Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 25, 2003, 10:35 PM   #1
jalagl
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
Running Diablo II on Mac from the windows-only CDs

Hi,

I saw a thread in this forum about running Startcraft from the original Windows only CDs, and was wondering if I could do the same with Diablo II's win-only CDs. Is it possible?

Thanks!!
jalagl is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2003, 11:08 PM   #2
RandomDeadHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: fennario
I thought all blizzard game were on hybrid discs.

Learn something new every day
RandomDeadHead is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2003, 02:32 AM   #3
jalagl
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
Yes, they are ... but the first ones they created weren't hybrid CDs. I think it's the same situation with Starcraft. My guess is that the mac port was delayed, or something along those lines.

Warcraft III, on the other hand, was hybrid from the first run.
jalagl is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2003, 02:39 AM   #4
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Wasn't it decided this was a lot like saying, "You're gas tank will stay full longer if you fill it up with diesel."
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2003, 10:17 AM   #5
tpjunkie
macrumors 65816
 
tpjunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NYC
Yeah, it definitely won't run if you've got a non hybrid cd for pc. Someone gave my brother D2 as a gift, and it was the PC version. Definitely didn't work at all.
tpjunkie is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: Play StarCraft and Diablo II on Lion using Wine DCstewieG Mac and PC Games 35 Oct 26, 2013 04:47 AM
iMessage on Mac -BigMac- Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 50 Feb 19, 2012 10:01 PM
Is there a multi-resolution patch for Diablo II for Mac? That-Is-Bull Mac and PC Games 0 Jul 2, 2011 02:42 PM
Running Diablo 1 on Mac OS X Diogones MacBook Pro 8 Mar 24, 2010 07:04 PM
Running Medieval II on MacBook? Tim117 Mac and PC Games 1 Jul 6, 2007 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC