Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2007, 09:23 PM   #1
samuraikiss
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Error Message after PC to Mac Switch

I just moved my entire music library from my old PC paperweight to my new MacBook. So I plugged in my iPod to the latter this afternoon and engaged in the sync process. But when I view the 'Pod by clicking "devices", then "iPod", and looking at "summary", there's an error message next to "update". It says "Only Macintosh-formatted iPods can be updated."

What does this mean? Should I erase everything off the iPod and start again? Is it possible to format it for a Mac after two years of PC service? (I have a fourth generation 20gb white iPod classic.)

Thanks!
__________________
MacBook (2.0ghz Core2Duo) "Seraphim"
iPhone (8gb) "Ambrosia"
samuraikiss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 12:42 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Well, you won't be able to upgrade the firmware unless you have access to a PC. However, you can easily use iTunes on the Mac to reformat it for Mac and get it up to date. The only drawbacks are that it won't then be able to work on a PC and also the reformat will erase everything from the actual iPod's drive.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 10:09 AM   #3
samuraikiss
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Washington, DC
How would I reformat my iPod to my MacBook? Sorry if that's a silly question.
__________________
MacBook (2.0ghz Core2Duo) "Seraphim"
iPhone (8gb) "Ambrosia"
samuraikiss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 01:12 PM   #4
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuraikiss View Post
How would I reformat my iPod to my MacBook? Sorry if that's a silly question.
Click the restore button in iTunes. That will delete everything and format it for a Mac.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 01:37 PM   #5
samuraikiss
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Did it, and the error message is gone. Thank you!
__________________
MacBook (2.0ghz Core2Duo) "Seraphim"
iPhone (8gb) "Ambrosia"
samuraikiss is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Monitor (moving function from PC to Mac help) papo2 OS X 4 Jul 21, 2011 08:43 PM
PC to Mac switch... any tips? thecman123 MacBook Pro 7 Oct 28, 2009 02:20 PM
Syncronisation Problems - PC to Mac switch thomasn OS X 0 Jul 11, 2008 02:31 PM
iPod enables PC to Mac switch MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 2 Apr 14, 2005 03:19 PM
Poll shows 15 per cent PC to Mac switch MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 19 Mar 13, 2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC