Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 25, 2003, 11:35 PM   #1
jalagl
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
Running Diablo II on Mac from the windows-only CDs

Hi,

I saw a thread in this forum about running Startcraft from the original Windows only CDs, and was wondering if I could do the same with Diablo II's win-only CDs. Is it possible?

Thanks!!
jalagl is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2003, 12:08 AM   #2
RandomDeadHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: fennario
I thought all blizzard game were on hybrid discs.

Learn something new every day
RandomDeadHead is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2003, 03:32 AM   #3
jalagl
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
Yes, they are ... but the first ones they created weren't hybrid CDs. I think it's the same situation with Starcraft. My guess is that the mac port was delayed, or something along those lines.

Warcraft III, on the other hand, was hybrid from the first run.
jalagl is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2003, 03:39 AM   #4
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Wasn't it decided this was a lot like saying, "You're gas tank will stay full longer if you fill it up with diesel."
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2003, 11:17 AM   #5
tpjunkie
macrumors 65816
 
tpjunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NYC
Yeah, it definitely won't run if you've got a non hybrid cd for pc. Someone gave my brother D2 as a gift, and it was the PC version. Definitely didn't work at all.
tpjunkie is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about running Windows on Mac i%questions Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Sep 19, 2013 05:08 PM
Running windows on mac Lizcaleil Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 3, 2012 08:04 AM
New Macbook Pros running Diablo 3 Windgrace Mac and PC Games 57 Aug 25, 2012 10:02 AM
New 2012 MacBook Air Has anyone tried running Diablo 3? (-(ellblazer420 MacBook Air 10 Aug 10, 2012 09:30 PM
Brand spanking new MBA 13" running too hot to play Diablo? Snoozler MacBook Air 10 Jun 25, 2012 02:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC