Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2007, 10:34 AM   #1
2fs2ns
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
PowerMac G5 New Hard Drive Setup

Pardon the ignorance here, our mac guys are no longer with the company so I'm doing my best to get stuff working over there...

I've got a powermac G5 with no hard drive. It died/used elsewhere/stolen, no idea. I'm assuming the rest of the machine is in working order.

We purchased a new 250 Gb Hitachi SATA hard drive. Plugged it in and booted off the OS X install disc. Get the apple wallpaper with the spinning "hourglass". Shortly after I get a message in a few languages telling me I need to restart the computer by holding down the power button.

We've tried another install disc, same result.

I put the hard drive in another mac and formatted it, OS Extended (journaled). Same result.

There was some Kingston ram installed in the machine, I removed those 2 sticks, same result.

So other options? I've been searching/googling with nothing that's helped so far.

Thanks!
2fs2ns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 10:43 AM   #2
Eric Piercey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Perpetual Bondage
A) Reset the PMU on the motherboard. Probably won't make a diff.
B) Put in a new motherboard battery. Probably will make a diff.

I'm guessing the battery is dead and it doesn't know what to boot from. I had the same symptoms when my battery died on my G5. Steal one from a PC just to test it out and then buy one as needed.
Eric Piercey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 10:43 AM   #3
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fs2ns View Post
Shortly after I get a message in a few languages telling me I need to restart the computer by holding down the power button.
Thats a Kernel panic. Not good. Typically results from bad RAM.

If you removed all the RAM but one chip, and test each that way, see what happens.

Im sure someone here can direct you to the log file dump.
__________________
The real problem is not whether machines think but whether men do.
- B. F. Skinner

Like Polaroid?
Sdashiki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 10:53 AM   #4
WildPalms
macrumors 65816
 
WildPalms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Piercey View Post
A) Reset the PMU on the motherboard. Probably won't make a diff.<snip>
My old G5 had sooooooooo many problems with the PMU and resetting it fixed a lot of quirkiness. My root cause? Dirty power. I run line conditioners on all my home equipment now.
__________________
Shiny !
"Yep!..... that went well."
WildPalms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 11:08 AM   #5
2fs2ns
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanks guys.

I tested the ram, but I found that I need to have at least 2 chips in as it needs to run in pairs. Get the same error with either set it.

The battery on the board is unlink our PC batterys, it's about the size of half a AA battery. SAFT ls14250c
2fs2ns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2007, 06:49 AM   #6
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Not only pairs, but matched pairs. They must be the same speed and size, and usually best if they are from the same manufacturer (though not required if they are the same spec).
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 05:37 PM   #7
Eric Piercey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Perpetual Bondage
I know it's a little late, but I just wanted to add, if the battery is bad, you can still get past this screen by holding down the option button and manually selecting a boot volume. It will forget the boot volume the next time you boot, along with the date, but you'll know by the fact that the computer came up it's likely just a need to replace the battery.
Eric Piercey is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to PPCs with a Powermac G5-Looking for Hard Drive Suggestions bunnspecial PowerPC Macs 7 May 6, 2014 01:27 PM
Fastest Network Hard Drive Setup scem0 Buying Tips and Advice 9 Apr 28, 2013 10:26 AM
Hard drive setup for video editing - help needed! yongy Digital Video 5 Jan 11, 2013 02:20 PM
External Hard Drive Setup Doigger iMac 9 Jan 5, 2013 02:41 PM
What is your hard drive backup setup? Rockadile MacBook Pro 19 Jun 23, 2012 10:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC