Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Old Oct 30, 2007, 07:29 AM   #1
OwlsAndApples
macrumors 6502a

What's with the price difference!? (Adobe on Amazon)

Adobe Design Standard CS3 Mac Student = 162.48

Adobe Design Standard CS3 Mac = 950.98

That's a difference of almost 800 ($1600!)

There's also a third option: (non-student as well) = 688.99

I am a student so i'm not complaining, but why such a massive difference in price? Am I missing something here - (awaits revelation of the obvious truth)
OwlsAndApples is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 09:15 AM   #2
irishgrizzly
macrumors 65816

No big surprise, Adobe knows that art students don't have 950 to throw around.
irishgrizzly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 09:16 AM   #3
klymr
macrumors 65816

Adobe loves students!

The third one is an upgrade. The first one is a student license. The software functions the same.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 09:29 AM   #4
JasonElise1983
macrumors 6502a

Adobe has given Student discounts for what seems like forever now. It's a great deal for students, and it's the complete software...but, in the license agreement it states that it cannot be used for commercial (making money) use. They do this so you can learn on it, but to make money on the software, you have to buy the full version. What's great, you can upgrade from a student version to a full version for the same price that you could upgrade from a regular version to a new regular version.

-JE
JasonElise1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 10:30 AM   #5
LeviG
macrumors 65816