Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch > iPod touch Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:30 PM   #1
marineoceania
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Firewire cable charges, but doesn't sync iPod Touch

Hey guys, I tried using my Apple firewire cable to sync my Touch, but it only charges and fails to show up on my iTunes or sync. My old Mini works fine and syncs as it should, but my Touch will not. Any ideas?
marineoceania is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:36 PM   #2
frojas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Newer iPods can charge using the Firewire cables for old iPods. But they won't sync using those. So it's working as expected.
frojas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:42 PM   #3
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Syncing now is done exclusively via USB.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:49 PM   #4
Rhosfelt
macrumors 65816
 
Rhosfelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I don't want to be raped :(
Send a message via AIM to Rhosfelt
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer View Post
Syncing now is done exclusively via USB.

I knew this..but never knew why.

Care to explain? I miss firewire syncing
__________________
MRoogle! - Because you'll click anything!
Actually no, use it to search.
Rhosfelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:52 PM   #5
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhosfelt View Post
I knew this..but never knew why.

Care to explain? I miss firewire syncing
firewire requires a chip at both ends making it slightly pricer, but the real reason is the space issue, just not enough room to fit it in them anymore.
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 01:57 PM   #6
Rhosfelt
macrumors 65816
 
Rhosfelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I don't want to be raped :(
Send a message via AIM to Rhosfelt
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlaceofDis View Post
firewire requires a chip at both ends making it slightly pricer, but the real reason is the space issue, just not enough room to fit it in them anymore.
Ah okay that is what i thought, but i would be willing to go thicker for firewire again.. It is just so much faster haha
__________________
MRoogle! - Because you'll click anything!
Actually no, use it to search.
Rhosfelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 03:14 PM   #7
marineoceania
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
oh, alright that's what I figured, thanks guys!
marineoceania is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 03:27 PM   #8
dagored
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhosfelt View Post
Ah okay that is what i thought, but i would be willing to go thicker for firewire again.. It is just so much faster haha
Two to three years ago, firewire was not common on Windows machines. So, it came down to selling more iPods to more Windows users. Make sense.
__________________
To those who understand -- no explanation is necessary--
To those who don't understand -- no explanation is possible
dagored is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 03:33 PM   #9
DsurioN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhosfelt View Post
Ah okay that is what i thought, but i would be willing to go thicker for firewire again.. It is just so much faster haha
Actually, FireWire is NOT faster:

FireWire 400 = 400 Mbps (that's megabits)
USB 2.0 = 480 Mbps

So unless you have USB 1.1, which is 12 Mbps, or FireWire 800, which is like 780 Mbps, USB is faster than FireWire.
DsurioN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 03:40 PM   #10
J@ffa
macrumors 6502a
 
J@ffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Behind you!
Quote:
Originally Posted by DsurioN View Post
Actually, FireWire is NOT faster:

FireWire 400 = 400 Mbps (that's megabits)
USB 2.0 = 480 Mbps

So unless you have USB 1.1, which is 12 Mbps, or FireWire 800, which is like 780 Mbps, USB is faster than FireWire.
Actually, FireWire IS faster.

USB 2 is only rated at 480Mbps for burst data transfers that is not the sustained rate. FireWire may be 400Mbps, but that is a constant speed, and why it is included in video cameras to the almost universal exclusion of USB2. Obviously, the initial iPod sync is going to be hit a bit by this, but later when only syncing a few new songs or whatnot it matters little (BURST ).
J@ffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2007, 05:23 PM   #11
thegrue
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DsurioN View Post
Actually, FireWire is NOT faster:

FireWire 400 = 400 Mbps (that's megabits)
USB 2.0 = 480 Mbps

So unless you have USB 1.1, which is 12 Mbps, or FireWire 800, which is like 780 Mbps, USB is faster than FireWire.
As posted above, 480mbps is a theoretical burst rate for USB. In real world use, FireWire kicks USB2 into the gutter.
thegrue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2007, 02:03 AM   #12
Rhosfelt
macrumors 65816
 
Rhosfelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I don't want to be raped :(
Send a message via AIM to Rhosfelt
Quote:
Originally Posted by DsurioN View Post
Actually, FireWire is NOT faster:

FireWire 400 = 400 Mbps (that's megabits)
USB 2.0 = 480 Mbps

So unless you have USB 1.1, which is 12 Mbps, or FireWire 800, which is like 780 Mbps, USB is faster than FireWire.

Wow, I shall never trust you again..

haha j/k I work with video and I'd like to see someone transfer a 30gb movie project in 4 minutes with USB2

BTW, i do understand windows machines not having firewire, that is logical and all, but the older iPods were also able to sync via USB...I just don't see a harm done..

Also I almost kept my old powerbook instead of getting a new mbp, because it still had firewire 800...*drools*
__________________
MRoogle! - Because you'll click anything!
Actually no, use it to search.
Rhosfelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch > iPod touch Accessories

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPOD TOUCH wont charge - NOT cause usb cable bs2511feist iPod touch 15 Aug 7, 2013 08:28 AM
iPod Touch Syncing to new Computer.....help JNSC iPod touch 8 Sep 9, 2011 08:13 PM
iPhone4/iPod Touch 4G as TV Game Console irlmobile iPhone 3 Nov 4, 2010 07:32 PM
iPhone wifi connected but doesn't load, iPod touch is wifi is fine MythicFrost iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Mar 12, 2009 09:02 AM
FYI Firewire Can Charge but not Sync AirmanPika iPhone 0 Jun 30, 2007 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC