Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2007, 02:06 AM   #1
JoshFink
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Using dd I'm getting a Resource Busy error

Hello, I'm trying to restore an old Hard Drive image OS.dmg to a usb hard drive that I have.

I'm using the command:

dd if=/Users/Shared/OS.dmg of=/dev/disk5 bs=1m

And I'm getting

dd: /dev/disk5: Resource busy

What would cause this error? I'm not sure why it's "busy"

Thanks

Josh

PS.. I get the exact same thing when i try to do it in DiskUtility
JoshFink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 11:06 PM   #2
mikehardy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I just did this - what I did may work for you

In order to overwrite all the information on the disk, you have to make sure the mac OS isn't using it first

Open the DiskUtility.app, and on your USB hard drive, unmount any of it's partitions. Do not eject the USB hard drive.

Right click on the hard drive in the DiskUtility and get it's Identifier from the Information tab.

Now take your image, and the identifier, and put it all together with something like this, on the command line in terminal:
dd if=<your image file> of=/dev/<disk identifier>

That worked for me putting the diskboot.img bootable Linux image file onto a USB hard drive that had the identifier disk1 by doing dd if=/Users/mike/diskboot.img of=/dev/disk1

good luck
mikehardy is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2009, 10:47 AM   #3
Ryan813
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
That did the trick thanks
Ryan813 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lion - unable to scan Resource Busy WebMystic Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 26 Dec 14, 2013 09:45 PM
Resource Busy When Trying to Image Macbook Airs measureless Mac Basics and Help 0 Sep 29, 2011 04:01 PM
Welll, I did the 2.0.2 update, now I'm getting errors all over the place.. FSUSem1noles iPhone and iPod touch Apps 12 Aug 18, 2008 09:24 PM
Moved Photoshop to new MBP but I'm getting an error box on start-up joefinan Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Mar 7, 2008 06:59 AM
I'm getting iPod mini error -51 Doctor Q Music Discussion 0 Jul 13, 2004 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC