Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2007, 10:42 AM   #1
lugesm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Really Important - TurboTax for Mac (Any good?)

I am a new Mac convert (September 2007) and I have a 24" iMac @ 2.4Ghz.

For many years I have been using Turbo Tax for Windows, and it has been adequate for my needs. When I switched to the Mac I bought a copy of Quicken/Mac to replace my copy of Quicken/Windows. What a disappointment ! The Mac version seems to be about 3 years behind the Windows version. Thanks, Intuit.

Having said all that; I am considering Turbo Tax for the Mac with some reservations, based on my Quicken experience. I can afford to be annoyed with the outdated Quicken/Mac, but I cannot use a tax program that might be equally outdated.

My question: Is anyone using TurboTax/Mac; and, if so, what are your observations?

Thanks for your comments.
lugesm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 11:16 AM   #2
DerekS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I always just use the web-based version, which has traditionally worked great on Macs.

There's little value to installing an app that you will use once, then remove.
DerekS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 12:17 PM   #3
lugesm
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekS View Post
I always just use the web-based version, which has traditionally worked great on Macs.

There's little value to installing an app that you will use once, then remove.
I have always been a little uncertain about an online app for taxes, because all of one's financial information could be compromised. I'm sure they claim to have adequate safeguards, but we are constantly made aware of the fact that someone has stolen thousands of computer records; I think the last major theft was from the SSA.

Am I just paranoid ?
lugesm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 01:47 PM   #4
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I have used TurboTax for Mac for my taxes last year. It had a major bug that the customer service rep had no idea how to fix even though he tried as best as he could. I don't think he had access to a Mac. Anyways, apparently the bug affected only a small number of install CD packages and I was one of the unlucky customers. Once I got everything sorted out, the program ran well, so I would not worry about the quality of TurboTax. I'd probably use it again.

PS: I managed to fix things by using some not-so-well-known UNIX commands, but I don't think that would be easy for most customers. The bug prevented not only the program from working properly, but also prevented me from uninstalling it. It was quite a headache for a few hours. It seems it was a one time problem for them, so I am cutting them some slack. However, it is clear they did not have as much experience programming for UNIX variants such as OSX.
theBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 04:02 PM   #5
lugesm
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBB View Post
I have used TurboTax for Mac for my taxes last year. It had a major bug that the customer service rep had no idea how to fix even though he tried as best as he could. I don't think he had access to a Mac.
That's the problem that concerns me. I suspect that the Mac business produces a small portion of Intuit's revenue; therefore, they don't devote much in the way of resources.

Other than "on line" tax preparation, does anyone know of an alternative program?

Thanks for your help.
lugesm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 04:51 PM   #6
dirtleg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St. Louis
I have been using TurboTax for years on Mac's. Never had any problems, perhaps I have been lucky. The only glitch I have run into is that I have never been able to get the data transfers for W-2's or Quicken to work. But my tax situation is a fairly basic affair. I do itemize and use the regular long form, and I have used the State program as well with no problems. I have also used the electronic filing the last three years. I can't help you with a comparison to the Widows version as we have always been a Mac family.
If you are one to do your own taxes, I recommend it. I have been doing my own taxes for many years and intend to keep on doing it myself and using TurboTax as long as a Mac version is available.
__________________
He who trods with a leg of dirt
dirtleg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 05:57 PM   #7
blodwyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
I used the PC version for Tax years 1999 through 2003, and the Mac version for 2004 through 2006. I'll be using the Mac version again for 2007. I haven't had any problems installing or using any of them, including electronic filing. From memory, the look and feel is virtually identical on both platforms.

Also my first Mac version in 2004 imported my 2003 PC file with no issues, and transferred all of my data seamlessly.
blodwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 06:39 PM   #8
winterdude010
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
TurboTax for Windows and Mac are identical in features, etc. There is no "slacking-off" in terms of the Mac version. It's a great tax program, and the support team is able to help in most instances, theBB's problem did not affect everyone, and its not like that happens every year, and besides its either that, the online version, or H&R's crap software...I love TurboTax for my taxes..you won't be disappointed by purchasing it.
__________________
 3.4GHz Core i7 27" iMac running Mountain Lion  2.4GHz Core i5 MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion  iPhone 4 running iOS 5.1.1 
winterdude010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 09:45 AM   #9
lugesm
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Many thanks for your inputs. I will try TurboTax/Mac in April and report the results here. Since I have used the Windows version for many years, I can fairly compare the two.
lugesm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 12:16 PM   #10
jellomizer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Upstate NY
I've used it.

It worked OK. But I decided that it was actually easier to spend some extra Money and go to a Tax Place to get it done... The Low Tech method I found is much easier because you give them all your paperwork and they type the data in much more easier then you will... They also know the laws better so where you may have tried to itemize your Mac as an expence they may go to you and and ask you carefully what you use it for In my case I couldn't because although I use it for Work and School, I don't need to use it because Work would provide me with the computer if I needed it.
__________________
17" Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro
3GB of RAM, 100GB 7200 RPM, Glossy
jellomizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 12:17 PM   #11
GSMiller
macrumors 68000
 
GSMiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kentucky
Yea software that's made for both Mac and Windows usually gets the shaft on OS X.
__________________
2.16 GHz 20" iMac || 30GB 5G iPod || 1GB 3G Shuffle || 2.16 GHz Blackbook
GSMiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 12:27 PM   #12
rfrankl
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I have used the Mac version the last few years and the Windows version prior to that. No differences or problems for TurboTax.
rfrankl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 12:36 PM   #13
Moof1904
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by lugesm View Post
I have always been a little uncertain about an online app for taxes, because all of one's financial information could be compromised. I'm sure they claim to have adequate safeguards, but we are constantly made aware of the fact that someone has stolen thousands of computer records; I think the last major theft was from the SSA.

Am I just paranoid ?
I don't think you're being paranoid at all. Every company who has ever had data stolen did so while claiming to their customers that their system was safe.
Moof1904 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 12:43 PM   #14
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by winterdude010 View Post
besides its either that, the online version, or H&R's crap software...I love TurboTax for my taxes..
Well, there is the calculator and pen method as well.
theBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 02:46 PM   #15
paduck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I've used TurboTax for 15 years on the Mac - back when it was Macintax.

I have no complaints. I have been manually entering in my data, not using their web-based or Internet partners to get "my" data. I do use the import from last year function. That saves a lot of time re-entering demographic information.

My taxes have gotten increasingly "complicated" (read - I bought a house, got married, had kids, own some stock, etc.) over the years. I can still hit within $100 on the back of an envelope, but Turbotax does everything for you. When you want to see how a change will affect your taxes, it is easy to add it in and take it out. I have had no problems with its accuracy.

I find the Turbotax recommendations and insights relatively useless, although reinforcing the obvious is probably never bad.

The best part about Turbotax is the free state download they give you. Basically, you do your federal taxes and then it moves everything into your state taxes. It asks a few more questions and you are done with both. This is great.

If you continue to use Turbotax, it has a 5-year tax average for you. That is a nice feature as well.

I'm waiting to see if I get hit by AMT this year. Of course, Congress is going to "fix" that "soon" (because it was the dirty little secret of the Bush Tax Cuts). With online updates in Turbotax, all the new forms will just flow straight into my computer and solve the calculation problems for me right away. Lots better than doing it by hand.
paduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 05:38 PM   #16
lena
macrumors Demi-Goddess
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Since I got my first Mac (almost 6 years ago), I have used TurboTax and have been happy (have used both the online version and the installed version) - go for it!
lena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2008, 03:29 PM   #17
mjc63
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Turbotax Needs Os X 10.4

I've used Turbotax for 15 years, 6 on my Mac until now. They never advertised you need 10.4 until you go on their site (turbotax.com) and dig around. I was holding off upgrading OS due to financial things on my computer, but now I have to risk it. Ugggh.
mjc63 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 11:04 AM   #18
ToddBurger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Turbotax 2008 for MAC Not What It Claims To Be

Intuit has been shortchanging MAC users for years. I dumped Quicken for the MAC as it went without meaningful support for stability problems and progressively lost features made available in the Windows version (I use MoneyDance and have never looked back). But after being dissatisfied with TaxCut last year (It will not import Fidelity data, while TurboTax does), I decided to give Intuit's Turbotax another try. After confirming on the Turbotax website that Turbotax could transfer in my data from TaxCut2007, I purchased TurboTax 2008. Immediately after purchase I ran into trouble trying to do the transfer (TaxCut file grayed out and not accessible). I reached out to Turbotax support and was provided as a "resolution" direction to this hidden gem on their support site: "You can't transfer from TaxCut or TaxACT to TurboTax for the Mac. If you want to transfer from these products, try one of our TurboTax Windows desktop products." Intuit seems intent on maximizing sales and screwing MAC users. If they are not going to support the platform, and continue to mislead consumers that their products function fully on the MAC, then I say we boycott the company's entire product line.
ToddBurger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 07:15 PM   #19
StingerT125
macrumors 6502a
 
StingerT125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dutchess County New York
I've used TurboTax for 3 or 4 years on my PC previously and then switched to a Mac and used that version last year and had no problems.

I will be purchasing it and using it this year on my Mac again.
StingerT125 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2010, 05:10 PM   #20
TexAg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I just switched to mac this year. If I download TurboTax for Mac, will it automatically detect my TT files from last year (pc format)? Or do I need to convert last year's files to a mac format first?
TexAg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 07:37 PM   #21
GregPQ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
I'm about to try this myself. I think that all you need to do is copy the PC file with extension .tax2008 to the Mac. Probably best to do before you install Turbotax 2009 on the Mac. The intuit website provides quite a bit of such PC=>Mac help.

Greg
GregPQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Outlook for Mac 2011 Calendar to iCal cycocelica Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 May 13, 2013 01:55 PM
Silverlight 5 RC for Mac (Any Netflix Users?) Littleodie914 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 18, 2011 10:57 AM
Twitter for Mac Sucks rdowns Mac Applications and Mac App Store 63 Oct 20, 2011 10:08 AM
Excel 11 for Mac on a 27" iMac Crotonmark Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Sep 12, 2011 02:00 PM
Office for Mac, Page or Microsoft set from my pc? Politis MacBook Pro 3 Jan 20, 2011 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC