Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2007, 09:56 AM   #1
surajnangia
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
What does E stand for ?

Hi ... bought my new iphone.... what does the letter E stand for next to the service provider Logo on the home screen.... and how do i get rid of that,,,, cheers
surajnangia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 09:58 AM   #2
shrewsburywolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
It stands for Edge, and I don't think you can remove it.
__________________
PowerBook G4 17" 1.67GHz / iPod 5.5G 80GB / iPhone 3G 8GB
shrewsburywolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 09:59 AM   #3
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by surajnangia View Post
Hi ... bought my new iphone.... what does the letter E stand for next to the service provider Logo on the home screen.... and how do i get rid of that,,,, cheers
EDGE connectivity....not sure if you can
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 10:04 AM   #4
Stampyhead
macrumors 68020
 
Stampyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, UK
Why would you want to get rid of it? It shows you when you have Edge connectivity.
Stampyhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 10:26 AM   #5
ecks618
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
I would like mine replaced with either a 3G or a 4G. Would be nice, I can dream can't I.
__________________
13" MBA | 27" iMac
32GB 3Gpad 4 | 32GB iPhone 5 - Black Edition
ecks618 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 10:29 AM   #6
jsalzer
macrumors 6502a
 
jsalzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Send a message via AIM to jsalzer
The why of the why

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stampyhead View Post
Why would you want to get rid of it? It shows you when you have Edge connectivity.
He'd want to get rid of it because he didn't know what it stood for - probably assuming it was a company logo or something - which is why he came here.

The "E" is there when you have a connection to Ma Bell's Edge network, which is what gives you the data connection (for running Safari, etc.). There may be times when you have a phone signal (and can call or text) but not have an Edge signal (and can't access the internet, your mail, etc.)

And that's why you need the "E" - it is to your data what the bars are to your phone features.
__________________
Proud Father of a Pismo
There=Not Here, They're=They Are, Their=Belonging to Them
Two=2, Too=Also or as in Too Cold, To for all others
jsalzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 11:19 AM   #7
philhyde
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
My blackberry would alternate between showing "EDGE", "edge", and "GPRS" to indicate various levels of connectivity. Not sure yet what the iPhone will show.
philhyde is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 11:22 AM   #8
megfilmworks
macrumors 68000
 
megfilmworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks
 
The E wil be replaced by the wifi indicator when you are on wifi.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.33 - Dual G5 w/ Pro Tools
iPod Gen1 - Nano Gen1 - iPhone Gen1 - iPhone 3G
DA42 G1000 Gen1
BE G58 (2008)
megfilmworks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 11:25 AM   #9
Nicolasdec
macrumors 65816
 
Nicolasdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: London, UK
E stands for EDGE. The very slow mobile internet.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.53GHz 4GB, 2.8GHz 4GB iMac
Canon 5D II, 24-105 L f/4, 70-300 DO f/4.5-5.6, 180 F/3.5 L, Lensbaby Composer.
Flickr
Nicolasdec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 11:57 AM   #10
JonHimself
macrumors 68000
 
JonHimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolasdec View Post
E stands for EDGE. The very slow mobile internet.
But mobile internet nonetheless
__________________
shambo, Changing the definition of "future proof" since April 2009.
JonHimself is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 12:03 PM   #11
b1NARY73
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tacoma WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks618 View Post
I would like mine replaced with either a 3G or a 4G. Would be nice, I can dream can't I.
Soon young padawan!
__________________
17" Macbook Pro, 24" iMac, 8GB iPhone...lot's O' Coffee
b1NARY73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 04:41 PM   #12
Kinkade
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
You can get rid of it! Dont listen to these people who probably dont even own an iPhone.

Go into settings-> wi-fi-> turn wi-fi on, and then select a wireless network, and the E will be gone. Replaced by a wi-fi signal indicator.

Just never move from your current location or only travel in areas where there is wi-fi and you never have to experience the E again.
Kinkade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2007, 05:43 PM   #13
nickspohn
macrumors 68040
 
nickspohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks618 View Post
I would like mine replaced with either a 3G or a 4G. Would be nice, I can dream can't I.
If you didn't know what the E stood for..

And you bought the phone knowing it didn't have 3G..

Take your sarcasm elsewhere.
__________________
iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | iPhone 3G | iPhone
Macbook Pro 17inch Unibody Core i5
nickspohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 01:01 AM   #14
ivi7
macrumors 6502a
 
ivi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
You could get rid of it by going into airplane mode but I am not sure you'd rather get used to the E
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
Macmini 1.83 GHz Core Duo 2 GB DDR2
8 GB Iphone
ivi7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 01:19 AM   #15
KittyToy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando
I don't know why but when i saw this post made me think of when the E channel would have celebs say E all the damn time in promo spots


EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
__________________
16GB White iPhone 5!
A Thief got my Original!
Not An Apple Freak!
KittyToy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 02:10 AM   #16
macduke
macrumors 68030
 
macduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
My first thought was how everything in the late 90's had a lowercase "e" in front of it. I wonder if lowercase "e" is jealous of lowercase "i" for stealing his thunder. Just think, we might all have ePods right now and ePhones. Good grief that sounds disgusting when I say it out loud.

Now that my eMac nostalgia is out of the way, let me say this: There is a way you can use a Windows Mobile dumbphone smartphone that has 3g to create a wifi hotspot in your pants (sexy) that your iPhone can have constant access to. Kinda a pain in the...er...pants, but it's doable.
macduke is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Good Stand-Alone Stand Options for New iPad JonathanWarrick iPad Accessories 1 Feb 28, 2013 09:26 AM
Need a new tv stand Weerez935 Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Jan 4, 2013 08:48 PM
Sandy Stand poppop63 iPhone Accessories 10 Nov 13, 2012 10:11 PM
iPad 4 - stand? Liquinn iPad 1 Oct 24, 2012 05:36 AM
Swap 27 TBD stand with 24 CD stand Skjetne Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 27, 2012 11:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC