Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2007, 02:47 PM   #1
JoshFink
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Set VLC as the default player for all AVI, MKV and VIDEO_TS (DVD) files

I would like to change VLC to be the application that plays these files as opposed to QuickTime.

Is this possible?

Thanks

Josh
JoshFink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 07:49 PM   #2
Blazer5913
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
me too... help please
Blazer5913 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 07:52 PM   #3
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Get Info -> Open With... -> Pick Application -> Change All…
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:11 PM   #4
mcmacmcmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
will they open with VLC in front row also?
mcmacmcmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:13 PM   #5
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmacmcmac View Post
will they open with VLC in front row also?
VLC does support the Apple Remote.

Do you want something more?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:19 PM   #6
mcmacmcmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
VLC does support the Apple Remote.

Do you want something more?
umm well i must admit i haven't tried using the remote with VLC yet and can't right now..also didn't know you could.. but how easy is it to browse and select a new file using the remote and VLC? can you see what you're doing from 6 feet away?
mcmacmcmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:22 PM   #7
JoshFink
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Get Info -> Open With... -> Pick Application -> Change All…
Thanks
JoshFink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:22 PM   #8
mcmacmcmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
just to add.. i don't think i've figured out the best way to browse for a new video on VLC because it's hard enough when i'm right at the computer.. there must be an easier way to how i'm doing it, but i'll figure it out later
mcmacmcmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:22 PM   #9
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmacmcmac View Post
umm well i must admit i haven't tried using the remote with VLC yet and can't right now..also didn't know you could.. but how easy is it to browse and select a new file using the remote and VLC? can you see what you're doing from 6 feet away?
VLC will be the default when you're within Finder.

If you want to use Front Row then you're going to need to get Perian to support more codecs.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:23 PM   #10
mcmacmcmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
ok thanks for the help Eidorian
mcmacmcmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:25 PM   #11
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmacmcmac View Post
ok thanks for the help Eidorian
Yeah, Front Row is nice since the browsing abilities are nice when the VLC playlist.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 09:53 PM   #12
Blazer5913
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Wait, so I can use FrontRow with my .mkv files (and others that I need VLC to open??) I JUST posted another topic asking whether there was any easy way to implement all my high-def .mkv files into front row. I have tons of .mkv movies, tv shows, music videos, ect... which are all great, but just organized into folders on my external. If there were a way to browse these using the Front Row interface and still play them "through Front Row," i would be ecstatic! Any help???
Blazer5913 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 09:55 PM   #13
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
h.264 in .mkv playback is flaky under OS X for HD resolutions using the Perian plug-in to enable Quicktime support and thus Front Row support.

It does work though.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2007, 12:21 PM   #14
val3ntin3s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Get Info -> Open With... -> Pick Application -> Change All…
i've tried this in leopard, and it doens't seem to change the files. I've clicked on other AVI files after i clicked the change all and it still uses quicktime to open it. Anyone else experiencing this?
val3ntin3s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2007, 09:53 PM   #15
val3ntin3s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
scratch what i said, i was thinking of something else, that worked thanks!
val3ntin3s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2007, 03:28 AM   #16
cameocreams
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand (Middle Earth)
Quote:
Originally Posted by val3ntin3s View Post
i've tried this in leopard, and it doens't seem to change the files. I've clicked on other AVI files after i clicked the change all and it still uses quicktime to open it. Anyone else experiencing this?
Same thing happening to me too!
cameocreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp4, mkv, avi to dvd(ISO or VIDEO_TS folder) converter.. DaveTheGreat Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Nov 26, 2013 09:15 PM
how do i make VLC the default player?!?! GunZi Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Apr 30, 2013 01:00 PM
How do I make VLC my default player? Spoiled Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 30, 2013 06:29 PM
Developers: Is a DVD / VIDEO_TS / VOB player really out of the question? NameUndecided iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Aug 25, 2012 02:57 PM
What do .avi .mkv files look like on rMBP lobeyonekenobi MacBook Pro 7 Jun 29, 2012 07:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC