Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:15 PM   #1
Sawtooth811
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Overclocking G4 DUAL 450MHz

Give me your opinion:

Do you think it'll be worth $35.00 to buy a DUAL G4 CPU W/Heatsink, and overclock it to Dual 800MHz? Don't worry, I'm skillful at micro-soldering, and don't post crap like "It won't work", and crap like that, OK?
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:22 PM   #2
FJ218700
macrumors 68000
 
FJ218700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blue Dot, Red State
for $ 35, sure. I upgraded my Sawtooth to dual processors a while back and the difference is breathtaking. Even with the same video card you have in your sig, if you can get the RAM maxed Leopard will run pretty well.
__________________
various Macs
FJ218700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:24 PM   #3
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by FJ218700 View Post
for $ 35, sure. I upgraded my Sawtooth to dual processors a while back and the difference is breathtaking. Even with the same video card you have in your sig, if you can get the RAM maxed Leopard will run pretty well.
Great!! Do you think It'll be as good as a REAL DUAL 800MHz processor (ALONE)?
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:39 PM   #4
FJ218700
macrumors 68000
 
FJ218700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blue Dot, Red State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Great!! Do you think It'll be as good as a REAL DUAL 800MHz processor (ALONE)?
I doubt the processor will last as long overclocked. Also depends on how good you are at soldering.

PM me if you need some RAM.
__________________
various Macs
FJ218700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 03:53 PM   #5
admiraldennis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to admiraldennis
I think you should post more threads about your G4.
admiraldennis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 04:36 PM   #6
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
see vendor information in user profile
Hope you got some big hefty fans ready to attach to the top or sides of the heatsinks.....that thing is gonna smoke.......literally

that's almost a 100 increase in clock speed, so I doubt it will last more than a few months at best

good luck & please post back with progress reports.........
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 04:52 PM   #7
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
A Dual 450mhz to 800mhz ? You're dreaming dude. You can probably make 500mhz, and at the very best, 550mhz. Anything over that isn't possible on a 7400 G4.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 05:32 PM   #8
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by admiraldennis View Post
I think you should post more threads about your G4.
I DID!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubeHacker View Post
A Dual 450mhz to 800mhz ? You're dreaming dude. You can probably make 500mhz, and at the very best, 550mhz. Anything over that isn't possible on a 7400 G4.
Yes it is possible! REMEMBER: I asked for people NOT to say that It's not gonna work! It IS possible! I'm skilled at this stuff! And I've done this before, successfully!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB

Last edited by Sawtooth811; Nov 6, 2007 at 05:39 PM.
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2007, 10:56 PM   #9
spinne1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
I DID!


Yes it is possible! REMEMBER: I asked for people NOT to say that It's not gonna work! It IS possible! I'm skilled at this stuff! And I've done this before, successfully!
Since nobody believes it will work, but you KNOW it will work, why don't you enlighten everybody with HOW you do it rather than berate the masses for not being as smart as you are.
__________________
Mac Mini 1.83GHz Core 2 Duo, & Mac Mini 1.83Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram each, IBM P 260 21" CRT for each
spinne1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 02:21 PM   #10
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinne1 View Post
Since nobody believes it will work, but you KNOW it will work, why don't you enlighten everybody with HOW you do it rather than berate the masses for not being as smart as you are.
I didn't say how smart I was, I said how skillful I am!
I'm not judging anybody.

I'll show you as soon as I receive the CPU.
There would be a Forum named:

"G4 DUAL 800 7400"
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2007, 02:41 PM   #11
jellomizer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Well it seems like you are going to do it anyways. So I guess the question is is $35 a good price for a 450mhz G4 Processor? Yes it would. To clock it up to 800 mhz is kinda immaterial. Will you get a noticeable speed increase is an other question. CPU mhz speed is only one factor and actually a rather minor one. Most of the stuff that really slows a computer down is Cache and Bus speed, and Memory size and Speed...) My Wifes iMac runs faster then my MacBook Pro even though they have the same processor type and speed, she has less ram. But a faster Bus and better video that makes it run a tad faster. If over clocking systems is your hobby then go ahead have a blast. I myself wouldn't do it even if I could do it well. Just because I will only get a marginal speed increase and would send a lot of time I could be doing something else.
__________________
17" Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro
3GB of RAM, 100GB 7200 RPM, Glossy
jellomizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2007, 03:12 PM   #12
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellomizer View Post
Well it seems like you are going to do it anyways. So I guess the question is is $35 a good price for a 450mhz G4 Processor? Yes it would. To clock it up to 800 mhz is kinda immaterial. Will you get a noticeable speed increase is an other question. CPU mhz speed is only one factor and actually a rather minor one. Most of the stuff that really slows a computer down is Cache and Bus speed, and Memory size and Speed...) My Wifes iMac runs faster then my MacBook Pro even though they have the same processor type and speed, she has less ram. But a faster Bus and better video that makes it run a tad faster. If over clocking systems is your hobby then go ahead have a blast. I myself wouldn't do it even if I could do it well. Just because I will only get a marginal speed increase and would send a lot of time I could be doing something else.
I knew this stuff already, like the megahertz myth, megahertz doesn't really mean speed, and stuff like that, but when it comes to overclocking, you are correct, bus speed is another factor in CPU speed, because it helps multiply speed. For example, look at my chart below on G4 clock speeds:

Clock Bus speed Factor

350MHz 100MHz 3.5x
400MHz " 4.0x
450MHz " 4.5x

e.t.c.

You get the picture? Bus speeds can help multiply clock speeds!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2007, 04:19 PM   #13
admiraldennis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to admiraldennis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
You get the picture? Bus speeds can help multiply clock speeds!
I think what you mean to say is:

Clock Speed = Bus Speed * MultiplicationFactor
admiraldennis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2007, 04:43 PM   #14
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
I DID!


Yes it is possible! REMEMBER: I asked for people NOT to say that It's not gonna work! It IS possible! I'm skilled at this stuff! And I've done this before, successfully!
Why don't you try to over clock your single 450 first.

If that works, then do it on the dual 450. This way you'll have a working computer, and you either end up with a dual 450 or a dual 800 (or a bit less), instead of ending up with a single 450 if you only try to over clock the dual 450 and something didn't work out.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 03:29 AM   #15
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Solid advice there. That's what I always did when messing around with microsoldering; try to improve the cheap one first to make sure it works...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 12:15 PM   #16
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
Why don't you try to over clock your single 450 first.

If that works, then do it on the dual 450. This way you'll have a working computer, and you either end up with a dual 450 or a dual 800 (or a bit less), instead of ending up with a single 450 if you only try to over clock the dual 450 and something didn't work out.
Remember, I said I've experienced and done this already. I had another single G4 processor, and I UNDERclocked it at 300MHz, so maybe, I have the first G4/300MHz processor!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 12:56 PM   #17
SawTooth500
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florence, Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Remember, I said I've experienced and done this already. I had another single G4 processor, and I UNDERclocked it at 300MHz, so maybe, I have the first G4/300MHz processor!
Why would you slow down your cpu?


And underclocking won't strain the cpu, while overclocking will.

You may be able to over clock the 450 to 550, but not any higher. They won't run at that speed. MHZ isn't a myth - it's the timing on the clock chip.

Just putting in the dual chips will speed up your system by at least 75% over what you have now. You are still going to be limited by your buss speed, however. 100mhz is what the buss is clocked at. Plus if you do OC the chips, you want to put bigger heat sinks on. higher MHZ means higher heat.
SawTooth500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 02:35 PM   #18
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
The bus generally won't cause bottlenecking or noticeable slowing at G4 processors below 1gHz.
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 03:11 PM   #19
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
i'd like to overclock my 500mhz dp. do i just bridge the contacts with solder or do i use a resistor?
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 12:26 PM   #20
SawTooth500
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florence, Arizona
Well, you can over clock thru the OF Firmware.

reboot, and hold down the "CMD","OPT","O" +"F" keys.

enter the NVRAMRC editor (<enter> shows you should press the"return" key)

nvedit<enter>

Then type the following script exactly - including the spaces.

" /" select-dev<enter>
7efdc44 " clock-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
" /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0" select-dev<return>
1fca0554 " clock-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
7efdc44 " bus-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
1fbf711 " timebase-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !

Type ^C (Control + 'C') to exit nvedit
save the script:

nvstore<enter>

enable the NVRAMRC by typing :

setenv use-nvramrc? true<enter>

and then reboot to the new time constant by typing

reset-all<enter>

This will save stuff you changed and reboot at a new speed.
Works for my G4 single. Changes from 500 for the CPU speed to 533, and buss speed goes from 100 to 133. About 1% or so.
SawTooth500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 01:11 PM   #21
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
wow cool thanks! don't know if i will see a difference but seems to have taken a few seconds off the startup time.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 01:44 PM   #22
SawTooth500
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florence, Arizona
Glad you like it.

Not sure if you can increase the numbers yet.. still experimenting.

If you have to do the four-finger-reset (cmd-opt-P-R) it will reset everything back to default, then you have to re-enter it all.

Have fun!
SawTooth500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 06:11 PM   #23
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by SawTooth500 View Post
Well, you can over clock thru the OF Firmware.

reboot, and hold down the "CMD","OPT","O" +"F" keys.

enter the NVRAMRC editor (<enter> shows you should press the"return" key)

nvedit<enter>

Then type the following script exactly - including the spaces.

" /" select-dev<enter>
7efdc44 " clock-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
" /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0" select-dev<return>
1fca0554 " clock-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
7efdc44 " bus-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !<enter>
1fbf711 " timebase-frequency" get-my-property 2drop !

Type ^C (Control + 'C') to exit nvedit
save the script:

nvstore<enter>

enable the NVRAMRC by typing :

setenv use-nvramrc? true<enter>

and then reboot to the new time constant by typing

reset-all<enter>

This will save stuff you changed and reboot at a new speed.
Works for my G4 single. Changes from 500 for the CPU speed to 533, and buss speed goes from 100 to 133. About 1% or so.
Just so you know, this doesn't actually change the bus or processor rate, it just changes how the system reads it. The system will still operate at the same speed it did before this hack.

Also, 33 is 33% of 100, and 33 is 6.6% of 500.
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 07:31 PM   #24
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
ah, so that whole trick was just playing with my mind huh
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2007, 12:17 PM   #25
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Guys, I'm NOT going to overclock the DUAL G4 anymore, because I don't feel like buying and waiting for a G4 to ship. Instead, I will buy a G5 Quad Core 2.7GHz next year, NOT a Mac Pro, because the Mac Pro doesn't properly fit my needs like a G5. Plus, the G5 is FASTER in tasks I do.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 3.5TB X.9/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old G4 dual 450mhz w/ new RAM... Ghost Horses PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 4, 2008 06:24 AM
G4 DUAL 450MHz vs. G4 Solo 733MHz Sawtooth811 Mac Basics and Help 4 Nov 6, 2007 02:55 PM
PowerMac G4 Dual 450mHz worth it ? MIDI_EVIL Buying Tips and Advice 3 Feb 19, 2006 06:33 PM
Dual 450mhz powermac g4 USB help!!!! brsboarder Macintosh Computers 4 May 24, 2005 05:52 PM
FS: Dual 450Mhz G4 and 3 Brand New 17" LCD Monitors JMT529 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 2 Dec 20, 2004 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC