Register FAQ/Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome to the Mac Forums forums. Please read the FAQ if you have questions. Register to participate.

 
Go Back   Mac Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion
TouchArcade.com - iPhone Game Reviews and News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread  
Old Oct 8, 2007, 10:40 AM   #1
budpam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Louisiana
What is this? MS thesource.ofallevil.com?

What is this? I Googled the powerpoint viewer download and this is the page it brought me to to download it. Check out the url.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ms.JPG
Views:	217
Size:	196.1 KB
ID:	86915  
__________________
Faith, Hope, and Love. The greatest of these is Love.
budpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 10:43 AM   #2
Mattydj
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
I came across this before. The download button seemed to do nothing so i wonder if it secretly did something to screw with my computer....i really don't know but meh kinda funny
Mattydj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 11:02 AM   #3
budpam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattydj View Post
I came across this before. The download button seemed to do nothing so i wonder if it secretly did something to screw with my computer....i really don't know but meh kinda funny
The download worked for me-odd.
__________________
Faith, Hope, and Love. The greatest of these is Love.
budpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 11:13 AM   #4
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
Poking around....

Code:
whois ofallevil.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.


   Domain Name: OFALLEVIL.COM
   Registrar: ENOM, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.enom.com
   Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
   Name Server: NS3.TEMNS.COM
   Name Server: NS4.TEMNS.COM
   Status: clientDeleteProhibited
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Updated Date: 06-may-2007
   Creation Date: 05-jun-2002
   Expiration Date: 05-jun-2008

...  yada yada disclaimer

=-=-=-=

Registration Service Provided By: Enom, Inc
Contact: CustomerSupport@enom.com
Visit: www.enom.com

Domain name: ofallevil.com

Administrative Contact:
   Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
   Whois Agent (hqcfspnjm@whoisprivacyprotect.com)
... yada yada anonimizer BS(Bastards!)
Did a bit more poking.

Code:
curl -v http://thesource.ofallevil.com
* About to connect() to thesource.ofallevil.com port 80
*   Trying 207.46.192.254... * connected
* Connected to thesource.ofallevil.com (207.46.192.254) port 80
...
Now that I have an IP...

Code:
nslookup 207.46.192.254
Server:         10.1.4.12
Address:        10.1.4.12#53

254.192.46.207.in-addr.arpa     name = wwwtk2test1.microsoft.com.
Which means that someone registered ofallevil.com and set up a dns entry to point at Microsoft. All sorts of fun things can be done with that.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 02:37 PM   #5
budpam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by MongoTheGeek View Post
Poking around....

Code:
whois ofallevil.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.


   Domain Name: OFALLEVIL.COM
   Registrar: ENOM, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.enom.com
   Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
   Name Server: NS3.TEMNS.COM
   Name Server: NS4.TEMNS.COM
   Status: clientDeleteProhibited
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Updated Date: 06-may-2007
   Creation Date: 05-jun-2002
   Expiration Date: 05-jun-2008

...  yada yada disclaimer

=-=-=-=

Registration Service Provided By: Enom, Inc
Contact: CustomerSupport@enom.com
Visit: www.enom.com

Domain name: ofallevil.com

Administrative Contact:
   Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
   Whois Agent (hqcfspnjm@whoisprivacyprotect.com)
... yada yada anonimizer BS(Bastards!)
Did a bit more poking.

Code:
curl -v http://thesource.ofallevil.com
* About to connect() to thesource.ofallevil.com port 80
*   Trying 207.46.192.254... * connected
* Connected to thesource.ofallevil.com (207.46.192.254) port 80
...
Now that I have an IP...

Code:
nslookup 207.46.192.254
Server:         10.1.4.12
Address:        10.1.4.12#53

254.192.46.207.in-addr.arpa     name = wwwtk2test1.microsoft.com.
Which means that someone registered ofallevil.com and set up a dns entry to point at Microsoft. All sorts of fun things can be done with that.
Cool-thanks. I was wondering how that was done.
__________________
Faith, Hope, and Love. The greatest of these is Love.
budpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 03:07 PM   #6
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
If u wanna make a fake photoshop pic @ least let teh lines line up

__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Mac Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.

Mac News | Mac Rumors | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002-2009, MacRumors.com, LLC