Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2007, 11:30 AM   #1
Draythor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exeter University, UK
Problems in Handbrake

Whatever I convert the audio always seems a bit out of sync. Majorly so when I converted Pirates of the caribbean. Any suggestions?
__________________
iPod touch 3rd gen 32GB
13.3" uMBP 2.26GHz 4GB 160HD
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3
Draythor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2007, 01:02 PM   #2
Avatar74
macrumors 65816
 
Avatar74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draythor View Post
Whatever I convert the audio always seems a bit out of sync. Majorly so when I converted Pirates of the caribbean. Any suggestions?
Can you describe the audio and video settings you're using for the export? It's hard to diagnose the problem without knowing what your current settings are.
Avatar74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2007, 03:14 PM   #3
Draythor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exeter University, UK
Oh yeah! I knew I'd forgotten something!

H.264
480 x 286

AAC Audio
180 KB

Everything else is normal...
__________________
iPod touch 3rd gen 32GB
13.3" uMBP 2.26GHz 4GB 160HD
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3
Draythor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 10:36 AM   #4
Avatar74
macrumors 65816
 
Avatar74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draythor View Post
Oh yeah! I knew I'd forgotten something!

H.264
480 x 286

AAC Audio
180 KB

Everything else is normal...
Here's your problem most likely:

Baseline Profile for AAC-LC in the H.264 stream only supports up to 160 Kbps.

In English: Change the audio settings to 160 Kbps.

Still missing some info... What bit-rate are you using for video?

Also, what specific device(s) are you playing these back on? e.g. iPod Classic, iPod Touch, etc.
Avatar74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 03:50 PM   #5
Draythor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exeter University, UK
Currently I am converting them ready for my iPod Touch which i should be getting shortly. I am going to try and rip another DVD in iPhone Preset to see if that helps. The audio problem exists when playing back on a laptop. which always gives a good performance so I highly doubt it's that to be honest.

EDIT: i just tried a couple of chapters of an episode of Hustle. It's still there, it's so very close it's just hard to ignore once it's there.
Any suggestions apart from "Live with IT?"
__________________
iPod touch 3rd gen 32GB
13.3" uMBP 2.26GHz 4GB 160HD
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3

Last edited by Draythor; Oct 1, 2007 at 04:16 PM.
Draythor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripping DVD in Handbrake - problem hatcheeks Apple TV and Home Theater 15 Jul 15, 2013 11:10 AM
ripping dvd in handbrake problem - stuck on scanning hatcheeks Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Feb 20, 2011 04:11 PM
font problem in Safari iFeras Mac Basics and Help 7 Feb 7, 2011 12:45 PM
Problem with AppleTV 2 preset in Handbrake marcel-v Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 24, 2010 07:23 PM
Problems with interlacing in Handbrake .094 jkramb Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Jun 12, 2010 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC