Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:27 AM   #1
mca7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Time Machine taking DAYS for initial backup! What the heck?!

When I backed up my personal imac with a firewire 400 external hard drive it was talking about an hour per gig. I stopped and started it a few times and then it finished backing up 110gb in about 3 hours.

Now my my fathers imac, his Time Machine is doing the same thing, granted he has a 500gb usb hd but at this rate it will take 2 days to back up. It is moving soooooo slow.

Anyone else experiencing god awful initial backup times?
mca7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:28 AM   #2
shecky
Guest
 
shecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Obviously you're not a golfer.
it is USB 1.1 or USB 2?
shecky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:29 AM   #3
juanster
macrumors 68020
 
juanster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: toronto
took me round 2 hrs with usb 2 for 65 Gb..
__________________
Macbook.C2D.Video iPod.iPhone.Canon Rebel XT
Flickr
MRoogle
juanster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:31 AM   #4
chas0001
macrumors 6502a
 
chas0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alicante, SPAIN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shecky View Post
it is USB 1.1 or USB 2?
I am having the same problem. The backup is to another SATA drive in my Mac Pro and its taking forever. I am backing up 422GB and its been running for 9 hours so far.
chas0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:32 AM   #5
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
When time machine does it first backup it backs up the whole system.So.

When it's copying data and your playing with the computer the backupd process has to compete with your computer usage.Everytime you change something during the first backup time machine must start fresh due to data changing while you play on the computer.

Do not use the computer during the initial time machine back up.
It will go faster that way.
__________________
Throw us one Russell---John Fox Super Bowl 48
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:35 AM   #6
mca7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
its usb 2. and i haven't been on the computer all day and night and it is still taking forever
mca7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 02:28 PM   #7
hcuar
macrumors 65816
 
hcuar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas
Mine kept failing when it was attempting to backup my System and Application folder. I disabled those two folders and it works perfectly now. I believe it's currently bugged. However, I really don't care if either of those two folders are backed up. I only want my home directories saved.

give that a try.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 Mid 2011 | 1TB HD | 16GB RAM
iPhone 4 32 Gig
hcuar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 02:44 PM   #8
rushmere
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Auckland
I switched on an external USB2 hard drive almost as soon as I'd finished installing Leopard, and it churned away for more than 10 hours backing up my 120Gb of data.

Today, I switched off Time Machine, reformatted the external drive and started again. The disk had other old data on it, and I decided to make a clean start and use the disk exclusively for Time Machine. It took less than 2 hours to finish the first complete backup this time.

Perhaps it was slow first time because I was playing around with Leopard so much, or perhaps because it was still indexing the hard drive for Spotlight.
rushmere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 02:54 PM   #9
mca7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcuar View Post
Mine kept failing when it was attempting to backup my System and Application folder. I disabled those two folders and it works perfectly now. I believe it's currently bugged. However, I really don't care if either of those two folders are backed up. I only want my home directories saved.

give that a try.
That did it! Thank you man! Its backing up WAYYY faster. It backed up in 3 min what it took 3 hours to do! Once it is done, i'll throw those two folders back on and see how long it takes for those to backup.
Thanks again!
mca7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Backup - Extremely Large Backup size!! EdRooney OS X 7 Feb 11, 2013 12:36 AM
Remove old machine backup from time machine? juhlster1021 Mac Basics and Help 2 Dec 11, 2011 10:08 AM
Using Lion Server for time machine backups...help! Rhyno Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Nov 20, 2011 04:25 AM
time machine with aiport extreme initial backup mmuetgeert OS X 2 Apr 1, 2009 10:36 AM
Time machine getting stuck during initial backup imac123 Mac Basics and Help 1 May 31, 2008 03:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC