Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 1, 2007, 05:57 PM   #1
JimmyDreams
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Can a G4 run OS X?

A friend has a G4, can that laptop run OS X 10.whatever??? I know nothing about the Apple laptops...does OS X require an Intel based chip? (I assume a g$ is NOT Intel based.)

Suggestions? Thx!!
__________________
JimmyD
3.4Ghz 27" i7 iMac 2TB + 256GB SSD, AEBS + 1TB MiniStack 17" 2.66Ghz MBP 8MB iPhone 3GS 32BG 40G ATV
www.jjhamilton.com/solar
JimmyDreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 05:59 PM   #2
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
No, OS X will run perfectly fine on a G4 – you don't need an Intel processor. It will benefit from having a decent amount of RAM in there, though.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 06:03 PM   #3
deputy_doofy
macrumors 65816
 
deputy_doofy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
My PB 12" 1GHz G4 runs 10.3.9 just fine. A G4 will also run 10.4.x as well.
__________________
Person A: Did you get the new iPhone?
Person B: No. I got more damn dung from Samsung™, featuring Randroid™!
deputy_doofy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 06:04 PM   #4
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyDreams View Post
A friend has a G4, can that laptop run OS X 10.whatever??? I know nothing about the Apple laptops...does OS X require an Intel based chip? (I assume a g$ is NOT Intel based.)

Suggestions? Thx!!
Of course it can. I would recommend getting at least 512MBs of RAM though and optimally 1GB.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 06:08 PM   #5
yippy
macrumors 68020
 
yippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to yippy
About half of all G4s shipped with OS X as their starting OS.
yippy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 06:16 PM   #6
xsedrinam
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Agreed on the RAM advice. Mine's run nothing but Panther and Tiger (10.3 and 10.4)
Attached Images
 
xsedrinam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2007, 06:43 PM   #7
JimmyDreams
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thanks for the quick replies, folks. I'll have them check the RAM and then stuff OS X in it and see if we can't make it smoke!!!
__________________
JimmyD
3.4Ghz 27" i7 iMac 2TB + 256GB SSD, AEBS + 1TB MiniStack 17" 2.66Ghz MBP 8MB iPhone 3GS 32BG 40G ATV
www.jjhamilton.com/solar
JimmyDreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2007, 11:53 AM   #8
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
You can run tiger in almost everything built since 2000. If its just OSX you want , you could run that on a 233mhz beige powermac G3 from 1997 (Up to 10.2). How well depends on you.
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2007, 11:59 AM   #9
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
My first Mac was a G4 iBook running Tiger.

Absolutely no problems ..
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2007, 05:30 PM   #10
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Father Jack View Post
My first Mac was a G4 iBook running Tiger.

Absolutely no problems ..
Quote:
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 6 Gb ram + 30" Dell. CD Mac Mini + 23" ACD and C2D MacBook
Dear Father Jack.... you have come a long way!
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 11:03 AM   #11
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacsRgr8 View Post
Dear Father Jack.... you have come a long way!
Onwards and upwards my son ..


p.s. I ike your instructions for PC users ..
FJ
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 11:08 AM   #12
MooseDPM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
G4 came out in 1999, and OS X 10.0 came out in 2001.

not only can a G4 run OS X, so can a G3, which were sold in iBooks until 2003/4ish.
MooseDPM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 11:14 AM   #13
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by MooseDPM View Post
not only can a G4 run OS X, so can a G3, which were sold in iBooks until 2003/4ish.
Many G3s can run OS X fine, but some earlier models of G3 aren't supported in later versions of OS X – for example, the beige G3 Power Macs aren't supported by Panther.

It's worth noting too that Leopard looks to be dropping support for the G3 altogether, the G4 is listed as the minimum processor in the system requirements.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 03:28 PM   #14
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
Even that, G4s are limited to 866mhz. So 800mhz g4s and lower are SOL
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2007, 04:55 PM   #15
TantalizedMind
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Yes.
TantalizedMind is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to run run 2x OS X Mavericks and one install of Win 7 on my MBP Manuelrodrigues OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Apr 22, 2014 07:51 PM
Creating the iOS game Run Crab Run SambaPanda iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 Jul 14, 2013 10:42 PM
[Game] Run Tappy Run (by Tapps) - Universal App fwatanabe iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jul 16, 2012 03:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC