Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pieseller

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 5, 2007
i just watched the leopard guided tour, it explained how you can take your existing e-mail account (say g-mail) and manage it from within mail in leopard.
is this correct- effectively shifting all of your e-mail account from g-mail and onto your mac?

does this work with hotmail?

im new to the mac scene so please forgive any rookie knowledge mistakes.

tjevans

macrumors member
Jan 18, 2006
I haven't seen the guided tour, so I don't know exactly what you're talking about. That being said, using your gmail example, you can access gmail from any mail client. I access mine through mail.app all the time. I don't know if there's something special about hotmail that would keep you from doing the same, but I see no reason why you can't.

Tommie Montana

macrumors member
Aug 28, 2007
In the video Johnny Appleseed entered his yahoo adress and password and everything else was configured for him. I already knew that gmail is no problem, but yahoo and hotmail pop access isn't free. Hotmail works in mail.app thanks to the httpmail plugin but yahoo is still a problem. Does anyone know if this is changed in Leopard, maybe because of them supporting yahoo on the iPhone?

ac-mac

macrumors member
Apr 9, 2007
England
You can use MacFreePops to download any mail from any client into mail.app, but if anyone knows a way to download mail from hotmail into mail.app and send from hotmail using mail.app, please do share.

downingp

macrumors 6502a
Jun 26, 2006
How will Mail work with a Gmail account that has alot of archived mail saved? i don't want to have all of my archived mail on the Mail app in Leopard.

Tommie Montana

macrumors member
Aug 28, 2007