixep0p iPhone 13 Nov 20, 2013 11:59 AM
VPN by iPhone work but at MacBook doesn't work! why ? Jingol Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 12, 2013 04:40 PM
Where will my iPhone 5 work? Martin92 iPhone 8 Sep 25, 2012 11:09 PM
Will this work to get Iphone 5 alemmo iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Sep 16, 2012 09:43 PM
iPhone 4 5.1.1 Push/Find My iPhone doens't work. pathumx iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jun 14, 2012 05:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC