Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2007, 06:06 PM   #1
prostuff1
macrumors 65816
 
prostuff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Don't step into the kawoosh...
No, my iMac G5 died today

and at the worst possible time too. I have 2 midterms tomorrow and a paper to write. I had about half the paper done and the thing just shut off. Needless to say i cracked the thing open and did some diagnostics on it and it is either the power supply and/or the logic board.

When i cracked it open i could not find any blown capacitors so hoping it is not the logic board. LED one lit up when plugged into power but i could not get the computer to start by pressing the internal power button. I took it to the apple store and they pretty much confirmed what had come to already.

I went ahead and gave the go ahead to replace the PSU but if he comes back and tells me the logic board is gone then i guess i will be getting a new Mac sooner then I want to. Usually i would be overjyed to be buying a new mac but well I frankly don't want one right now. None of the current offerings interest me all that much. I was hoping to wait until after Leopard came out and was refined. I was also waiting for the mythical 13.3 MBP so i could carry a smaller laptop around on campus.

Oh well, i ight force myself to use the windows PC i built for HTPC stuff until the end after MWSF...we will see
__________________
Vista: It's the blond version of OS's; pretty and fun, just... not functional for everything
prostuff1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 07:30 PM   #2
decadentdave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Don't feel bad. My Powermac G4 died last week after 8 years. I got a new Mac Mini and I'm a lot happier now.
decadentdave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 07:34 PM   #3
mrkramer
macrumors 601
 
mrkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere
i think there is a good chance that it is the powersupply since a lot of the G5 iMacs have them go out. and if your iMac is less than 3 years old they extended the warrenty on the powersupplys for all of the G5s even without applecare.
__________________
"Jesus was the first socialist, the first to seek a better life for mankind." -Mikhail Gorbachev
mrkramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2007, 10:13 PM   #4
prostuff1
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
prostuff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Don't step into the kawoosh...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
i think there is a good chance that it is the powersupply since a lot of the G5 iMacs have them go out. and if your iMac is less than 3 years old they extended the warrenty on the powersupplys for all of the G5s even without applecare.
That is good to hear. I did not get applecare on the desktop when i bought it like i did with the laptop. Stupid i realize but i was trying to save some money for college book and stuff.

Oh well, i talked with the parents and they said that if it is hosed (PSU and logic board) then i can get a new one and they will help cover the cost a little.

It would not have been so bad if i had not just sold my laptop to my sis when she started school.

I think i am probably just going to rough it out with the HTPC machine i built and deal with XP for a little while.
__________________
Vista: It's the blond version of OS's; pretty and fun, just... not functional for everything
prostuff1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 12:01 PM   #5
Whoshnot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brussel-Halle-Vilvoordeuh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
i think there is a good chance that it is the powersupply since a lot of the G5 iMacs have them go out. and if your iMac is less than 3 years old they extended the warrenty on the powersupplys for all of the G5s even without applecare.
All of the G5's? Read again: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302181
"The program is available for certain iMac G5 models that were sold between approximately September 2004 and June 2005 featuring 17- and 20-inch displays with 1.6GHz and 1.8GHz G5 processors"
I bought mine in August 2005 and it died after only two years due to a logic board failure so I had to buy a new one ...
Probably because the G5 is such a hot chip... Can't be healthy... I sometimes had CPU temps of over 70° C, with my new iMac I rarely go over 40° C.

So prostuff1, check the serial number of your iMac to see if you can apply for the repair program
... hope you have more luck than I did.
Whoshnot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 12:06 PM   #6
dcv
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoshnot View Post
...repair program...
The repair extension programme you mention is for the Rev A (1.6/1.8GHz) iMac G5 models. There's a separate one for power supply replacement for the 20" Rev B models but I've just looked at prostuff1's profile and he's listed his mac as a 17" Rev B. That's a real shame
__________________
.
dcv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 02:08 PM   #7
Eddiestein
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Do you have a pen light? Shine it in the vent holes on the power supply. Look closely - if you see bulging capacitors, it's eligible under the repair extension (the "video and power" one).

My 20" iMac G5 is at the Apple Store right now for this issue. Capacitors inside the power supply were bulging and the machine was shutting off. They're putting a new power supply in for free under the repair extension.

My machine is also not eligible for the power supply extension, only the "video and power" one.
Eddiestein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 05:32 PM   #8
prostuff1
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
prostuff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Don't step into the kawoosh...
I don't have the mac right now. Took it in to the apple store so they could get it all fixed up , assuming it is the PSU and not a logic board.

I ill do some more digging but the people that mentioned the repair program and that stuff are right. my 17in iMac does not fit into that stuff.
__________________
Vista: It's the blond version of OS's; pretty and fun, just... not functional for everything
prostuff1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 10:31 PM   #9
sorryiwasdreami
macrumors 6502a
 
sorryiwasdreami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: way out in the sticks
Send a message via AIM to sorryiwasdreami
My imac G5 (no applecare) had a power supply and logic board go bad and an authorized apple service center replaced the parts and did the labor for free. On the invoice it said it was over $900!

Like others have said, if your machine's serial number qualifies, you will be treated like royalty; if not, ******.

Good luck, my friend.
__________________
avatar—Joan Miro, Chiffres et Constellations, 1941
sorryiwasdreami is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24" Imac Died, what to replace with Grubster iMac 11 Feb 19, 2014 11:47 PM
This guy died today and I'm curious about getting a replacement MastahRiz iPod 29 Dec 12, 2013 08:41 AM
Predicament: 4s Died Today zachlegomaniac Buying Tips and Advice 10 Aug 14, 2013 07:15 PM
What if my new iMac died? dimitrisl iMac 23 Apr 15, 2013 11:47 AM
Macbook died.. Now setting up new iMac GilliganFlorida iMac 1 Jan 15, 2013 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC