The G3 iMac War!!! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2007, 02:29 AM   #1
customisbetter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
The G3 iMac War!!!

my friend and i have started a mac war. he bought a blue imac g3 500mhz slot, 100 gig hdd with 128 (2x64) ram and 10.3.9 w/o classic 9. $100. then i bought a
white g3 imac slot 500mhz with 1x128 meg ram and a 20gig hdd including airport card, 10.3.9 and classic 9. $30. the problem is that his seems to run faster and smoother than mine and i don't know why. can anyone explain this anomaly?
is it the drive speed thats faster on his or the use of both slots?
please help for i need the upperhand in this battle for the ages.
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 03:49 AM   #2
dante@sisna.com
macrumors 6502a
 
dante@sisna.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by customisbetter View Post
my friend and i have started a mac war. he bought a blue imac g3 500mhz slot, 100 gig hdd with 128 (2x64) ram and 10.3.9 w/o classic 9. $100. then i bought a
white g3 imac slot 500mhz with 1x128 meg ram and a 20gig hdd including airport card, 10.3.9 and classic 9. $30. the problem is that his seems to run faster and smoother than mine and i don't know why. can anyone explain this anomaly?
is it the drive speed thats faster on his or the use of both slots?
please help for i need the upperhand in this battle for the ages.
Check the Specs on Apple > Support -- I think your iMac uses a slower motherboard (in terms of bus speed) and has less cache. If the G3 has a faster bus, then the 2 RAM slots will be further magnified by faster read/write access over TWO slots.

Not sure, but bet this is it.
dante@sisna.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 11:24 AM   #3
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
no... we both have the same bus speed but i dont know how fast his hdd is. did the 100 gig ones come with faster drives? my twenty is going to be replaced soon by a 7200. will it be noticeably faster?
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 11:29 AM   #4
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by customisbetter View Post
no... we both have the same bus speed but i dont know how fast his hdd is. did the 100 gig ones come with faster drives? my twenty is going to be replaced soon by a 7200. will it be noticeably faster?
imacs never came with 100 gb hds, his is an upgrade. 7200 is great, I have one in my imac, but more than anything 1 Gig of ram will make a world of a difference on the imac. Ps. Your hd is currently 4200 rpm
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 12:02 PM   #5
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
will it be as fast as my hp? thats kind of my standard in computation. i have it pretty much streamlined and it is really quick, about as fast as my friends recent 17in intel imac. will it be that fast running 10.3? what would be the effects of 10.4?
thanks btw.
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 12:17 PM   #6
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by customisbetter View Post
will it be as fast as my hp? thats kind of my standard in computation. i have it pretty much streamlined and it is really quick, about as fast as my friends recent 17in intel imac. will it be that fast running 10.3? what would be the effects of 10.4?
thanks btw.
Hi. There is no way that the iMac will beat your dual core HP, not a chance.

However, it will run panther very nicely, most people with suped up imac g3s like mine run tiger, but i keep jaguar/0S 9, it just seems more authentic.

Also, any intel mac will smoke the imac g3, but it really depends what you're doing. Mine is great for word, excel, and couple games of chopper (Look it up its really good), monopoly, lux, etc. I've only ever has issues with it dropping frames on video playback and ilife (Video editing).
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 12:59 PM   #7
Macky-Mac
macrumors 68020
 
Macky-Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
get more ram! My old g3 400 imac definitely performed better after I upgraded it to 640 ram
Macky-Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 01:28 PM   #8
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
what if i drop $200 and get a g4 board replacement? is that even close to worth it?
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2007, 02:32 PM   #9
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
You'd still need the RAM, so do that first. My G3/500 does just fine with its 768MB RAM. I've got to put Tiger on it, but even with 10.2.8, it gets plenty of use with kids games and surfing.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 05:35 PM   #10
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
i just installed another 128 pc100 and it helped slightly but not enough to allow youtube videos. will a gig of ram be enough to get those to run smoothly?
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 05:46 PM   #11
AlexisV
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Flash videos shouldn't be troubled by a lack of memory. The CPU and/or the hard drive may be causing the problems.
AlexisV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 08:20 PM   #12
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
where would i go about getting a new drive, preferably 7200. size doesnt matter but price does.
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 09:04 PM   #13
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by customisbetter View Post
what if i drop $200 and get a g4 board replacement? is that even close to worth it?
NO. You can max out your model with less than 150 dollars, if you're spending money on upgrading anything more than the HD and RAM, i would reccomend going for the Emac.
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2007, 11:58 PM   #14
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by customisbetter View Post
where would i go about getting a new drive, preferably 7200. size doesnt matter but price does.
Absolutely anywhere.

Now, putting it in might be tricky in a G3 iMac.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 01:29 PM   #15
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Changing the HDD in the slot loading iMac G3's is fairly easy. However, its not going to make flash video's (youtube) run better. Thats 100% CPU limited, and those slow G3's just aren't fast enough.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 07:08 PM   #16
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
The hard drive is your weakest link at this point. Your original 20gb was only a 4200rpm drive with a 2mb cache.

MAKE SURE you get a new hard drive with at least an 8mb cache or if you can find one, a 16mb cache PLUS the 7200 rpm speed. Price out the 160gb to 250 gb drives as you can probably find a really fast drive for less money. The iMac G3 will only recognize 128gbs of hard drive space, however.

And, you have to get a gig of ram. I think YOU TUBE will be fine with the faster, larger hd with at least an 8mb cache and the ram.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 07:50 PM   #17
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
cool, and thanks for the advice. i guess my big question is...
if i get a gig f ram and a 7200 with 8meg cache, will it be worth it to sell my dell 600m to buy this stuff. thats a 1.6ghz intel celeron with 512 ram. its nice to have around because its small but i have seven computers and i dont really use it.
yay or nay?
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 07:57 PM   #18
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I am the wrong person to ask about PC's having never owned one and having been on Macs since 1989. Dells give me the creeps. Of course, SELL IT while you can get some bucks for it! The iMac G3s are indestructible.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:01 PM   #19
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Yeah upgrading the machine won't help for flash. I would know. However, it does speed up the computer. (The new HDDs are much faster and quiter too).
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:05 AM   #20
Andrmgic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
If you'd rather play with the G3, sell the Dell.. you might be able to get something for it on ebay or some-such.

edit.. wait, is the HP a laptop?

If so, then the question is: Are you going to miss having a desktop computer aside from your G3?
Andrmgic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 01:09 AM   #21
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas
I'm not sure if the slot loading ones were designed differently, but when I upgraded the hard drive on my tray-loading iMac, getting to and replacing the hard drive was easy, getting the damn motherboard back in without breaking something was hard.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.4.11
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11 (for now)
iBook G4, iBook G3 (x2)
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 04:06 AM   #22
toru173
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Send a message via MSN to toru173
I don't know what sort of ram your PCs take, but if they're somewhat older it's possible that they have the same as the G3. You might be able to salvage parts for the G3 out of the PCs, and save some money. The hard disk is a definate possibility. Of course, it would mean your PC can't be used anymore
__________________
Build your perfect Mac!
toru173 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 06:21 PM   #23
customisbetter
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guess
no, the hp is a laptop. the cheapest 17 inch they had, $1300. a year later i havent even started paying for it and its worth 700. o well.
what is the cheapest mac that will play flash videos. iv seen imac g4's for 300 "in the bay". i was originally going to buy one of those but this g3 was 30 bucks and i couldnt resist.
also i cant get avi's to make sound on the mac. have of my 25 gig collection is avi's. any help?
__________________
iMac G3 500/256/120GB
"Isn't it funny? PCs run OSX faster than Macs and Macs run XP faster than PCs. It's a strange world". -Oli
customisbetter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 10:54 PM   #24
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons.
Send a message via AIM to KingYaba
You can play AVI files under OS X with VLC. I do not know if there is a "classic" version available. If you're going to put money into something, put it in a Sawtooth.
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 11:41 PM   #25
dollystereo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
I think that this imac is limited to 120 GB size (even smaller) read before buying a 250GB drive...
2cents.
__________________
MBP, MP
dollystereo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
US Naval War War College Releases Adm. Nimitz's WWII Diary ucfgrad93 Current Events 4 Mar 2, 2014 12:12 AM
21' iMac Iris Pro settings for Rome Total War... Prise iMac 2 Jan 11, 2014 02:47 PM
North Korea endose OSX as hack proof ..imac 2009 21 inch being use to run nuclear war p54321 iMac 1 Apr 4, 2013 07:35 AM
White House abandons war on Terror - Replaces with war on FoxNews. mcrain Politics, Religion, Social Issues 83 Feb 1, 2013 12:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC