Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2007, 07:51 PM   #1
TheNorthWaves
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
has anyone bought this RAM? for my iBook...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134381

it's $20 shipped... i figure bumping it up from 512 to 768 might be nice, for that cheap. Unless someone knows a good 512 chip I can find?

Oh yeah - does my iBook 1.2ghz (early 04) ship with two RAM slots full already, or one open one?

Thanks again
TheNorthWaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 08:03 PM   #2
PinkyMacGodess
macrumors 68000
 
PinkyMacGodess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest America.
I..

I check Kingston.com. They usually have the correct specs on what and how a system is configured. It *should* tell you how many slots and how many are full out of the factory. Sometimes it's wrong but that's usually on Dell and Gateway stuff that changes based on the lowest bidder of the month supplier...

Ie: I had a Dell that Kingston said had 4 slots and Dell changed suppliers on that model and the system only had 2. Same max mem, just half as many slots. Frustrating...
PinkyMacGodess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 08:17 PM   #3
TheNorthWaves
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
thanks for the heads-up - since this is apparently still a sketchy proposition, is it easy to check on my iBook G4? I'm not scared of taking things apart. Oh - the other thing, will my computer "care" if i just stick another 512 or 256 in there, or do i have to do something else to make it work?

Thanks,

Tim
TheNorthWaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 09:37 PM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
It's the correct RAM but it is beyond foolish to buy the 256 Mb size. Always try to get the largest memory module size that will fit the socket - especially on notebooks which have limited expandability to start with.

The iBook has only one memory socket, plus either 128, 256 or 512 Mb soldered on the motherboard depending on the age of the machine.

Check your System Profiler under the Apple menu, you will probably see that you have 256 Mb built in (this will say "DIMM0" or similar in System Profiler, which does not imply that there are 2 SODIMM sockets) plus one 256 Mb module already in the only socket.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.

Last edited by CanadaRAM; Oct 28, 2007 at 09:47 PM.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2007, 11:02 PM   #5
TheNorthWaves
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
DIMM0 is 512-mb built in. Know a place to get a reliable 512mb chip for a fair price?

thanks
TheNorthWaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just bought an ibook gooser PowerPC Macs 28 Oct 31, 2013 01:21 PM
Just bought a MB 13 w/ 8GB of Ram! Dookieman MacBook Air 4 Jun 10, 2013 05:34 PM
I think I have bought the wrong ram, please help. rossikool MacBook Pro 14 Jan 27, 2013 09:49 PM
Anyone bought upgraded ram iMacs before? washburn iMac 1 Nov 28, 2012 12:41 AM
Bought a refurb 2011 MBP - arrived with extra RAM? LoganWI MacBook Pro 14 Aug 25, 2012 01:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC