Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2007, 06:46 AM   #1
retrospek
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
How to change phone number format in 1.1.1 ??

Does anyone know of a way to change the phone number format in 1.1.1 ? In 1.0.2 I just had to edit the ABPhoneFormats.plist file, but this file doesn't appear to exist in 1.1.1

Thanks,

Mark
UK
__________________
UK
retrospek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 09:39 AM   #2
gu014
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
/System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/PhoneFormats/UIPhoneFormats.plist
gu014 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 09:52 AM   #3
retrospek
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Thanks - worked great !
__________________
UK
retrospek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 10:42 AM   #4
Spanners
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
retrospek,

Can you explain what you changed? I want to do the same thing....


Thanks
Spanners is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 10:59 AM   #5
retrospek
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Sure... You need to download the file above onto your Mac. The file is in Binary so I used the following website to convert it:

http://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi

I then opened the file on my Mac and copied what was under the 'UK' section of the file to replace what was under the US section. So the US/UK section of the file now has the UK phone formats:

<key>uk</key>
<array>
<string>0### - ### ####</string>
<string>00 $</string>
<string>0## - #### ####</string>
<string>+44 ##########</string>
<string>0#### - ######</string>
</array>
<key>us</key>
<array>
<string>0### - ### ####</string>
<string>00 $</string>
<string>0## - #### ####</string>
<string>+44 ##########</string>
<string>0#### - ######</string>
</array>


Then I saved the file (you don't need to convert back to binary) and reloaded back onto my phone (taking a backup of the original file just incase of problems). Make sure you reboot the iphone and you should now have UK dialling formats..

Mark
__________________
UK
retrospek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 11:14 AM   #6
Spanners
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Excellent Thanks
Spanners is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 11:31 AM   #7
nightelf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I recommend using Pref Setter in Mac.

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...refsetter.html

You don't need to convert, is very easy to browse the plist file, and is free.
nightelf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 11:52 AM   #8
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
...

Last edited by daneoni; Oct 19, 2007 at 11:36 AM.
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 01:59 AM   #9
SPQR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Activate internationalisation.
Edit M68AP.plist in /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/ and set "international" to "true"
Reboot phone and in General Settings you can chose Language / Keyboard and Region Format.
SPQR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 03:59 AM   #10
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPQR View Post
Activate internationalisation.
Edit M68AP.plist in /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/ and set "international" to "true"
Reboot phone and in General Settings you can chose Language / Keyboard and Region Format.
Thank you!

Last edited by daneoni; Oct 19, 2007 at 11:36 AM.
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 09:45 AM   #11
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Sorry to be a noob, but what do I need to get this file off the phone to edit it?
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 09:46 AM   #12
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollerz View Post
Sorry to be a noob, but what do I need to get this file off the phone to edit it?
FTP client such as this
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 10:05 AM   #13
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
FTP client such as this
Sorry again, but whats the server, username and password?
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 10:18 AM   #14
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollerz View Post
Sorry again, but whats the server, username and password?
depends...if running 1.0.2 its root/dottie but if running 1.1.1 its mobile (or root again)/alpine. Server is the IP address of your phone. By the way SSH must be installed first

Last edited by daneoni; Oct 19, 2007 at 10:26 AM.
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 10:39 AM   #15
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
I'm getting "connection refused" with the user as both root or mobile Running 1.1.1 and have installed SSH with iNdependance.
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 11:22 AM   #16
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollerz View Post
I'm getting "connection refused" with the user as both root or mobile Running 1.1.1 and have installed SSH with iNdependance.
Are you sure you're using SSH Protocol and port 22?
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 11:28 AM   #17
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
Are you sure you're using SSH Protocol and port 22?
lol that was why. Told you I was a noob! :P Thanks!
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 12:13 AM   #18
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I decided to add the international keyboard to my iphone.

I thought the worst that could happen is that my phone would crash and id have to restore the original file I changed to add the keyboard...

Well I restarted my phone and after about a minute when it started it said it was an iPod in the corner!

Worse than that it would crash immediately!

My ONLY option was to restore the iphone to 1.0.2 which was easy enough although I had to put it into restore mode by holding the buttons down first and then I was back in 1.0.2 unlocked/JB/Activated.

I decided to go back to 1.1.1

BIG MISTAKE!

It only took me a day to fix but I had errors I never even got the first time.

And my blood pressure is through the roof!

So the moral of the story is:

Its STILL more hassle than its worth - I would love the international keyboard but NO WAY am I taking the chance again.

I can live with US style dashes in my phone numbers as it works that way!

Of course I probably edited it wrong...

I copied the file and converted it to xml then copied the xml into notepad and changed the false to true and renamed it to the same as the original file and sent it back over....If that is seriously wrong please let me know why!

OF COURSE I MADE A BACKUP OF THE ORIGINAL FILE!

but even uploading the original back didn't fix the problem and I had to restore.

SO I really wouldn't advise editing this yourself!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 10:05 AM   #19
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Another question, when I get a new SMS it says new message from +44 07.... instead of saying the name from the Contacts, in 1.0.2 you could change this, how do you do it in 1.1.1?
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 10:17 AM   #20
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Try this. Make sure you make backups of all the original files before you modify/replace them
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 11:22 AM   #21
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Thank you so much!
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4S- Changed phone number, old number still shows up in messages dbabytro iPhone 4 Jul 18, 2013 01:58 PM
All iPads: How to change the Apple ID phone number kevjen888 iPad 3 Apr 5, 2013 07:15 AM
iPad: Change phone number in iMessage on iPad? lthompson iPad 0 Dec 12, 2012 08:45 AM
phone number format for iMessage... Chuchichan iOS 5 and earlier 1 Oct 28, 2012 08:52 PM
Can I buy a phone and change the number? calimed iPhone 3 Sep 13, 2012 08:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC