Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:06 PM   #1
BollywooD
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
How do I open ports in the new firewall?

I cant find a way to open specific ports? - just give certain applications permission???

please help.
BollywooD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:09 PM   #2
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B'more
System Prefs > Security > Firewall

Click the little "+" icon near the bottom

Choose your app

Tell it what to allow/disallow

Done.
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:12 PM   #3
BollywooD
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
System Prefs > Security > Firewall

Click the little "+" icon near the bottom

Choose your app

Tell it what to allow/disallow

Done.
that only gives the option to allow or disallow incoming connections....
im trying to set up azureus, and need to make sure my specific ports are open.
I like to leave the firewall in stealth mode.
BollywooD is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:15 PM   #4
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B'more
Quote:
Originally Posted by BollywooD View Post
that only gives the option to allow or disallow incoming connections....
im trying to set up azureus, and need to make sure my specific ports are open.
I like to leave the firewall in stealth mode.
click advanced > enable stealth mode.


that's as advanced as the built in one gets.

if you want more, try little snitch.
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:22 PM   #5
BollywooD
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
it all works until i enable stealth mode, (actually setting up ports in Transmission) then Transmission says that the port is stealth.

without stealth enabled, the port is reported as open in Transmission.

I prefer the firewall in Tiger, it was much more configurable, Leopard seems to have over simplified it to the point of not really being useful!
BollywooD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:32 PM   #6
aswitcher
macrumors 603
 
aswitcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney OZ
Send a message via AIM to aswitcher
I am having problems with Bonjour which I suspect is the firewall. Shame they simplified it so much.
__________________
Switcher since June '04
iPhone 4GS | 27" iMac | Elgato EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User
aswitcher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 06:35 PM   #7
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by BollywooD View Post
it all works until i enable stealth mode, (actually setting up ports in Transmission) then Transmission says that the port is stealth.

without stealth enabled, the port is reported as open in Transmission.

I prefer the firewall in Tiger, it was much more configurable, Leopard seems to have over simplified it to the point of not really being useful!
I agree with you completely. I could decide what ports I wanted open before, now I've got a basic choice of what programs are allowed incoming connections. Lame. All they did was take the basic commands of Little Snitch and incorporate them into OS X while kicking the old firewall settings to the side.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
MacBook Pro 15" | iPad 3 32 GB LTE | iPad 2 16 GB | iPhone 4S 16 GB White | iPod touch 4G 64 GB | iPhone 4 16 GB Black
Warbrain is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2007, 07:06 PM   #8
bigjohn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Arcadia, CA
having a similar issue with the slingplayer software...
all this configuration is very windows-esque...
__________________
Big John
iPhone 5, iPad 3, iPod Nano, Mac Pro (2x2.26 Nehalem), MacBook Pro 2.16, Mini, iBook G3, PM 7100/66, Apple IIe
bigjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I open documents in icloud?? Bulldog VII iCloud and Apple Services 3 Oct 29, 2011 02:40 AM
How do I open Safari in 2 desktops? v2club Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Oct 28, 2011 02:49 PM
How Do You Forward Ports In Leopard? SamIchi OS X 0 Nov 2, 2007 10:31 AM
how do i open port? ( for torrent app) zipper1022 Mac Basics and Help 2 Feb 11, 2007 09:43 AM
Ahhh ! How Do I Open Ports ? maclova Mac Help/Tips 7 Jan 11, 2003 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC