Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2007, 05:46 PM   #1
purdueboiler87
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL
Time Machine with ReadyNAS

Using some posts I found here, I was able to configure Time Machine to back up to my 2TB NAS. Problem is, seems like now when I go into Time Machine, it only lists Today and Now on the right side, I can't see other dates where backups have occurred. Can anyone else using a NAS see more dates where backups have occurred or is there another hack I need to do to get this to work across a NAS?
purdueboiler87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 05:55 PM   #2
cmaier
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by purdueboiler87 View Post
Using some posts I found here, I was able to configure Time Machine to back up to my 2TB NAS. Problem is, seems like now when I go into Time Machine, it only lists Today and Now on the right side, I can't see other dates where backups have occurred. Can anyone else using a NAS see more dates where backups have occurred or is there another hack I need to do to get this to work across a NAS?
I'm planning on using a readynas as well, so curious what you find out. I assume you actually have backups prior to today?

Did you try actually browsing the readynas share to see what backups exist? the file structure of the time machine backup directory is very easy to understand - you should be able to see all your backups.

BTW, what file/discovery protocols did you enable for the backup share?
__________________
applenews.zone
Discussion of microprocessors and other technology, and reviews of tech products.
cmaier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 06:41 PM   #3
purdueboiler87
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL
I created a share in Frontview (AFP turned on) and then just connected to it in Finder. I used that share for Time Machine. It seems to create another mapping in Finder called something like "Backup of Bob's MacBook Pro". I can drill down and see the complete directory structure of all the backups. For some reason though, doesn't seem to work correctly when I go into Time Machine, just shows Today and Now.
purdueboiler87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 06:44 PM   #4
D1G1T4L
macrumors 68000
 
D1G1T4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Please keep this thread updated with any fixes as I'm waiting to pull the trigger on a ReadyNAS once I know it is compatible with TM.
D1G1T4L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 07:19 PM   #5
purdueboiler87
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL
I got it to work.

There is some good info out on the Mac / OS X forums on the Infrant site. What I have before going into Time Machine is right click on the Time Machine icon and select the mapping that Time Machine creates when it does the backups (I think this is called a sparse image). Anyway, it was the only thing listed and I select it and Time Machine shows all my backups.
purdueboiler87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2007, 08:35 PM   #6
lenard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh NC
Happen to me. I had to reformat the drive and start all over again. Time Machine likes a newly formated drive. It does not happen all the time, but I have heard from others that had this same problem. Reformatting should fix it.
lenard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 02:09 PM   #7
pprior
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Unclear - is time machine working with readynas normally or not?

Does it totally kill the network when it's backing up or is it smart enough to slow down when needed - can you throttle bandwidth?

I have a ReadyNAS and haven't been able to use it with my mac pro - I connect under network and then select guest and it shows me my volumes, but then spinning beach ball for about 2 min then it disconnects. This is pre-lepoard install, hoping it will fix it.
pprior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2007, 11:31 AM   #8
Mdadm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by purdueboiler87 View Post
Using some posts I found here, I was able to configure Time Machine to back up to my 2TB NAS. Problem is, seems like now when I go into Time Machine, it only lists Today and Now on the right side, I can't see other dates where backups have occurred. Can anyone else using a NAS see more dates where backups have occurred or is there another hack I need to do to get this to work across a NAS?
Had the same issue with my FreeNAS. Right click on the Time Machine icon and select Browse other Time Machine disks. You should be able to select a disk called "Blabla" on "Backup of Blabla". This allows you to browse through your TM backups. Note: your disk should be mounted.
Mdadm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2007, 12:32 PM   #9
wileyc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Restoring using the Time Machine Browser

I have been using Time Machine to backup multiple machines to an AFP share on a ReadyNAS NV+ RAID now for a week. The way to be able to use the TIme Machine Browser to restore from the backup is as follows.

I assume that you have been able to successfully backup to an AFP shared volume. This is covered in other posts. If you have then you will have a .sparsebundle file in the root of the backup volume.

1. Open the .sparseimage bundle using DiskImageMounter.app. This should be the default app anyway. This will mount the .sparseimage file and you will get a disk icon on the desktop of the form "Backup of MyComputer".
2. Right click on Time Machine icon in the doc and choose "Browse Other TIme Machine Disks". Click on the disk you just mounted.
3. You should now be able to use the Time Machine Browser to restore as if it was a regular external drive.

When you are done, simply unmount the image. Backups will proceeed as normal.
wileyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 08:19 AM   #10
pilotError
macrumors 68020
 
pilotError's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island
If you double click the sparse image file in the finder, it mounts the drive automagically for you. Time Machine then goes into overtime doing its thang!
pilotError is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:03 PM   #11
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I don't think TM officially supports NAS drives. It might have something do with multiple hard links. Anyways, not having access to the old backups might be the end result of this. I would not trust my backups to an unsupported hack.
theBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:20 PM   #12
/dev/toaster
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBB View Post
I don't think TM officially supports NAS drives. It might have something do with multiple hard links. Anyways, not having access to the old backups might be the end result of this. I would not trust my backups to an unsupported hack.
On other systems, you can't create hard links to directories. That is what they need for Timemachine. "multiple hard links" doesn't make any sense honestly.

Not to mention, when it is using NAS it creates an image ... then uses that image to put the files in and create the links in. It has nothing to do with the under lying file system.

I just don't understand why this feature was pulled right before release, it worked just fine in the seeds.
__________________
Current iPhone 6 ship time estimates for the US and UK - http://orderobsession.com/
/dev/toaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 08:46 AM   #13
elfxmilhouse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
im using the readynas duo with time machine with no problems.
you have to create a time machine disk using the admin console in the broswer.
__________________
Z0QCME8665 A1502 EMC 2678 i7 2.8GHz 16GB RAM 512GB SSD
elfxmilhouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 08:58 AM   #14
cmaier
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfxmilhouse View Post
im using the readynas duo with time machine with no problems.
you have to create a time machine disk using the admin console in the broswer.
Yes, but 2 years ago, when this thread was last updated, that wasn't a feature of raidiator.
__________________
applenews.zone
Discussion of microprocessors and other technology, and reviews of tech products.
cmaier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 09:38 AM   #15
elfxmilhouse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
HAHAHA i didnt realize this thread was that old.
__________________
Z0QCME8665 A1502 EMC 2678 i7 2.8GHz 16GB RAM 512GB SSD
elfxmilhouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini Netgear readynas Time Machine threat found apgeek Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 15, 2014 07:24 AM
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 03:44 PM
Time Machine SuperDuper - incremental backups taking an exxcessive amount of time sputacus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2013 07:44 AM
Unable to restore with time machine from Readynas DUO Sunebralla OS X 1 Apr 13, 2013 03:03 PM
Time Machine Preference In Time Machine, macswitcha2 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 2, 2012 06:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC