Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2007, 01:22 PM   #1
buffalo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs / Ohio
Help me get rid of this shared computer

Is there any way to get this computer that is detected by my Mac off the shared computers list? It is not mine and is useless to me. I am referring to the "Mac00112..." The one below it is mine and works well.

Thanks!

buffalo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 01:23 PM   #2
djejrejk
macrumors 6502a
 
djejrejk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Uhh...
Send a message via AIM to djejrejk
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalo View Post
Is there any way to get this computer that is detected by my Mac off the shared computers list? It is not mine and is useless to me. I am referring to the "Mac00112..." The one below it is mine and works well.

Thanks!
I had the same problem last week, a reboot solved the problem.
__________________
MBP 2.33 / Mac Pro 2.66
djejrejk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 01:25 PM   #3
buffalo
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs / Ohio
Sorry... I meant to put this into the Mac OS X forum.

Heres a little more info:



Quote:
Originally Posted by djejrejk View Post
I had the same problem last week, a reboot solved the problem.
This has been on the list since I loaded Leopard a week ago, so a reboot has not fixed this.
buffalo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 01:45 PM   #4
djejrejk
macrumors 6502a
 
djejrejk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Uhh...
Send a message via AIM to djejrejk
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalo View Post
Sorry... I meant to put this into the Mac OS X forum.

Heres a little more info:

This has been on the list since I loaded Leopard a week ago, so a reboot has not fixed this.
Have you tried using the terminal ?

I think the command is "umount /volume" or something close to that
__________________
MBP 2.33 / Mac Pro 2.66
djejrejk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 02:15 PM   #5
buffalo
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs / Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by djejrejk View Post
Have you tried using the terminal ?

I think the command is "umount /volume" or something close to that
I do not have any knowledge of Terminal so I would not feel comfortable messing with it unless I knew the exact command.
buffalo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 08:52 PM   #6
buffalo
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs / Ohio
Mods, can I get this moved to Mac OS X forum where I might be able to get more help?

Thanks!
buffalo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:12 PM   #7
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Looks like someone is mooching off your wireless network. I dont know of any way to knock it off line. Its no harm. it s just a simple windows computer that has 1 public folder sharing and leopard is just showing what its found. It probably always been there, just under tiger, you had to go to the network icon to show all servers. There was no list. My brothers pc shows up on the list when his computer is on.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:17 PM   #8
FJ218700
macrumors 68000
 
FJ218700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blue Dot, Red State
Zach, is your network encrypted? If not, not to be rude, but you're just asking for others to jump on.
__________________
various Macs
FJ218700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:25 PM   #9
Eclipse278
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
If someone was mooching off the network would it show up as a volume that he could access in finder? I don't have leopard yet but in tiger I have network shares occasionally get "stuck" where i can't access or remove them.

You'll have to use the finder menu option "Go to folder" and go to /Volumes and then there should be a folder with the same name as the rogue computer. You can safely delete it without worries and reboot (if necessary) and it'll be gone.

Done it often in tiger..
__________________
Life, Tech, and Aviation.
Darkmercury.net
Eclipse278 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:32 PM   #10
FJ218700
macrumors 68000
 
FJ218700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blue Dot, Red State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse278 View Post
If someone was mooching off the network would it show up as a volume that he could access in finder? I don't have leopard yet but in tiger I have network shares occasionally get "stuck" where i can't access or remove them.

You'll have to use the finder menu option "Go to folder" and go to /Volumes and then there should be a folder with the same name as the rogue computer. You can safely delete it without worries and reboot (if necessary) and it'll be gone.

Done it often in tiger..
the moocher can only access the shared folders that the owner is broadcasting. Likely the public folders (by default) assuming that file sharing is even enabled.

The mooching has probably been occurring since Tiger, only Leopard shows the network in a more visible manner.

unmounting the volume will only result in the owner no longer seeing the moocher, but he/she will still be there unless the network is properly secured
__________________
various Macs
FJ218700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:41 PM   #11
buffalo
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs / Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by FJ218700 View Post
Zach, is your network encrypted? If not, not to be rude, but you're just asking for others to jump on.
It is not. I know it should be, but I have never tried to access the Linksys router system and figure out how to encrypt it (I know it is probably quite simple). Because I live in a subdivision with fairly large houses, I was under the impression the the signal would not carry over into the neighboring houses. My network is the only one that both my iMac and MacBook detect.
buffalo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 09:50 PM   #12
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
If you really dont want people mooching your well paid for internet, and not encrypt, you can just changed the ssid (to kick that guy off) and then stop broadcasting your network. That will stop the average user to gain access to your network. It most cases, it will never show up on a network list. The exception that ive seen, user on vista will see it, but they have to know the ssid. Now in no way is that completely secure. I just doubt that anybody that has the know how, to get your ssid from the air by stiffing all possible traffic will be around a housing community. It is possible though.
Ive had my network unencrypted for 5 years and never had one person hop on with my ssid not broadcasting.
I also see you never configured the router. Another "linksys" ssid out there. Its so common, its quite sad. I say log in by going to any web browser and type 192.168.1.1 as the web address. user name should be blank. Password is admin. 3 thing you should change. 1. the router password 2. your ssid, can be anything rememberable, and dont broadcast it. 3. your channel to channel 1. Channel six is over used and could vreate slowdowns with all the interference from everyone else that dont configure their router as well. If you want to encrypt, that'll be up to you

Last edited by lostless; Nov 12, 2007 at 09:55 PM.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 10:02 PM   #13
suneohair
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
An app like iStumbler can easily find a non-broadcasted ssid. That is hardly security, that in conjunction with WPA would be secure. Take that a step further and setup an access list. I also change from the standard IP.

Also, with the ssid, consider that Macs aren't friendly with not having it broadcasted. I know Leopard has issues with that as well. Just a heads up.

Further, if you haven't logged into that router someone can connect, go into the control panel and block you. I would suggest you take some steps to secure your network.
suneohair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 12:22 AM   #14
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
As for osx not being able to handle a non broadcasting ssid, ive never had an issue. Just you have to select other and then manually type in the ssid you want to use. and yes i have leopard
as for someone finding your ssid, its true its easy, but most people are not actively using apps to find one or know about one. Infact, I knoe of none for osx until you said what app there is :P . I say if someone wants to take the time to figure out how to do that, feel free to steal my internet. the average user out there is clueless how all this networking stuff works anyway. I have yet have 1 person connect to me in 5 years.

UPDATE: Istumbler has yet to find my network, gave it 20 minutes. Am I missing something you know that i cant figure out?

Last edited by lostless; Nov 13, 2007 at 12:39 AM.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 01:12 PM   #15
whatgives
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I see this thread has been dormant for a while, but hopefully someone more knowledgeable than I is still following. I too have this same issue. I first thought I was hacked or that someone was leeching off my network, but I had a reasonably well protected network with wpa encryption. I eventually realized that the second "pc server" was actually broadcasting from my macbook. So, 2 shared computers were coming from 1 machine. Any ideas?
whatgives is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 02:50 PM   #16
theMaccer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
I got this after I installed VMWare Fusion. I think it is the "virtual machine" that you created in VMW Fusion, and I dont know how to get the rid of it.
theMaccer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2009, 08:33 AM   #17
paultong
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Just open finder and view the shared computers.
goto finder preferences and the disable Bonjour computers to disable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 3.png
Views:	276
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	167347  
paultong is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2009, 09:12 AM   #18
aireeonree
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
moocher

it appears that i have a moocher so i changed password and key on wireless hub. but it did not get rid of the damn moocher. i dont know how that is even possible if i have reset the key and password. argh! help. please.
aireeonree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:10 PM   #19
cloverhill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
mysterious 'other' server

I think theMaccer is on to the answer. I had the same thing happen right after I installed Sun VirtualBox. I think this is the remnants of the virtual drive. Anybody try to install VMWare or the like have this issue?
cloverhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:23 PM   #20
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalo View Post
Is there any way to get this computer that is detected by my Mac off the shared computers list? It is not mine and is useless to me. I am referring to the "Mac00112..." The one below it is mine and works well.

Thanks!

SECURE your network. If that moocher is using your network to run torrentz 24/7 you will be accused of it. It will cause much unneeded hassle for you.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 07:30 PM   #21
cloverhill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
mysterious 'other' server

I don't think you are correct. Three items:

First:
When I click connect, get this message, which says that the server is local:
The server “MacBook-0017F2DDBFA4” is available on your computer. Access the volumes and files locally.

Second:
When I look on my router, I can account for each of the wired and wireless connections and there aren't any moochers (unless they've managed to log on in a stealth mode).

Third:
The same server is available on my wife's macbook and when she connects, it is my computer.
cloverhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 07:55 PM   #22
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I have a 'mystery shared computer' in my Finder too. A little bit of digging demonstrated it was my bonjour capable Canon scanner that was showing up.
jmpage2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 07:58 PM   #23
cloverhill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
mysterious 'other' server

So how would one go about 'disconnecting' a bonjour server that happens to be one's own macbook?
cloverhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 08:07 PM   #24
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
I've had this problem since Leopard... it still exists on SL. Definitely not a moocher (my network is locked down) but it shows up on both of my macs. Very strange.
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 09:56 AM   #25
madpixl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Re: Help me get rid of this....

Is there any chance you are running Paralells or VMWare? That might account for the PC share.
madpixl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: The wife is getting rid of her computer and going with an iPad....??? jharvey71884 iPad 24 May 9, 2014 01:07 PM
Phantom Shared computer won't go away! sev Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 27, 2013 02:59 PM
stuck computer in shared oaltun OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Oct 16, 2013 09:09 AM
Help me get rid of this shared computer. Señor OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jun 23, 2013 12:14 AM
Shared computer showing up in Finder elduderino69 OS X 2 May 20, 2013 01:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC