Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 11, 2007, 11:57 AM   #26
.cyanide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayWithTV View Post
What if the iPod wont reboot? It's stuck on the Apple logo. This was right after Step 15.

No one's got any ideas? Do I just tell the apple genius my daughter turned off the switch on the surge protect while in the middle of a system restore?
Thats not good :/ Try holding Hold+Home and see if anything happens. If it turns off, turn it back on, and try a restore from iTunes.

The same thing happened to me at the start, but luckily iTunes detected it in "recovery mode" and allowed me to do a full restore.
.cyanide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:01 PM   #27
krateein
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
ok, i am restoring it now

Hold the sleep and home button until your ipod turns off. Keep holding them until the apple logo appears, then release the sleep button, but keep holding the home button. This will force a restore in itunes, your ipod will then completely restore.

I will try again when it is fully restored
krateein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:04 PM   #28
iMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
thx cyanide.

Now im trying out step 18 and it doesnt works.
When i open CMD and type in : dropbearkey -t rsa -f dropbear_rsa_host_key
Windows say " dropbearkey isnt a right instruction"
iMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:08 PM   #29
Lost Hammer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMaster View Post
thx cyanide.

Now im trying out step 18 and it doesnt works.
When i open CMD and type in : dropbearkey -t rsa -f dropbear_rsa_host_key
Windows say " dropbearkey isnt a right instruction"

cd to the dir you downloaded dropbearkey to.
Lost Hammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:11 PM   #30
.cyanide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Hammer View Post
cd to the dir you downloaded dropbearkey to.
and you have to make sure cygwin1.dll is in the same directory
.cyanide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:13 PM   #31
iMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
It wont work.
the direction of dropbearkey and cygwin1 is c:/ .
What instruction is the right for step 18?
iMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:18 PM   #32
.cyanide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMaster View Post
It wont work.
the direction of dropbearkey and cygwin1 is c:/ .
What instruction is the right for step 18?
You're in the C:\> and type "dropbearkey -t rsa -f dropbear_rsa_host_key" and "dropbearkey -t dss -f dropbear_dss_host_key"

What goes wrong, what happens exactly?
.cyanide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:21 PM   #33
iMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
My fault.
the standart string in the cmd is the users folder. I have copied them there and it works.

Thanks for you help.
iMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:22 PM   #34
.cyanide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
No problemo~
.cyanide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:27 PM   #35
rootusr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I got up to the step where you reboot the ipod twice, but ssh is not starting up, I have double/triple/quadruple checked my settings and it still doesn't start up (I get the message the the connection was refused, not timed out, so I know I'm actually hitting the iphone.
rootusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:29 PM   #36
iMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Next Problem

21. Open up iPhuc and type in "mkdir /etc/dropbear",

It appears an unknown error 1


22. "cd /etc/dropbear".

File not fund.
iMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:33 PM   #37
Mystikal
macrumors 68020
 
Mystikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to Mystikal
I was REALLY excited...then saw the 70+ steps. Screw that. I'm waiting for a GUI.
Mystikal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:46 PM   #38
iMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
no idea?



that appears on the first instruction
iMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:47 PM   #39
rootusr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystikal View Post
I was REALLY excited...then saw the 70+ steps. Screw that. I'm waiting for a GUI.
Actually, the steps themselves aren't too difficult.
rootusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:51 PM   #40
Mystikal
macrumors 68020
 
Mystikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to Mystikal
Now im thinking of trying it after school.

How long does the full process take?
Mystikal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 12:58 PM   #41
.cyanide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMaster View Post
no idea?



that appears on the first instruction
No idea.


All in all, it takes about 20 minutes to do a perfect run, but you might make mistakes or need clarification the first time through. Its not difficult, if you don't get random errors like quoted. Took me almost an hour.
.cyanide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 01:01 PM   #42
Mystikal
macrumors 68020
 
Mystikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to Mystikal
Well then maybe I will try it when I get home....why not?
Mystikal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 01:23 PM   #43
db2431
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
K theres an almost 1 click installer coming with the next 60 minutes, so id hold off now if you havnt done it yet.
db2431 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 02:15 PM   #44
vtmikevt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
where will this one click installer be located? And, what steps will it cover through? Not to fill my entire post with questions, but i will anyway...will this be rendered useless once 1.1.2 comes out? Thanks in advance for some answers.
vtmikevt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 02:20 PM   #45
Morazer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Same Problem!!!

@ iMaster

I have the same problem like you!
Did you fix the problem! Perhaps you can help me!

Thanks a lot!
Morazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 02:35 PM   #46
Konsti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Problem...
After step 40 when I restart twice...
Nothing happens -.-
No server opens - what am I doing wrong?
I copied all files to their direcories
but step
38. Open com.apple.update.plist in a text editor

Right after it says <string>/usr/sbin/update</string> add:

<string>555</string>
<string>/bin/chmod</string>
<string>/bin/sh</string>
<string>/usr/bin/dropbear</string>


must I add those strings like that:
<string>555</string><string>/bin/chmod</string><string>/bin/sh</string><string>/usr/bin/dropbear</string>

or like that
<string>555</string>
<string>/bin/chmod</string>
<string>/bin/sh</string>
<string>/usr/bin/dropbear</string>

???
Konsti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 02:36 PM   #47
db2431
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Use the automated install in the other thread now, FAR easier, and only a few steps.
db2431 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 08:39 PM   #48
Four20
macrumors 6502a
 
Four20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
20 minutes! seriously? It took us at least an hour. . .though we were waiting on 4-5 people. Im just glad I could beta thes this walkthrough so you know it works.
Four20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 09:25 PM   #49
parrotheadmjb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
i think ill wait for a gui verson
parrotheadmjb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2007, 09:28 PM   #50
Sir. Cheesecake
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
i could find the directory with daemon in it? Where is that located?
Sir. Cheesecake is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch: Found new site for jailbreak ipod guide sapadcy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 May 5, 2014 01:00 AM
Jailbreak iPod Touch 5G garirry Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 86 May 23, 2013 12:57 PM
Resolved: GUIDE FOR Jailbreak iPod Touch 1G 3.1.3 kimchi8 iCloud and Apple Services 0 Dec 31, 2012 04:47 AM
iPod Touch/iPhone 5 Full Screen Apps Kmid24 iPod touch 3 Nov 28, 2012 03:37 PM
iPod touch 5 user guide now online! gerbilbox iPod touch 6 Oct 9, 2012 02:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC