Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2007, 07:06 PM   #1
xXriderXx7
macrumors 6502a
 
xXriderXx7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Elsinore, California
Send a message via AIM to xXriderXx7
Partitioning an External Drive without Erasing

In the effort to use Time Machine, I want to partition my external drive.
I have 500 gig external, and would like to have one partition of 480 and one around 20. This way, Time Machine will only back up onto the smaller partition, not endlessly backing up until all 500 gigs are used.

The reason I need to partition without erasing is my 170 gig iTunes library. Its too large to transfer to my internal HD, and I have no other drive to store it on.

Anybody have any ideas?
__________________
17" Intel iMac, 15" Aluminum Unibody MBP
MX Revolution and Apple Wired Aluminum Keyboard
WD 500 GB Mybook
5G 30GB iPod, 16GB iPod Nano
xXriderXx7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 07:22 PM   #2
dacreativeguy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Leopard Disk Utility allows dynamic partition sizing, but I'm not sure if you can do that with existing partitions or just partitions created with Leopard..ie: you partitioned and formatted the disk with leopard.

Plug in the drive and open disk utility to see if the partitions are resizable. Nothing will happen until you hit the "accept" button, so don't worry.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 07:49 PM   #3
xXriderXx7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
xXriderXx7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Elsinore, California
Send a message via AIM to xXriderXx7
No go.
All data will be erased.

Ive heard Drive Genius can repartition without erasing.
Is this true?
__________________
17" Intel iMac, 15" Aluminum Unibody MBP
MX Revolution and Apple Wired Aluminum Keyboard
WD 500 GB Mybook
5G 30GB iPod, 16GB iPod Nano
xXriderXx7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 08:02 PM   #4
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
Did you try making it 2 partitions or drag the current one to resize? If the former, it will want to erase and create 2 new ones.

Try grabbing the "bottom" of the current partition and slide it up to create some free space. It should be able to do this on-the-fly (no erasing). Then, you can create a new partition in the free space.

Important: you shouldn't do any modifications to partitions without a backup.

edit: you might be thinking of iPartition. It's not Leopard compatible, yet, but it sounds like it will be soon. It can resize, create/delete and move partitions on-the-fly.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air

Last edited by gr8tfly; Nov 3, 2007 at 08:04 PM. Reason: iPartition
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 08:12 PM   #5
xXriderXx7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
xXriderXx7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Elsinore, California
Send a message via AIM to xXriderXx7
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8tfly View Post
Did you try making it 2 partitions or drag the current one to resize? If the former, it will want to erase and create 2 new ones.

Try grabbing the "bottom" of the current partition and slide it up to create some free space. It should be able to do this on-the-fly (no erasing). Then, you can create a new partition in the free space.

Important: you shouldn't do any modifications to partitions without a backup.

edit: you might be thinking of iPartition. It's not Leopard compatible, yet, but it sounds like it will be soon. It can resize, create/delete and move partitions on-the-fly.
Thankyou.
I didnt even notice the resize dragger. Successfully backing up to my new partition.
__________________
17" Intel iMac, 15" Aluminum Unibody MBP
MX Revolution and Apple Wired Aluminum Keyboard
WD 500 GB Mybook
5G 30GB iPod, 16GB iPod Nano
xXriderXx7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 08:47 PM   #6
khunsanook
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: East Asia
I was pleasantly surprised to find that the partitions I had made on my external HD with Tiger, were easily adjustable once I installed Leopard. Totally sweet to be able to resize partitions on the fly!
khunsanook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2007, 11:58 PM   #7
aoe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
It should be noted that you can't resize external fat 32 partitions. I have my external 500gb partitioned as 1 big fat 32 so I can access it in windows. I wanted to half it up to hfs so I could store my hd movies (>4gb) but I couldn't.
aoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 04:30 PM   #8
tivoboy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2005
change the size?

IS there a way to change the size of two partitions?

I have a 200MB partition for storage and a 300GB partition for TM. I would rather have the 200 for TM or LESS and the 300GB for storage or more?

In the disk utility, I can certainly grab the corner of the 300GB TM partition and shorten it, but then WHAT happens to the freed up space? Can I ADD it to the 200MB partition?

IS there a way to do this?
tivoboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2007, 10:21 PM   #9
billmister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post
IS there a way to change the size of two partitions?

I have a 200MB partition for storage and a 300GB partition for TM. I would rather have the 200 for TM or LESS and the 300GB for storage or more?

In the disk utility, I can certainly grab the corner of the 300GB TM partition and shorten it, but then WHAT happens to the freed up space? Can I ADD it to the 200MB partition?

IS there a way to do this?
i also would like to know this answer
__________________
MBP 2.66Ghz i7 unibody, 8Gb ram, 500g HDiPhone 4/32Gb
billmister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 08:00 PM   #10
ryanmcd02
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I am getting ready to partition a drive that I cannot erase so I can limit the build-up of time machine on it.

Can someone explain to me how to use "resize image" to do this? I've never done it before.

The external drive is 320 GB, with 60 used. My Powerbook has 40 GB free. (So I can't just 'float' it.)

I know you can limit what time machine backs up file-wise, but I would like to limit its capacity so I do not get surprised when my external is suddenly full.

EDIT - Nevermind, it works if you just trust leopard and tell it to partition.

Last edited by ryanmcd02; Dec 4, 2007 at 10:55 PM.
ryanmcd02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 08:46 PM   #11
GadgetNeil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I also have a question that I think relates to this thread.

I have an external, 500 GB drive with data on it (but only using about 20 gb) from my old windows computer. The drive is formatted as FAT32, and has no partitions. I was wondering if I could get Leopard to create a partition with the mac format for time machine to use, but it seems from the above posts that I can't. I might just let time machine reformat the whole ext. drive, but can I first move the files (eg: word docs, photos, misc. junk) into my macbook's drive, and then later drag them back to the ext. drive? Or would that be unnecessary, since time machine will be backing up everything on my macbook's drive?

I'm a bit unclear if time machine creates a full drive image (I used to use acronis true image on my windows laptop to create backups)?
GadgetNeil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 03:32 AM   #12
eaglesfanone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Partitioning and Keep FAT32

so i was wondering, i want to partition my external 500GB HD for TM through leopard but since its formated in FAT32 all it will do is erase the whole HD and then partition it. is there a way i can keep the FAT32 part and create an OSX part that i can use for TM?
eaglesfanone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2008, 12:13 AM   #13
benlangdon
macrumors 65832
 
benlangdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via AIM to benlangdon
sorry if this is an old post but i can answer it.
i was just wondering also these questions.


open disk utility
click on the main drive on the left side and go to partition
look at the rectangle in the middle of the page that shows your drive and how the space is allocated.

in the bottom right hand of that box there is a little ripple (do not know what you would call it) but you can move that up and down, once you do that click the plus button under it and a new partition will come up.

im not 100% sure this works
as im doing it right now.

but it does say, on the right of that box and in the dialog box when you click apply it says
drive will not be erased
drive will be created.


well lets hope this works as i have a 70+ gb itunes library i would hate to loose.



EDIT: IT WORKS PERFECTLY
__________________
MBP | 2.2 ghz | bunch of ExHd's | Westinghouse L1916HW - Ergotron lx | Sony STR-DG520
iPod | 30 gb | Westone UM1 | Beyer DT770

Last edited by benlangdon; Jun 24, 2008 at 12:28 AM.
benlangdon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 07:22 AM   #14
swwack91
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by benlangdon View Post
sorry if this is an old post but i can answer it.
i was just wondering also these questions.


open disk utility
click on the main drive on the left side and go to partition
look at the rectangle in the middle of the page that shows your drive and how the space is allocated.

in the bottom right hand of that box there is a little ripple (do not know what you would call it) but you can move that up and down, once you do that click the plus button under it and a new partition will come up.

im not 100% sure this works
as im doing it right now.

but it does say, on the right of that box and in the dialog box when you click apply it says
drive will not be erased
drive will be created.


well lets hope this works as i have a 70+ gb itunes library i would hate to loose.



EDIT: IT WORKS PERFECTLY
so here's another similar question...

I have a 1TB drive already partitioned into 2 partitions. One partition is about 600GB for TM and the other one is about 300GB for storage.

I would like to take some space away from the TM partition and give it to the storage partition. I see the dragging "grips" on the partitions graph, but I can only drag over free space to create a third partition... I can't seem to find a way to give space from one partition to another.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15"
iPad 2 | iPhone 5s | Apple TV (3G)
Media Production Professional
swwack91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 12:31 PM   #15
benlangdon
macrumors 65832
 
benlangdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via AIM to benlangdon
Quote:
Originally Posted by swwack91 View Post
so here's another similar question...

I have a 1TB drive already partitioned into 2 partitions. One partition is about 600GB for TM and the other one is about 300GB for storage.

I would like to take some space away from the TM partition and give it to the storage partition. I see the dragging "grips" on the partitions graph, but I can only drag over free space to create a third partition... I can't seem to find a way to give space from one partition to another.
actually i have no clue, now i want to find this out.
damm and i actually kinda need to do this, only 10gb left for time machine
__________________
MBP | 2.2 ghz | bunch of ExHd's | Westinghouse L1916HW - Ergotron lx | Sony STR-DG520
iPod | 30 gb | Westone UM1 | Beyer DT770
benlangdon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2008, 10:14 PM   #16
cgryniewicz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am trying to partition my external hard drive without erasing it. However, I don't see those ripples in the bottom left hand of the rectangle. Here is a screen shot:

cgryniewicz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2008, 10:35 PM   #17
plinden
macrumors 68040
 
plinden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
See the Volume Scheme: "current" option? Select that and then "2 partitions" (or however many you want).
plinden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2008, 09:51 AM   #18
cgryniewicz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I will have to erase my Hard drive then. Right? I'm trying to partition my hard drive without removing all the data.
cgryniewicz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2008, 10:10 AM   #19
deltaiscain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgryniewicz View Post
I am trying to partition my external hard drive without erasing it. However, I don't see those ripples in the bottom left hand of the rectangle. Here is a screen shot:

I am also trying to do this, the wd is formatted as FAT32. Is there a way for me to take 200Gb of that, and format as hfs, and yet be sure, the other files are still intact? I also have a windows computer with which i use the hd
__________________
Macbook Pro 15", 2.5GHz Penryn, 200GB 7200RPM HD, 4GB ram()
Apple Wireless Keyboard
Logitech VX Revolution
deltaiscain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2008, 01:13 PM   #20
unitethenations
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
In case you still need an answer:
http://www.creativetechs.com/iq/leop...artitions.html
unitethenations is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2008, 02:59 PM   #21
sickmacdoc
macrumors 68020
 
sickmacdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgryniewicz View Post
I will have to erase my Hard drive then. Right? I'm trying to partition my hard drive without removing all the data.
Short version of the answer is no you cannot since your disk has a Master Boot Record partition scheme.

See the Partition Map Scheme (where it reads Master Boot Record) at the bottom of the screen?

That is why you cannot resize partitions in Disk Utility without erasing on this disk. MBR is the partition scheme for a hard drive prepared exclusively for Windows. To prepare a new drive for MacOS, the first step should be to go into the Partition tab- then you must change the "Format Scheme" at the top to 1 (or more) instead of "current" as it will read by default. Changing that will cause the "Options" button at the bottom to become black, hence selectable.

Click on the Options tab, and select from either the Apple Partition Map (for PowerPC based Macs or GUID Partition Table (for Intel based Macs), not Master Boot Record for Windows.

Once that is selected, choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for the "Format" at the top of the screen, give the drive a name and click either "Partition" or "Apply" (whichever appears at the bottom right of the screen). Wait a few seconds and you will have a disk that is capable of having partitions resized, added and subtracted without data loss.

Disk Utility is simply not capable of anything but basic erasing (formatting) on a disk with a partition type of Master Boot Record.
sickmacdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitioning external HD AppleFan22 Mac Peripherals 2 May 12, 2014 02:51 PM
HELP: Question about partitioning external drive hswisher MacBook Pro 6 May 9, 2014 11:19 AM
How to format external Toshiba drive without erasing? asdf212 iMac 1 Jan 27, 2013 04:23 PM
Partitioning an external hard drive SMargaret MacBook Pro 2 Jul 23, 2012 09:37 AM
Question about erasing a drive xkmxkmxlmx Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 23, 2012 12:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC