Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2007, 09:55 AM   #1
Danyell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Making a default wireless connection?

I just set up a new secure wireless network at my new apartment. But even though I saved the password onto my computer, I still have to manually select my network every time I try to log on. And even then Airport sometimes says it "cannot locate any of your trusted networks" and suggests another local connection, or says there is an error connecting.

Is there anyway to choose my network as my primary so it will always try to connect when I log on? My brother had set up our connection when I lived at home and it always automatically connected with no problem. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Danyell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 09:56 AM   #2
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Apple in the top left -> Location , make the network you're on Automatic
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 09:58 AM   #3
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Are you using Leopard? If so sounds like the bug many of us are having which usually sorts itself out if you turn airport on and off a couple of times.

Anyway to do what you asked in Leopard

System Preferences - Network - Airport - Advanced - +

Can't fully remember how in Tiger but should be along the same lines.

Edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychofreak View Post
Apple in the top left -> Location , make the network you're on Automatic

Doesn't location only appear if you have setup multiple locations. For example i don't have that menu s i only have one setup being a desktop.

Edit 2: Case in point, First shot with only one location, the second with multiple locations

Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 8946
Size:  65.2 KBName:  Picture 2.png
Views: 8950
Size:  67.6 KB

Last edited by xUKHCx; Nov 4, 2007 at 10:06 AM.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2007, 10:07 AM   #4
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
Doesn't location only appear if you have setup multiple locations. For example i don't have that menu s i only have one setup being a desktop.
In Tiger I always have the Location menu, but with just the "Automatic" item in it, including on my desktop iMac, which has only one location / one network. I'm not clear that this will actually help much though. I really never used this feature, even on my notebook which was set to only connect to one of about five networks I authorized (i.e. one here, two at the University, one at another one of our hospitals, and one at Camp -- always on "Automatic" location). Sometimes, though, deleting the existing location and making a new one solves cryptic problems.



In Tiger, you go to Sys Prefs -> Network -> Airport, and make sure that it's set up to join preferred networks by default (pulldown at the top). Then, you can click Options and define behavior when no preferred network is available (by default, it prompts you; my Macs are set to keep searching for preferred networks and not to join other networks unless I initiate it) and also whether or not newly joined networks automatically become preferred. This should already have been set up so that they do, though.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making iWork 09 as default app to open files Csory Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Jan 21, 2014 04:49 AM
Set Default network connection iFoggy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jan 29, 2013 10:57 AM
Making my old macpro wireless? jrm27 Mac Basics and Help 6 Nov 1, 2012 03:09 AM
Make VPN default connection? kriista1234 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Sep 9, 2012 08:33 AM
Pros and Cons of making Outlook the default app for e-mail, calendar and contacts hajime Mac Basics and Help 0 Sep 3, 2012 09:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC