Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

summero

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 13, 2007
San Diego, CA
Newbie here, and I would like to know how I could get my typeface's background with some sort of photo like this here
or.jpg

Thanks in advance! :)

panoz7

macrumors 6502a
Nov 21, 2005
Raleigh, NC
Read up on clipping masks in the photoshop help files... if you're comfortable using layers in photoshop it's not too difficult.

mariahlullaby

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2005
NYC
Why not just create a pattern of the photo you want to use, and then set it in the layer style to use that pattern overlay?

snowleopard

macrumors newbie
Oct 2, 2007
Open photo in Photoshop. Double click the layer in the layers palette.

Click on Type tool. Choose a fat type, like Impact.

Type something in big type. Put this new layer under the photo layer.

Select photo layer.

Press Command+G (or under the Layers menu, choose "Create Clipping Mask, or hold the option key down, and click between the photo layer, and the type layer below it).

You're done. Adjust type and photo as necessary. I like adding both a background layer, in this case a gradient, plus blending to the text layer.

Attachments

• Climb2.jpg
    Climb2.jpg
    27.1 KB · Views: 109

tsd

macrumors regular
Aug 10, 2007
Pennsylvania
Or...

In Illustrator, place the photograph onto a blank layer.
Then, in that same layer, type your text, then select the text box, go to the Type menu and click "Create Outlines." This converts your text to graphic items.
Next, click on the layers panel flyout menu (on upper right of panel), and select Create Clipping Mask. This will make the Outlined text into a mask for whatever is beneath it inside it's layer. You have to make sure that the object that will become the mask (the text) is the top item in the layer. Whatever is below it will get clipped.