Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 11, 2007, 06:20 AM   #1
sinar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Can I make my old G5 1.6 go any faster?

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice?

About 3 years ago I bought a Powermac G5 1.6, it was the cheapest/lowest price G5 available. I put in 1GB of memory which made it up to 1.25GB of Ram, but other than that I have not upgraded it at all over the years.

Now, running photoshop it seems really slow, but I can't afford a new mac pro so I was hoping there would be some way to make it go faster, perhaps adding more RAM, or upgrading the graphics card, that would not cost too much.

Or is it a case of the CPU being too slow to bother spending any more money on it? another option I have is buying a new mac mini, which I could afford.

any thought appreciated, thanks for reading,

Julie
sinar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 06:28 AM   #2
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Adding an additional 2GB of RAM (for a total of 3.25GB) should help boost your performance. BTW, you do have processor performance set to "high" right?
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 06:55 AM   #3
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
hhmm

Check Disk Utility isn't reporting an error when you try a HDD repair. I've seen failing HDD's cause all sorts of weird issues.

Perhaps some of the photo-editing people around here can confirm, but I have a feeling some of Photoshop is Core-Image compatible, so perhaps a faster graphics card is an option?

If I remember correctly, you'll have the GeForce 5200. If you can find them, some of these can be alternatives for you:

ATi 9600
ATi 9800
nVidia 6800 Ultra & GT

See what you make of them on eBay etc. I think you also have 4 RAM slots, so perhaps matching the RAM and having over 2GB might help. I know my old Dual 2GHz flew after I put 2.5GB of Crucial RAM. (put in pairs)

One last thing - people say Leopard will have speed improvements for PPC machines. Buy it, backup and do an erase & install.

Good luck!
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 07:01 AM   #4
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
RAM is always a good idea! How much can this G5 model take, my guess is 4 but could also be 8. But with 3-4 gb you will really notice a difference. For example my 1,6 ghz pb G4 with 2 gb ram almost feels faster than a friends iMac G5 1,8 ghz with 1 gb.

Another option would be a newer, faster hd, and the gfx card upgrade you mentioned. However, for Photoshop work I would say ram > hd > gfx card.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 07:22 AM   #5
sinar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmw007 View Post
Adding an additional 2GB of RAM (for a total of 3.25GB) should help boost your performance. BTW, you do have processor performance set to "high" right?

I will get another 2GB of crucial RAM and see if that helps, it will make a total of 3GB as I will have to take out the original 2X128mb sticks that it came with.

How to I check if my processor performance is set to high?

Thanks a lot,

Julie
sinar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 07:25 AM   #6
sinar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
Check Disk Utility isn't reporting an error when you try a HDD repair. I've seen failing HDD's cause all sorts of weird issues.

Perhaps some of the photo-editing people around here can confirm, but I have a feeling some of Photoshop is Core-Image compatible, so perhaps a faster graphics card is an option?

If I remember correctly, you'll have the GeForce 5200. If you can find them, some of these can be alternatives for you:

ATi 9600
ATi 9800
nVidia 6800 Ultra & GT

See what you make of them on eBay etc. I think you also have 4 RAM slots, so perhaps matching the RAM and having over 2GB might help. I know my old Dual 2GHz flew after I put 2.5GB of Crucial RAM. (put in pairs)

One last thing - people say Leopard will have speed improvements for PPC machines. Buy it, backup and do an erase & install.

Good luck!
You make a good point about erasing and installing Leopard, I have not done a clean install since I had the Mac, so it's probably bogged down with a lot of junk.

I'll make sure I do that when Leopard comes out, I'm also going to get an extra 2GB of ram and see how that speeds thing up, and then possibly look at a new graphics card.

Thanks a lot,

Julie
sinar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 07:28 AM   #7
sinar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
RAM is always a good idea! How much can this G5 model take, my guess is 4 but could also be 8. But with 3-4 gb you will really notice a difference. For example my 1,6 ghz pb G4 with 2 gb ram almost feels faster than a friends iMac G5 1,8 ghz with 1 gb.

Another option would be a newer, faster hd, and the gfx card upgrade you mentioned. However, for Photoshop work I would say ram > hd > gfx card.
Thanks, I'm going to get an extra 2GB of ram to see how that helps, I am using the original 80GB hard drive, which is almost always full, will a bigger hard drive help with speed?, if so I might have to look at getting another one.

I have a couple of firewire hard drives that I use to store to images.

Thanks,

Julie
sinar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 10:09 AM   #8
Kosh66
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
If I remember correctly, you'll have the GeForce 5200. If you can find them, some of these can be alternatives for you:

ATi 9600
ATi 9800
nVidia 6800 Ultra & GT
You missed the ATI Radeon X800XT which is on par with the Nvidia 6800 Ultra and GT. Graphics cards are getting harder to come buy as ATI is slowing down sales of the ATI Radeon X800XT, it seems.
Kosh66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 06:46 PM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Clean install of OSX (or archive and install, same difference), a larger hard drive (or a separate HDD dedicated solely as a scratch disk, anything over 40gb should show significant improvement, you can set it as the scratch disk in your photoshop preferences), and more RAM should do you. The graphics card will help but isn't necessary if you're just using photoshop. You can get an 80g hdd for about $40 on newegg.com, and RAM for that machine is pretty cheap right now, you can get 2 gb for probably around $100 or so. If your HDD is small, you may want to buy a larger drive for your main drive and use your current one as a scratch disc; system discs work much faster when 60-70% of the drive is empty.

There are some other tricks (setting your history count lower, for one). Check the Adobe help documents, there's one for optimizing Photoshop. You can probably get it running a lot faster for around $150-200.

EDIT because I saw you have an 80gb HDD--250gb HDDs are really cheap right now, around $60-70. This will make a HUGE difference over your almost full 80gb; the system scratch alone uses probably most of your HDD space, so your system and Photoshop are likely fighting a lot over any open space to write to (especially since your RAM is kind of on the low end for CS or CS2), and that slows everything down. I suggest storing unused files (like mp3s, old art projects, etc.) on your external, installing OSX and Photoshop on the new 250gb HDD, and blanking the 80gb and using it as a dedicated scratch disc. This, along with new RAM and the optimization tips on the adobe site, should increase the speed of Photoshop dramatically.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2

Last edited by disconap; Oct 12, 2007 at 06:58 PM.
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 08:46 PM   #10
Analbarbiturate
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Land of the Lost
I'm going out on a limb here because I own a G5 1.8 single early model with the 17" display.

Sell it. Get rid of it if you can.
The window of opportunity has passed and is clearly going bye-bye to sell these machines.
There is no need to upgrade it when a Macbook performs better.

Save your money and get rid of it unless you are just checking e-mails, internet, and photos then keep the G5 for as many years as you want, but don't pump money into it.

It's turning into an old dog for anything loosely productive compared to what is out there from Apple or anyone.
Analbarbiturate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 09:08 PM   #11
iMouse
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boardman, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to iMouse
Hard Drive

There's always replacing your current startup disk with a Western Digital Raptor. The disk access on a 10,000 RPM drive like that is insane.

Some will tell you that some 7200 RPM SATA drives are just as fast at loading large files, but for overall performance on boot and file copy, the Raptor flat out wins.

I believe WD makes Raptor drives in 150GB SATA models with a cool transparent window that you'll never get to see again after you install it.
__________________
Mac Plus; Mac SE; Mac IIsi; Quadra 605; PowerBook G3 Wallstreet; PowerBook G3 Pismo; iPhone; iPhone 4; iPhone 5s; 20" Al-SiO2 iMac 2.8; Mac mini
iMouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 09:46 PM   #12
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
flyinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Somewhere out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMouse View Post
There's always replacing your current startup disk with a Western Digital Raptor. The disk access on a 10,000 RPM drive like that is insane.

Some will tell you that some 7200 RPM SATA drives are just as fast at loading large files, but for overall performance on boot and file copy, the Raptor flat out wins.

I believe WD makes Raptor drives in 150GB SATA models with a cool transparent window that you'll never get to see again after you install it.
Really? The last time I looked into it, the Raptors were only about 10 GB. I guess they must have really improved over the last year or two.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad, 14 GB RAM, two 22-inch LCD widescreens, 3.6 terabytes hard drive space. 2 SuperDrives.
Mac OS X 10.6.x. Vista Ultimate. Fusion, iPhone 5, Mac Mini G4 1.25, 2 Apple TV 3's
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2007, 10:09 PM   #13
Will_reed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
No raptors have always been around 60 - 80 GB whenever I would look.
buying one of them would certainly help.

Make sure you have the latest OS 10 all that kind of stuff after you do all this updating download cocktail and run it through all the optimizations.

If your only really using photoshop you should be able to keep using the system you have just fine.

I've got a G4 and I'm doing pretty good.
__________________
http://onemanfilm.blogspot.com/
Will_reed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 06:36 AM   #14
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinar View Post
I will get another 2GB of crucial RAM and see if that helps, it will make a total of 3GB as I will have to take out the original 2X128mb sticks that it came with.

How to I check if my processor performance is set to high?

Thanks a lot,

Julie
Sorry, I forgot that the 1.6GHz Power Mac G5 only has 4 RAM slots.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 07:30 AM   #15
moworks2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
another good place...

besides some of the good advice you've gotten here, check out :

www.macgurus.com

excellent advice on their forums about upgrading every part of a mac, the good the bad the ugly and if it's worth it...

they helped me upgrade my G4 450mhz...more ram, sata drives...it's all good...

have fun with your project

M

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinar View Post
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice?

About 3 years ago I bought a Powermac G5 1.6, it was the cheapest/lowest price G5 available. I put in 1GB of memory which made it up to 1.25GB of Ram, but other than that I have not upgraded it at all over the years.

Now, running photoshop it seems really slow, but I can't afford a new mac pro so I was hoping there would be some way to make it go faster, perhaps adding more RAM, or upgrading the graphics card, that would not cost too much.

Or is it a case of the CPU being too slow to bother spending any more money on it? another option I have is buying a new mac mini, which I could afford.

any thought appreciated, thanks for reading,

Julie
moworks2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 09:13 AM   #16
iMouse
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boardman, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to iMouse
Cheap WD SATA Raptor 150

Link to a cheap 150GB SATA Western Digital Raptor

http://www.overstockdealz.com/produc...WD1500ADFDRTLR


Raptors are never cheap, but this price is much better than what they typically go for.
__________________
Mac Plus; Mac SE; Mac IIsi; Quadra 605; PowerBook G3 Wallstreet; PowerBook G3 Pismo; iPhone; iPhone 4; iPhone 5s; 20" Al-SiO2 iMac 2.8; Mac mini
iMouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 01:08 PM   #17
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
flyinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Somewhere out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMouse View Post
Link to a cheap 150GB SATA Western Digital Raptor

http://www.overstockdealz.com/produc...WD1500ADFDRTLR


Raptors are never cheap, but this price is much better than what they typically go for.
If I had the extra cash right now, that would definitely go in my Mac Pro
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad, 14 GB RAM, two 22-inch LCD widescreens, 3.6 terabytes hard drive space. 2 SuperDrives.
Mac OS X 10.6.x. Vista Ultimate. Fusion, iPhone 5, Mac Mini G4 1.25, 2 Apple TV 3's
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 01:35 AM   #18
paul619LT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
overclock your processor a bit
paul619LT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 02:05 AM   #19
Eric5h5
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul619LT View Post
overclock your processor a bit
Right...this is a G5 we're talking about. (The overclocking scene for G5s is nonexistent; as far as I know, nobody's ever managed it, and it would be a really bad idea even if it was possible.)

--Eric
Eric5h5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 04:27 AM   #20
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Yup. Overclocking a G5 requires overclocking the bus and RAM, and is virtually impossible. Not to mention the heat problems inherent to the G5 chip, if you COULD overclock it, chances are it would just melt.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 05:19 AM   #21
SpaceMagic
macrumors 68000
 
SpaceMagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cardiff, Wales
I bought a raptor for my 1.8 Ghz... absolutely amazing. Do this. Really really makes your computer feel brand new.
SpaceMagic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 10:16 AM   #22
RichP
macrumors 68000
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Motor City
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceMagic View Post
I bought a raptor for my 1.8 Ghz... absolutely amazing. Do this. Really really makes your computer feel brand new.
The raptor is an amazing drive, if I didnt have 2 already, I would get one at that price posted.

And the good thing is, if in a year you decide to get a macpro, you can put that drive in the new machine and enjoy its performance there.
__________________
"My ultimate vocation in life is to be an irritant" Elvis Costello
RichP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 06:28 PM   #23
paul619LT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconap View Post
Yup. Overclocking a G5 requires overclocking the bus and RAM, and is virtually impossible. Not to mention the heat problems inherent to the G5 chip, if you COULD overclock it, chances are it would just melt.
lol OCing doesn't melt your parts. these mac dudes know nothing about hardware
paul619LT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 07:27 PM   #24
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
flyinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Somewhere out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul619LT View Post
lol OCing doesn't melt your parts. these mac dudes know nothing about hardware
Perhaps you aren't familiar with the heat of a G5.

There have been a lot of internal components melted due to the heat emitted by a G5 CPU (without over-clocking).

Some people have had the components on the bottom of the hard drive actually melt.

Others have had mounting brackets melt / bubble.

And, there are lots of other components that have been affected by the heat of the G5 CPU. It's one hot piece of equipment.

You absolutely can cook on a G5. And, if you over-clock with it, I would expect you could actually fry with it.

I've seen the pictures of the damage caused to some brackets (plastic brackets) which actually bubbled and melted from the G5's heat.

I've also had two systems with G5's that literally cooked themselves into the repair shop.

Don't over-clock a G5. It's hot enough.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad, 14 GB RAM, two 22-inch LCD widescreens, 3.6 terabytes hard drive space. 2 SuperDrives.
Mac OS X 10.6.x. Vista Ultimate. Fusion, iPhone 5, Mac Mini G4 1.25, 2 Apple TV 3's
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 07:33 PM   #25
Bigheadache
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
The G5 overclocked wouldn't melt (which is what disconap said originally, he wasn't referring to other miscellaneous parts inside the Mac). If the experience on PC forums overclocking AMD and Intel chips is anything to go by, the CPU itself would fail and die well before it reached a melted state. Remember silicon has a melting temperature of about 1400 degrees centigrade.
Bigheadache is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I make this script go faster? birdmadgirl7 Mac Programming 13 Apr 28, 2014 06:34 PM
iPhone: Is it possible to make the GPS faster? The Highlander Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Nov 25, 2013 08:19 AM
How can i make my Mac faster? antsalz Mac Basics and Help 4 Oct 31, 2013 11:55 AM
How to make Mavericks faster Supernerd OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 24, 2013 01:23 PM
How to make my iMac faster? missborealis iMac 5 Jun 1, 2012 04:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC