Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2007, 07:43 PM   #1
WRXHokie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Dual Monitors - iMac

I'm thinking about purchasing a brand new iMac, it'll be my first. The only question I have is whether or not it can do dual monitors? In other words, can i use the built in monitor with another monitor side by side?
WRXHokie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 07:44 PM   #2
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Yes.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 07:53 PM   #3
WRXHokie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Yes.
How? It doesnt appear to have an extra monitor out connector.
WRXHokie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 07:56 PM   #4
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
See the little Video Out connector?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 07:56 PM   #5
RafMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXHokie View Post
How? It doesnt appear to have an extra monitor out connector.
There's a mini DVI output port at back next to ethernet connector.
RafMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 08:26 PM   #6
divedude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
It works great. I got mine hooked up last weekend. The screensaver was cool, it showed different pictures on each monitor.
divedude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 08:52 PM   #7
WRXHokie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Oh okay... so they provide a Mini-DVI to DVI adapter I assume?
WRXHokie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 08:58 PM   #8
dollystereo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Nope
__________________
MBP, MP
dollystereo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 11:48 PM   #9
KennyW
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
yes and no.

Apple does sell the mini-DVI to DVI cable at about US$20 but it is not bundled with the iMac package.
KennyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2007, 11:57 PM   #10
boofa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia
$35 at Streetwise
boofa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2007, 04:32 AM   #11
psonice
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I hooked up a second monitor yesterday. You can get mini-dvi to vga or to dvi adaptors for whatever your monitor needs. I ordered one from ebay - it was about 8 including postage, apple charge 15 here so quite a saving. Took 2 weeks to get delivered though, as it came from hong kong. (It does look like an original apple part!)

I have a few questions though:
  • Is it possible to get the dock into the middle of the screen? It only lets me put it on the left side of the left monitor, the right side of the right monitor, or the bottom. I'd like it on the left of the right hand monitor, just to be awkward
  • If that isn't possible, is it possible to move the desktop icons around instead? The imac is the main monitor, so I need the menu bar and dock on that screen for easy access, but osx puts the desktop icons on the same screen and they get covered by the dock. I can manually move them to the other screen, or out of the way of the dock, but when I plug in an external disk (which I do a lot) it goes straight back under the dock. Is it possible to move them all to the other screen, or have them on the left of the screen instead of the right?
  • What's the best way to calibrate the two screens? One is a 24" imac with a great screen, the other is a cheap 19" with a TN screen. I've tried the apple display calibration, and also supercal. Supercal worked best, but the white point is different on each screen so one always looks yellow and one looks blue!
psonice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 10:16 PM   #12
Quemadura
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
iMac and 23-inch Cinema Display

Hello all,

I just got a 20-inch iMac, and am wondering if there is a way to connect my circa-2003 23-inch Cinema Display (with ADC adapter) to the mini-DV port on the new iMac?

Is it possible to connect ADC --> DVI adapter --> mini-DVI port?

Many thanks!
Quemadura is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 10:25 PM   #13
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quemadura View Post
Hello all,

I just got a 20-inch iMac, and am wondering if there is a way to connect my circa-2003 23-inch Cinema Display (with ADC adapter) to the mini-DV port on the new iMac?

Is it possible to connect ADC --> DVI adapter --> mini-DVI port?

Many thanks!
ADC is just 28V DC power, USB, DVI bundled into a single cable.

They have power brick included adapters for converting DVI to ADC.

So it'll like be a $100 solution. Using the Dr. Bott or Apple DVI to ADC solution.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 07:11 AM   #14
Quemadura
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Adc

Thank you, Sun Baked--

But how then to run the ADC to DVI brick into mini DVI port on my iMac?

Thanks!
Quemadura is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 07:27 AM   #15
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quemadura View Post
Thank you, Sun Baked--

But how then to run the ADC to DVI brick into mini DVI port on my iMac?

Thanks!
Apple says...

For a Mac computer with a mini-DVI port, use the Apple Mini-DVI to DVI Adapter to connect a DVI display; the Apple Mini-DVI to VGA Adapter to connect a VGA display; the Apple Mini-DVI to DVI in combination with the Apple DVI to ADC Adapter to connect an ADC display; and the Apple Mini-DVI to Video adapter to connect to a TV, VCR, or projector with an S-Video or RCA (composite) connector.

So probably about 120 dollars in adapters. And Dr. Bott likely withing $10 -- unless there is a mini-DVI to ADC adapter floating around.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:25 PM   #16
doitintheroad
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Does anyone know if I can use my Macbook as a second display for my iMac? (both 2007 models)
doitintheroad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 03:47 PM   #17
shoulin333
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitintheroad View Post
Does anyone know if I can use my Macbook as a second display for my iMac? (both 2007 models)
no.
__________________
15" rMBP - Late 2013
27" iMac - Mid 2011 (Custom Fusion Drive - 256GB SSD/1TB HDD)
iPhone 5[S] - 16gb Space Grey(Verizon)
shoulin333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 04:08 PM   #18
Mebsat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by psonice View Post
  • Is it possible to get the dock into the middle of the screen? It only lets me put it on the left side of the left monitor, the right side of the right monitor, or the bottom. I'd like it on the left of the right hand monitor, just to be awkward
  • The imac is the main monitor, so I need the menu bar and dock on that screen for easy access
I was going to suggest with your external monitor to the right of the iMac, to switch your monitor order with the dock in the #1 monitor aligned left, then I realized the mouse behavior might be a little *non-standard*.

The menu bar can move in a standard 2 monitor setup, does the iMac behave any differently than a G4/G5/MacPro in that way?

Have you tried OnyX? It has dock options but I am on my laptop so I don't know if it allows any more options if it detects two monitors.
Mebsat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 01:12 PM   #19
pjk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
I have a 17" iMac Intel, and it works great. However, a larger screen would be nice, so I plan on buying another flat monitor to go with it. Do I need to look for anything specific, or will pretty much anything work? Any suggestions? I'm looking to spend no more than $300 for one.

Would something like this work?:
http://cgi.ebay.com/X2Gen-MW19R-19-L...1%7C240%3A1308

What cables exactly do I need to hook up a dual monitor to my iMac.

Thanks
pjk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 02:00 PM   #20
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Any monitor with DVI-D will work. All you need is a Mini-DVI cable for the iMac, a DVI cable (that will likely come with the monitor) and the monitor itself.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 02:08 PM   #21
joelw135
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
Any monitor with DVI-D will work. All you need is a Mini-DVI cable for the iMac, a DVI cable (that will likely come with the monitor) and the monitor itself.
I bought this:http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2 as I am expecting my iMac on the 29th. I hope it is correct, but I think so.
joelw135 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 02:10 PM   #22
joelw135
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjk View Post
I have a 17" iMac Intel, and it works great. However, a larger screen would be nice, so I plan on buying another flat monitor to go with it. Do I need to look for anything specific, or will pretty much anything work? Any suggestions? I'm looking to spend no more than $300 for one.

Would something like this work?:
http://cgi.ebay.com/X2Gen-MW19R-19-L...1%7C240%3A1308

What cables exactly do I need to hook up a dual monitor to my iMac.

Thanks
That monitor does not have DVI so you would have to get the special adapter from Apple. Look for a LCD with DVI. This one is a refurb, but it has DVI, but you need the adapter. http://cgi.ebay.com/X2Gen-MW22U-22-L...QQcmdZViewItem
joelw135 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:24 PM   #23
pjk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Thanks for the help. Another question.

So I need to get a monitor with a DVI slot, and a mini DVI cable. In this thread, a user got the wrong one. Should I get the DVI-VGA, a DVI-D, or does it matter? If it matters, how do I tell exactly which monitor/cable will work? Would something like this work?

This also looks nice, and contains both cables. Is anyone familiar with that brand (Acer)?

Thanks
pjk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:28 PM   #24
bigjnyc
macrumors 68040
 
bigjnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
would the new $899 apple cinema display work with the imac? it would make sense since they look exactly alike, but the new monitor has that new connector that comes on the new laptops. anyone know?
bigjnyc is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 05:35 PM   #25
joelw135
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjk View Post
Thanks for the help. Another question.

So I need to get a monitor with a DVI slot, and a mini DVI cable. In this thread, a user got the wrong one. Should I get the DVI-VGA, a DVI-D, or does it matter? If it matters, how do I tell exactly which monitor/cable will work? Would something like this work?

This also looks nice, and contains both cables. Is anyone familiar with that brand (Acer)?

Thanks
I think it is the same I just ordered, I hope it is correct.
joelw135 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitors help therzbm Mac mini 3 Aug 8, 2013 10:57 AM
How can I put dual monitors on my new iMac JSmoove05 iMac 5 Jan 30, 2013 03:26 PM
iMac with Dual monitors ? and Adobe TurkeyReaper iMac 2 Jan 30, 2013 02:15 PM
Dual monitors Yanksrox94 MacBook Pro 7 Sep 22, 2012 06:00 AM
Retnia MBP with THREE monitors dual 30" 2560*1600 ACD monitors and MBP @ 1920*1200! Redgr MacBook Pro 26 Jun 20, 2012 07:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC