Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lem0nayde

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 26, 2002
NYC
I was so excited to see one of these on the inside cover spread of the latest Macworld before they were released on Apple's site. They are a fantastic departure, and from a design standpoint (I'm a designer) they are gorgeously accomplished.

I love that Apple stuck with simplicity, while making the ads loud, proud and youthful. The play between silhouette and very slight 3-dimensionality is wonderful. And the posture of the models is so dynamic and energetic. Bravo to their incredible sales design team. I'd love to see something like this done for some of their other products, the iMac perhaps.

Anyway, I just had to say that out loud.

Joe

Keith Purfield

macrumors regular
Apr 19, 2003
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Eh, they're alright. I'm not really a judge for advertising, though.

But, personally, I think that Apple needs better advertising. The G5 commercial sucks, in my opinion.

They need to bring back the G4 iMac commercial. The one where the iMac follows the guy's head, and then sticks out its optical drive. That was a good commercial, it made me laugh.

I've seen four Apple commercials in about 12 months. The G4 iMac, the 12"/17" PowerBooks, the G5s, and the iPod/iTMS commercials. And the only one I've seen more than once (on TV) is the iPod/iTMS ones.

evolu

macrumors regular
Dec 10, 2002
LA la land...
I agree - the ads are dynamic, vibrant, musical.

Great way to associate the product with youthful tech savvy dopesters.

Love the shadow on the ipod from the person's hands BTW.

Dont Hurt Me

macrumors 603
Dec 21, 2002
Yahooville S.C.
I wonder why steve doesnt have colors, say a yellow,red,blue,white,black,ipods? I think kids i mean the younger generation would go crazy for that. just like the fruity imacs. apple is missing out.

tjwett

macrumors 68000
May 6, 2002
Brooklyn, NYC