Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 9, 2007, 11:34 PM   #1
cheesyme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Touch screen doesn't work

The touch screen on mine is unresponsive, ever since I got it, 80% of the time, but somehow "slide to unlock" always seem to respond. I have installed 1.1.1.

Only bought it for 4 days... The store which i bought it at is willing to replace a new one for me BUT THEY DON'T HAVE IT IN STOCK.
I went to apple service centre, they can replace for me but THEY DON'T HAVE IT IN STOCK, and can't guarantee that it won't be a refurbished one. Then I called apple, and they said they are willing to replace it ONLY IF i had bought it from their website, which I didn't.

I know that's a "normal" practice for apple, but I can't believe that when they release a new product, their service and support unit is not ready to handle issues like replacements.

I'm thinking about videotaping the unrepsonsive ipod touch and post it on youtube.
It's gonna be named "ipod touchless" or something like that.
cheesyme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2007, 11:48 PM   #2
QuarterSwede
macrumors 604
 
QuarterSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I had a guy come in tonight who just bought an iPod Touch and found that it had totally non working multitouch. Of course, we had a few left so he was lucky and came and exchanged it.

Quote:
I know that's a "normal" practice for apple, but I can't believe that when they release a new product, their service and support unit is not ready to handle issues like replacements.
As much as I feel for you, the store you bought it from (who bought it from Apple) is responsible for replacing the defective unit. If they don't have any extra in stock that stinks for sure but that's life. Why not get your money back and buy one elsewhere?
__________________
“In a world of idiots, the average man is king."

"Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world." -- Martin Luther
QuarterSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2007, 02:58 PM   #3
pushateg7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Send a message via AIM to pushateg7 Send a message via Yahoo to pushateg7
Wow this is the 2nd other thread that I've seen that has the same problem as my previous touch did. I almost thought the second post was about me ahhaha.

link: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=365986
__________________
4GB iPod nano (1st gen) : Sold
16GB iPod touch :
Week 37, 38 and now 39....
pushateg7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2007, 03:14 PM   #4
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesyme View Post
Only bought it for 4 days... The store which i bought it at is willing to replace a new one for me BUT THEY DON'T HAVE IT IN STOCK.
I went to apple service centre, they can replace for me but THEY DON'T HAVE IT IN STOCK, and can't guarantee that it won't be a refurbished one. Then I called apple, and they said they are willing to replace it ONLY IF i had bought it from their website, which I didn't.
Judging by your spelling, are you in the UK?

If not - I've been in a similar situation in the U.S. Bad unit, store said "we'd exchange, but we're out - so call Apple." Indeed, Apple set up a replacement based on the in-store recommendation.

So, at least in the U.S., they can do it. Not surprising that Apple might not tell people consistently what it can and can't do. The trick may be "the store told me so."

Other option another poster suggested: get your money back and buy elsewhere.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2009, 06:36 PM   #5
eaglescout
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I just got a BRAND NEW iPod 2nd gen. Today and the same thing happened to me. Touch screen wont work and iPod will open random apps without me touching anything. It has a mind of its own. Sleep/Wake DOES work though
eaglescout is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen , HDMI doesn't work , VGA doesn't work Madridista Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 23, 2014 05:45 PM
Screen doesn´t work 4QUARIUM MacBook 11 May 13, 2014 05:16 PM
My touch ID just doesn't work like it used to Tom2893 iPhone 23 Jan 19, 2014 01:31 PM
Touch ID doesn't work well at all xNYMetsx iPhone 29 Nov 30, 2013 01:29 PM
Is there a way to use a touch when the screen doesn't work? netrate iPod touch 6 Jun 28, 2012 05:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC