Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2007, 06:21 PM   #1
gamerz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Trouble Installing Warcraft 3 and Frozen Throne

Hey guys,

my WoW pre-paid card has finally run out, can until I get another one, I need something to occupy myself. I tried installing Warcraft 3 and the Frozen throne, and it doesnt install properly. After the installation is complete, somehow, the installation screen doesnt change, it still says: "click to install the frozen throne", and there is absoultly no way that I can play it that I know of.

Any ideas?


PS, can anyone recommend a good MMorpg for mac that is free, and has alright graphics and gameplay?
__________________
2.4 aluminum Imac
Nikon D50
Eric D.
gamerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 05:38 PM   #2
gamerz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Can nobody help me
__________________
2.4 aluminum Imac
Nikon D50
Eric D.
gamerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 06:10 PM   #3
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
You may need an OS X-native installer, try Blizzard's site.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 07:57 PM   #4
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerz View Post
Hey guys,

my WoW pre-paid card has finally run out, can until I get another one, I need something to occupy myself. I tried installing Warcraft 3 and the Frozen throne, and it doesnt install properly. After the installation is complete, somehow, the installation screen doesnt change, it still says: "click to install the frozen throne", and there is absoultly no way that I can play it that I know of.

Any ideas?


PS, can anyone recommend a good MMorpg for mac that is free, and has alright graphics and gameplay?
This post got me wanting to dust off my copy of w3 and w3ft so I did. It's currently installing War3RoC.

Unsure but have you tried installing to a different location? Check to see if the cd is scratched as well.

Wish I could be more help.
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 08:10 PM   #5
gamerz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I will try and install it again and see what happens. Also, anyone have a link to that OSX-native installer from blizzard? I can't seem to find it on thier site.
__________________
2.4 aluminum Imac
Nikon D50
Eric D.
gamerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 08:22 PM   #6
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerz View Post
I will try and install it again and see what happens. Also, anyone have a link to that OSX-native installer from blizzard? I can't seem to find it on thier site.
Pretty much all Blizzard games have a native installer on the cd. The games are developed to be installable from both Windows and OSX.

After you install though (provided you get that far) there's a 1.21 patch you'll need to download which helps on running the GAME not the installer.

If your just installing RoC there's a patch and upgrade patch. My thoughts are you probably need the FULL PATCH.

If you plan on installing FT then you install RoC then FT THEN install the FT 1.21 FULL patch.

Good luck. I can't find my FT cd so I'm stuck with RoC for now. Ahh what a good break it is too. Think I'll open up ye'ole map editor and see if I can make a map or 2 (if I remember how)
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 08:56 PM   #7
gamerz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Alrihgt, where can i find this patch? or does it automatically download when you log into battlenet?
__________________
2.4 aluminum Imac
Nikon D50
Eric D.
gamerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 09:20 PM   #8
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkat69 View Post
Pretty much all Blizzard games have a native installer on the cd. The games are developed to be installable from both Windows and OSX.
That's not true for any Blizzard games (Starcraft, Diablo) released before OS X.

It may be true for WC3, however.

Try this - http://us.blizzard.com/support/artic...2&pageNumber=1
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 11:44 PM   #9
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by aidanpendragon View Post
That's not true for any Blizzard games (Starcraft, Diablo) released before OS X.

It may be true for WC3, however.

Try this - http://us.blizzard.com/support/artic...2&pageNumber=1
Ohh you quoted me and didn't even read the quote. Let me quote myself...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkat69 View Post
Pretty much all Blizzard games have a native installer on the cd. The games are developed to be installable from both Windows and OSX.
The game in quest HAS the OSX installer built in. Yes the older games especially the ones written for windows 95/98 or earlier may or may NOT have a Mac installer (note the post in question doesn't say OSX but native). Hmmm, to eleviate some confusion let me change the font to bold on the items to help those who select parts of text to read so they stand out.... There better.

The OP is only concerned with the game in question. My reply still stands true as does yours. PRETTY MUCH all games Blizzard has put out have a Mac installer built it.

It's not like I'm going to put my Warcraft I CD and expect it to install. Although, I'm curious if the BattleChest set has native installers. Guess I'll have to go out and buy that to find out then my statement would be even more true.

Regardless OSX yes only games released after OSX may or may not have a OSX installer, including re-releases but Pretty Much all Blizzard games have a MAC installer of some kind either built in or were released for Mac and some have combined versions like Diablo 2, Starcraft Exp (Broodwars), just to name a few (been playing Blizzard and Westwood (now EA) games since 3.11).

Hope you got RoC installed. Got mine though my FT cd is still Mia. I did find C&C though
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)

Last edited by kkat69; Oct 23, 2007 at 12:00 AM.
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 10:39 AM   #10
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Only to suggest that saying (incorrectly) that "Pretty much all Blizzard games...are developed to be installable from both Windows and OSX" might be confusing to folks having install problems. But not in this case, since I do think WC3 has an OS X-native installer on disk.

Be interested to hear if this was resolved. You could email Blizzard support (they're pretty good) if it's not.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 11:26 AM   #11
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by aidanpendragon View Post
Only to suggest that saying (incorrectly) that "Pretty much all Blizzard games...are developed to be installable from both Windows and OSX" might be confusing to folks having install problems. But not in this case, since I do think WC3 has an OS X-native installer on disk.

Be interested to hear if this was resolved. You could email Blizzard support (they're pretty good) if it's not.

Not to smash the OP (and please don't take this the wrong way OP) I believe it might just be what is on the link you provided. A dirty or scratched disk.

I'll admit, seeing this post has brought back some nastalgia in wanting to install older games, I did RoC and I probably played that game like 4 times with my son when I first bought it and then shelved it. Now it's dusted off and installed.

OP I too hope your issues get resolved. Definitely try the suggestions in the link aidanpendragon posted. Let us know how it turns out.
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble installing software oldaker201 MacBook Pro 0 Aug 13, 2013 08:56 AM
Installing Leopard seems frozen at install Grunthaner PowerPC Macs 9 Mar 15, 2013 04:05 PM
Help with installing Warcraft 3 jamin00 Mac and PC Games 13 Sep 5, 2012 01:55 PM
Trouble installing Zephyr dopey2 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 May 31, 2012 04:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC