Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2007, 07:34 AM   #1
MOFS
macrumors Demi-God
 
MOFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Installing Tiger on a G3 iBook

Help, is pretty much all I can say; HEEEEEEEELP!!!

I have a G3 iBook, 600MHz, 2 USB slots, 1 firewire slot, DVD ROM/CDRW with 640Mb. I bought a Tiger DVD which on the front says:

"Mac OS X Tiger. Includes Xcode 2. Install DVD. Version 10.4.6."

It came as new, inside a Mac OS X box (no grey installation discs - just 1 black DVD). But...it won't install on my iBook. In fact, it won't even mount on my desktop! I've tried holding "C" on startup but that won't help. Incidentally, I can't repair permissions (I just get "No valid packages (-9997)") but that seems to be the only thing going on with my Mac! Any ideas to get this show on the road?

mofs
__________________
Be good
MOFS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 07:51 AM   #2
EHUnlucky7x9@ao
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to EHUnlucky7x9@ao
If you have another Mac.... you can put your iBook into Firewire Disk Mode by holding down the T button as the iBook boots up. Then you can connect it via firewire to another Mac.... pop the Install DVD into that Mac.... and install on the iBook as if it were an external drive.

Either that....or your copy is made for an Intel machine?
__________________
3.5 i7 3770k, 8Gb 1333 Ram, HD4000, 6 TB HD
2.3 i5 MBP
EHUnlucky7x9@ao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 07:59 AM   #3
MOFS
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
MOFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHUnlucky7x9@ao View Post
If you have another Mac.... you can put your iBook into Firewire Disk Mode by holding down the T button as the iBook boots up. Then you can connect it via firewire to another Mac.... pop the Install DVD into that Mac.... and install on the iBook as if it were an external drive.

Either that....or your copy is made for an Intel machine?
I did think that, 'tho the DVD box says that the requirements are "Power PC G5, G4 or G3 processor; built in FireWire, 256MB of physical RAM; DVD drive for installation".

__________________
Be good
MOFS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 02:02 PM   #4
kick52
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
You can see the disk in Finder etc. right?
Have you tried resettting PRAM?
__________________
Site - iBook G4 (1GHz,512mb,30Gb), PowerMac G4 Server (400MHz,512mb,80gb)
kick52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 02:15 PM   #5
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Since you say it does not mount. Do other DVD's mount on your desktop, not CD's, since cd's can work when dvd's do not, but actual DVD data or video discs?
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing tiger 10.4.4 on my imac G5 2007 sunnygirl OS X 6 Apr 16, 2013 06:15 PM
Installing OS X Tiger on G4 Cube gohome190 PowerPC Macs 22 Sep 3, 2012 01:56 AM
Installing tiger woods masters problem iwb100 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 31, 2012 04:23 PM
iBook G3 Airport problem & installing Tiger -DVD stalls mgxeab PowerPC Macs 12 Jul 12, 2012 08:32 AM
Installing Tiger on a PowerBook G4 sucramdi PowerPC Macs 13 Jun 29, 2012 03:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC