Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2007, 03:38 PM   #1
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Line In Doesn't Work With Mic?

I have a microphone headset and I can't get it to work with Skype on my macbook - only the default microphone by the webcam works!

Do I have a faulty macbook or does it not accept microphones? Thanks.
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 03:47 PM   #2
agent42b
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinstorm View Post
I have a microphone headset and I can't get it to work with Skype on my macbook - only the default microphone by the webcam works!

Do I have a faulty macbook or does it not accept microphones? Thanks.
I had the same issue. After installing Windows I realized that the line-in port can work quite well as a mic. As long as you're working in OSX, that port ain't gonna work with a mic. You'll have to buy an imic or a USB headset.

Basically the port can work as a line-in OR a mic-in. The soundcard can auto detect what type of signal you're inputting. At least, that's how it works in Windows. Under OSX, a mic just plain doesn't work. It's pretty obvious that apple simple has omitted this feature from OSX. It should really be fixed.

Im quite frustrated about this myself, consider a mic WORKS under windows in that port, using the very drivers that applies provides with bootcamp. weaksauce.
agent42b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 04:02 PM   #3
spinstorm
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I actually did a search after I posted this and saw that the input isn't powered so it doesn't work with unpowered microphones. It is stupid!

I do query your point about it working in windows... I have Vista installed and my mic doesn't work in vista either!

So either your mistaken or I do have a broken line-in!

I wish I had some way to check!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 04:14 PM   #4
agent42b
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinstorm View Post
I actually did a search after I posted this and saw that the input isn't powered so it doesn't work with unpowered microphones. It is stupid!

I do query your point about it working in windows... I have Vista installed and my mic doesn't work in vista either!

So either your mistaken or I do have a broken line-in!

I wish I had some way to check!
My deepest apologies...it turns out you're right... they DONT work under windows either ... sigh. It's still a really big design flaw imo. But... I already bought the USB adapter so you could say I've surrendered!

Last edited by agent42b; Nov 1, 2007 at 04:31 PM.
agent42b is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook g3 internal keyboard doesn't work In-Correct PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 31, 2011 04:32 PM
Mic on iPhone's earphone doesn't work with late 2007 Macbook joncolbert MacBook 1 Jul 17, 2010 07:08 AM
WD 500gb doesn't work with PATA in MBP Net-Monkey MacBook Pro 7 Mar 7, 2009 09:59 PM
Line in Doesn't Work Habusho MacBook Pro 9 Feb 20, 2007 02:04 AM
line in port and internal mic switch tonywalker23 Macintosh Computers 8 Feb 6, 2004 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC