Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2007, 12:55 PM   #1
bntz313
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
How do I install iPhoto

Installed leopard and now cant find iphoto
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 12:57 PM   #2
tersono
macrumors 68000
 
tersono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Leopard does not come with iPhoto. You either have a separate iLife installation disk, or it's on the disks that came with your computer. If the latter, just put the restore disk in and select the 'optional installs' item instead of the OS install.
__________________
11" MacBook air 2012 i5 4gb/ 128gb - 17" unibody MBP C2D 2.8Gz / 4gb / 500gb - 20" iMac 2ghz C2D / 4gb/ 2tb - iPad 3 32gb wifi/3G - iPhone 5 16gb
I also like it HERE
tersono is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 12:57 PM   #3
webgoat
macrumors 6502a
 
webgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Did you do a clean install? Did you have iLife to begin with? If the answer to both these questions is yes insert your original iLife install dvd, or if iLife came on your mac at time of purchase insert your old tiger install disc and reinstall iLife from the optional software bundles.
__________________
13" MacBook Air 1.8 GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
webgoat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:05 PM   #4
bntz313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
yeah, I did a clean install. I did have ilife installed before I installed leopard
bntz313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:08 PM   #5
abijnk
macrumors 68040
 
abijnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to abijnk
Quote:
Originally Posted by bntz313 View Post
yeah, I did a clean install. I did have ilife installed before I installed leopard
I did a clean re-install of Tiger to "de-gunk" things and preserve the iLife and other applications that came on my macbook, then upgraded to leopard. There isn't another way to do a clean install of leopard and get iLife back on there that I was able to find.
__________________
Abbie
Twitter
Hockey Ramblings
abijnk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:15 PM   #6
webgoat
macrumors 6502a
 
webgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by abiyng87 View Post
I did a clean re-install of Tiger to "de-gunk" things and preserve the iLife and other applications that came on my macbook, then upgraded to leopard. There isn't another way to do a clean install of leopard and get iLife back on there that I was able to find.
yes there is... insert the os x install disc that came with the purchase of your computer and you can reinstall ilife from it... just click on install bundled software only... its much better to clean install leopard and then add ilife from tiger dvd... see picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	installdisc.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	90796  
__________________
13" MacBook Air 1.8 GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
webgoat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:17 PM   #7
abijnk
macrumors 68040
 
abijnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to abijnk
Quote:
Originally Posted by webgoat View Post
yes there is... insert the os x install disc that came with the purchase of your computer and you can reinstall ilife from it... just click on install bundled software only... its much better to clean install leopard and then add ilife from tiger dvd... see picture
Tried it, and it specifically tells you that it won't install iLife, unless I completely screwed up.
__________________
Abbie
Twitter
Hockey Ramblings
abijnk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:22 PM   #8
webgoat
macrumors 6502a
 
webgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by abiyng87 View Post
Tried it, and it specifically tells you that it won't install iLife, unless I completely screwed up.
i had no such message or problem when i installed ilife06 from my tiger dvd on leopard
__________________
13" MacBook Air 1.8 GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
webgoat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2007, 01:26 PM   #9
abijnk
macrumors 68040
 
abijnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to abijnk
Quote:
Originally Posted by webgoat View Post
i had no such message or problem when i installed ilife06 from my tiger dvd on leopard
no kidding, man that would have been a lot easier. When I was doing it I got a message that said certain software would be installed, but not other software (like iLife). I'll have to try it out again later when I get home and see if I really am a total idiot

Thanks
__________________
Abbie
Twitter
Hockey Ramblings
abijnk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to only install iPhoto from install disk? Horttiger22 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Apr 15, 2014 06:39 PM
Strange - iPhoto and iMovie update - But Garageband needs a new install? Risco Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 22, 2013 05:54 PM
iPhoto gone with new ML install chaoticbear Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Aug 26, 2012 06:13 PM
Clean Install - iPhoto supermati OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 28, 2012 05:08 PM
Can't install iPhoto on MBA with Lion KellyC Mac Basics and Help 2 Jun 23, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC