Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2007, 09:58 AM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Guidelines for Installing Leopard




Category: Tips and How To's
Link: Guidelines for Installing Leopard
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 10:10 AM   #2
koobcamuk
macrumors 68040
 
koobcamuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I have leopard and cannot install it.

There is something broken about filesystem check, or better, leopard finds errors on your hd (improved checking) but can not repair them and so your filesystem remains dirty.

Watch the posts flood in...
koobcamuk is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:00 AM   #3
guitarman777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by koobcamuk View Post
I have leopard and cannot install it.

There is something broken about filesystem check, or better, leopard finds errors on your hd (improved checking) but can not repair them and so your filesystem remains dirty.

Watch the posts flood in...
Have you tried making your repairs using the Tiger install disc? Instead of asking Leopard to do it, try making the changes/repairs within the existing system. Just a thought. Good luck!
guitarman777 is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:04 AM   #4
wordmunger
macrumors 603
 
wordmunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Speaking of which... anyone know if Time Machine can be activated later? I want to take some time to make sure everything works, and my understanding is that Time Machine will erase my backup hard drive. So I'd rather not use it for the first week or so, just to make sure everything's working all right.
wordmunger is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:06 AM   #5
zirkle2007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Send a message via AIM to zirkle2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordmunger View Post
Speaking of which... anyone know if Time Machine can be activated later? I want to take some time to make sure everything works, and my understanding is that Time Machine will erase my backup hard drive. So I'd rather not use it for the first week or so, just to make sure everything's working all right.
From what I understand, it asks you if you want to use the hard drive as the Time Machine back up when you plug it in. Just say no. You can turn it on later under the preferences.
__________________

MacBook Pro-MacBook-Aluminum iMac-iPhone 3G-iPod touch 8 GB
zirkle2007 is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:12 AM   #6
atari1356
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
MacFixit also has a good guide for installing Leopard:

Preparing for Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) Installation -- Avoiding issues before and after updating

They also have a warning not to use current disk utilities on Leopard
atari1356 is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:45 AM   #7
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman777 View Post
Have you tried making your repairs using the Tiger install disc? Instead of asking Leopard to do it, try making the changes/repairs within the existing system. Just a thought. Good luck!
I think Post #2 is sarcasm, but the author did not state it, only implied it.
Consultant is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 01:03 PM   #8
DUCKofD3ATH
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
...if you still rely on classic for some applications, do not install Leopard as it does not support Classic/OS9 mode anymore.
Wow, how did I miss this tidbit until now?! So even if I have a Mac that can run Classic apps such as Adobe FrameMaker, Leopard can't run it?

So much for updating my barely year-old G5 then.
DUCKofD3ATH is offline   0
Old Oct 25, 2007, 02:18 PM   #9
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUCKofD3ATH View Post
Wow, how did I miss this tidbit until now?! So even if I have a Mac that can run Classic apps such as Adobe FrameMaker, Leopard can't run it?
I missed it too, but it's true.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Dec 10, 2007, 06:00 PM   #10
SawTooth500
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florence, Arizona
Repartition so you have an OSX partition and an OS9 partition (and maybe an ext3 for Linux) and then bless them both for booting. If your machine will boot up OS9 at all then there is no problem( That is a PPC machine, the Intells won't do it.). So you can't use classic. Big deal! I just boot into OS9 when I want to do something with it. Like updating the firmware.
__________________
G4 Sawtooth (500mhz clocked to 533mhz)
OSX 10.5 (Leopard) installed and running.
Buss speed 133mhz
Rage128Pro graphics card (original eq)
SawTooth500 is offline   0
Old Dec 10, 2007, 06:33 PM   #11
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Quote:
Originally Posted by atari1356 View Post
MacFixit also has a good guide for installing Leopard:
Far superior advice compared to the headline article. Maybe something was lost in the translation, but I would not give that advice to anyone.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing snow leopard and than powers off 50L iMac 3 Mar 2, 2014 11:50 AM
Installing 10.5 Leopard Issue trewyn15 PowerPC Macs 29 Jan 22, 2014 06:36 PM
Problem when installing OS X Snow Leopard Hilok146 OS X 4 Dec 2, 2012 10:30 PM
Installing lion over leopard acd30 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Aug 10, 2012 08:19 AM
Error Installing Snow Leopard jp013 OS X 1 Jul 23, 2012 05:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC