Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:08 PM   #1
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
What are the Adobe Creative Suite 3 license terms?

I couldn't spot the license terms for Creative Suite, or its individual components, at Adobe's website. Is there a URL for it?

For some upcoming purchases, I'd like to know:
  • Can the software be installed for use by one person on multiple Macs?
  • If so, does the second Mac have to be a laptop?
  • Are there restrictions on the uses of "education" copies?
  • Can "education" copies be upgraded?
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:11 PM   #2
Naimfan
macrumors 68030
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Here you go: http://www.adobe.com/products/eulas/

In short:

You may install it on two computers provided only one is used at a time. The second machine does not have to be a laptop.

You must qualify to use education version software. I did not see a statement in the EULA either way regarding upgrading education versions.

Hope that helps!
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes

Last edited by Naimfan; Oct 14, 2007 at 03:16 PM.
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:21 PM   #3
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
We buy education licenses for work, as we're a registered charity, and I'm responsible for purchasing and documenting all our graphics licenses and providing all that information to the Federation Against Software Theft for our accreditation.

So, from my practical experience:

1) You may install and activate each license on two machines.

2) The second Mac does not have to be a laptop.

3) There are no inherent software restrictions on educational licenses, apart from purchase, reselling or license transfer. All updates and patches are available and there is no restriction on the work you produce.

4) Education copies can not be upgraded within an educational upgrade path. New educational versions of the Creative Suite have to be purchased anew; which is why we have full edu versions of CS1 sitting in boxes gathering dust.

Full CS3 EULA PDF here (includes Edu info within each language section):
http://www.adobe.com/products/eulas/...60817_1651.pdf
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:37 PM   #4
Doctor Q
Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
Thanks, Naimfan, and thanks, Blue Velvet. I did find that page, but I thought the Creative Suite 3 pdf was broken because it looked like Arabic. But just now I took a second look, and realized it is Arabic but you can scroll down for other languages, with English last!
2.4 Portable or Home Computer Use: The primary user of the Computer on which the Software is installed may install a second copy of the Software for his or her exculsive use on either a portable Computer or a Computer located at his or her home, provided that the Software on the portable or home Computer is not used at the same time as the Software on the primary Computer.
That apparently means that I can't install the primary copy at home and also use it at work, but I can install the primary copy at work and also use it at home.

I see only one restriction on education copies:
4.4 You may not transfer education copies of the software [to another individual or legal entity's computer].
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:41 PM   #5
Naimfan
macrumors 68030
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Q View Post
I see only one restriction on education copies:
4.4 You may not transfer education copies of the software [to another individual or legal entity's computer].
If you go to the store and look at upgrades, it does not appear to let you upgrade from an education version. That's about all I could see on their site.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 04:00 PM   #6
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Q View Post
  • Can "education" copies be upgraded?
Well... sort of:

Quote:
An important note about upgrading your software: Your personal investment in Adobe products may continue to be valuable, even if you no longer meet the qualifications for Adobe Education pricing. Please contact the online Adobe Store or your local reseller for information about upgrades to commercial versions of your products.
[link]
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 04:30 PM   #7
Macky-Mac
macrumors 68020
 
Macky-Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
If you go to the store and look at upgrades, it does not appear to let you upgrade from an education version. That's about all I could see on their site.
A few months ago I called the Adobe Online Store to ask about upgrading from the education version and was told that they'll sell you the regular commercial upgrade version once you're no longer eligible for the education product pricing.
Macky-Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 04:34 PM   #8
Naimfan
macrumors 68030
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macky-Mac View Post
A few months ago I called the Adobe Online Store to ask about upgrading from the education version and was told that they'll sell you the regular commercial upgrade version once you're no longer eligible for the education product pricing.
That's cool! It'd be nice if they'd say something like that on the website.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 04:50 PM   #9
TheReef
macrumors 68000
 
TheReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NSW, Australia.
Quote:
3) There are no inherent software restrictions on educational licenses, apart from purchase, reselling or license transfer. All updates and patches are available and there is no restriction on the work you produce.
So you can use an academic version for commercial purposes?
In Australia, it appears you can only install it one one computer and not use for academic purposes?

http://www.streetwise.com.au/product...oducts_id=5559
TheReef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 04:56 PM   #10
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheReef View Post
So you can use an academic version for commercial purposes?
In Australia, it appears you can only install it one one computer and not use for academic purposes?
Sure, here in the UK you can. And yes, it seems so. The Australian Adobe page for the same product is different... and that might have something to do with local legislation or something else.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 05:03 PM   #11
TheReef
macrumors 68000
 
TheReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NSW, Australia.
Thats a shame looks like I'll be sticking with version 6
TheReef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 05:50 PM   #12
Cabbit
macrumors 68020
 
Cabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scotland
adobe educational licence i was told when i bought it form adobe.

1. Can be upgraded full non edu licence with a retail upgrade
2. Can be installed on 2 macs i use only.
3. Can be used for me making money.
__________________
Nom nom nom eating cake!
Cabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 02:31 PM   #13
flrazor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saint Paul, MN
From my experience a few years out of college and having to do this same research before upgrading (according to the US licensing):

You CAN use the software on 2 machines, just not at the same time on both. The software doesn't check to see which is "primary" and which is "secondary" and doesn't use separate license codes. It does not have to be a portable to be your secondary machine.

The only restriction is that you may not buy an education version if you do not qualify as a student at the time of purchase. Most people selling are attached to colleges and check ID to sell, that's about it. The software is branded as educational version, but it can be used for commercial work during and after you are finished with school.

You can upgrade to a commercial version with the license you get with your educational copy. There aren't educational upgrades available though, after you buy your discounted full copy, you have to get the retail upgrade (which is still pretty cheap) to update to the most current version.

I upgraded from CS edu to CS3 retail when it released with no troubles on either my desktop or laptop.
__________________
2.2 GHz Core i7 MacBook Pro, 4G iPod Touch, G3 & G4 Power Macs
flrazor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 05:50 PM   #14
Doctor Q
Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by flrazor View Post
You CAN use the software on 2 machines, just not at the same time on both. The software doesn't check to see which is "primary" and which is "secondary" and doesn't use separate license codes. It does not have to be a portable to be your secondary machine.
Thanks for the info. I didn't make the distinction before, but I wanted to know what I'm permitted to do under the EULA and less concerned with what it actually checks for. So my comment about which computer needed to be primary was a smirk about the way they state the requirement.

Quote:
The only restriction is that you may not buy an education version if you do not qualify as a student at the time of purchase.
Or... an employee of an educational institution. I may qualify even though I am neither of those, because I am the head of a school's technology planning group (one of my other "jobs"). I'm only a volunteer -- no pay stub to show for it -- but if you can show you are affiliated with an educational institution, they may approve your order after reviewing your evidence. You have to apply with each purchase you make.
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 05:56 PM   #15
Multimedia
Banned
 
Multimedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
Send a message via AIM to Multimedia Send a message via Yahoo to Multimedia Send a message via Skype™ to Multimedia
So In Summation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
If you go to the store and look at upgrades, it does not appear to let you upgrade from an education version. That's about all I could see on their site.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo View Post
Well... sort of:


[link]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macky-Mac View Post
A few months ago I called the Adobe Online Store to ask about upgrading from the education version and was told that they'll sell you the regular commercial upgrade version once you're no longer eligible for the education product pricing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheReef View Post
So you can use an academic version for commercial purposes?
In Australia, it appears you can only install it one one computer and not use for academic purposes?

http://www.streetwise.com.au/product...oducts_id=5559
Quote:
Originally Posted by babyjenniferLB View Post
adobe educational licence i was told when i bought it form adobe.

1. Can be upgraded full non edu licence with a retail upgrade
2. Can be installed on 2 macs i use only.
3. Can be used for me making money.
Quote:
Originally Posted by flrazor View Post
From my experience a few years out of college and having to do this same research before upgrading (according to the US licensing):

You CAN use the software on 2 machines, just not at the same time on both. The software doesn't check to see which is "primary" and which is "secondary" and doesn't use separate license codes. It does not have to be a portable to be your secondary machine.

The only restriction is that you may not buy an education version if you do not qualify as a student at the time of purchase. Most people selling are attached to colleges and check ID to sell, that's about it. The software is branded as educational version, but it can be used for commercial work during and after you are finished with school.

You can upgrade to a commercial version with the license you get with your educational copy. There aren't educational upgrades available though, after you buy your discounted full copy, you have to get the retail upgrade (which is still pretty cheap) to update to the most current version.

I upgraded from CS edu to CS3 retail when it released with no troubles on either my desktop or laptop.
You guys and gals all beat me to it. I was gonna say all that.
Multimedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Creative Suite 3 (CS3) Pricing and Upgrades MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 428 Mar 31, 2008 03:53 AM
Adobe Creative Suite 3 Announced MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 212 Apr 2, 2007 11:29 PM
Public Beta of Adobe Creative Suite 3? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 105 Dec 12, 2006 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC