|
|
#1 |
|
Anybody used UsedCameraBuyer.com?
I am looking to sell a camera of mine and I found a site where I could easily sell it. It is UsedCameraBuyer.com. However, I have never really heard of it and I am a little weary of sending my camera and lenses out to them.
Anybody used them before? Thanks so much. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#2 |
|
http://forum.digitalcamerareview.com...09&postcount=6
There's at least one person with a lot of posts on a photo board who seems to have nice things to say, and the usual search for "usedcamerabuyer.com scam" didn't turn much up in the way of warnings. Take that for what you will. I make absolutely no representations about if they're actually legit, though. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Thanks for the reply. I think UsedCameraBuyer is partnered with iStockPhoto, so that does make it a bit more legitimate.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#4 |
|
did you try keh.com?
__________________
---Jim--- People are stealing my photos. If you see one of my photos and it says I steal, let me know what thread it's in so I can correct it. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#5 |
|
I don't know anything about them - but their domain name was registered back in 2003, so that at least is okay.
The first thing I usually do with a company I've never heard of is look up when their domain was created. If it started up it 2007, fogedaboutit.
__________________
Your post count is insufficient to view signature |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Have you tried to sell it yourself? Those larger camera resellers pay you maybe 50% of the selling price unless you have a very "hot" item in which case you could sell it yourself quickly. In effect yu are paying them to sell your gear.
What are you trying to sell. Some of use here might know a beter place, depending on what you have. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#7 |
|
used camer equipment
I just sent several hundred dollars worth of equipment to them several days ago. I have called and e-mailed them to see if they received my stuff for 2 days now and I have received no answer yet. In a couple of days I will be getting upset.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Id jut use forums instead, cut the middleman out
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Usedcamerabuyer.com
I sent my D70 with 4 lenses to them last Thursday and received an email from them the following Wednesday saying that my check had been mailed out. I got my check 2 days later. I was extremely hesitant, but I looked at the company alot before I sent my stuff. They are a registered BBB company with 1 complaint that was resolved. Go to BBB.com and look them up. Anyway, I am very pleased with them. It was an extremely hassle free way to sell my camera equipment that I wasn't using anymore.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#10 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#11 |
|
I felt that it was a decent price. The D70 is a great camera, but as with any electronic/digital item, it was out dated. I was really having a difficult time trying to sell it on my own due to the enormous megapixle cameras that are out now. As soon as I would say it's a 6.3 megapixle, no one was interested. Anyway, I feel that they gave me about 5-10% below market value. For the ease of the whole process, I felt that it was a small fee to pay. Hope this was helpful.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Quote:
Hope that helps. DJWSAX |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
used camera buyer.com
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
used camera buyer
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() PS: THEY TAKE ALMOST A MONTH TO SEND YOU A CHECK, THEY DO NOT WANT TO PART WITH YOUR MONEY. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#15 |
|
used camera buyer.com
I have only had positive experiences with this company and sold them equipment at least 3 times. If you are honest with the condition of your equipment you will receive what they quoted with no questions asked.
Plus they pay the shipping to get your equipment to them
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#16 |
|
just asked for return
these folks are very hot to get your equipment in hand, and then not so fast.
I don't know what the current rate is but I was offered 10-15 cents on the dollar of the original cost. Then when they did the appraisal with equipment in hand they found problems I did not note prior to sending the equipment off. At that point they subtracted from the cumulative total at the rate of 50 to 75 cents on the dollar of original retail. I asked for the equipment to be sent back. I don't know if the problems are real and have no verification until they return the items. I will follow up on how hard and costly it was to get a return. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Happy with Used Camera Buyer
I recently sold a D700 and some desirable Nikon lenses to Used Camera Buyer, and was very pleased. I found them to be honest concerning price agreements, unlike a well-known camera retailer in New York. UCB agreed with my assessment of condition, gave me a very fair wholesale price (remember they have to make money on resale), and paid me within commercial standard 30 days. I would do business with them again. The only problem with selling to any big company is that price negotiations can't really begin until they have your stuff, as one other post here mentions. But UCB did pay my UPS to Virginia, so that helps. 8-)
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#18 |
|
craigslist
I have sold things on craigslist for more than I bought them for (again, from craigslist).
cash up front, no shipping involved. Its a win/win.
__________________
busy, busy busy. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#19 |
|
I am with Matt on this. Why bother? Hell, if you want to, do it yourself through amazon's selling service. but the brokers will ALWAYS try to lowball you..it's their business.. then agin if that "hassle" is worth to you that much money then go for it...
__________________
Nikon D-800 , 24-70G, 85 f1.8,100-300 F4,SB-900 and SB-800 and 2 Yongnuo 560s, 100mbit fiber to my house UNCAPPED! FriedFishStick.com home of my new project
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#20 |
|
usedcamerabuyers are crooks and thieves
On Nov 1 I received a online quote UCB811156 for Nikon D90 camera, a D5000 camera and 18-55mm lens, and a MBD-80 power pack.....I received a UPS shipping label in the mail tracking number 1Z1Y52430391899855.
On Nov 12th Collins signed for the package, and Nov 14th I was told "Everything did make it here and went through inspection this morning. Everything looked fine and you are all set, we just have some time in processing. Thanks again." On the 26th I was told by Matt Wolford the check was still in processing but he would talk to accounting and see if he could get it sent out end of the week....I never received the check. On Nov 30th I sent Matt another e-mail stating it had been 13 days in processing and wondered why it was taking so long to cut a check. Matt responded "David, I just met with accounting and your check is set to leave here on Monday the 12th. Thanks again" followed by my saying "December 12th is on a Wednesday" and then Matt responded " David, Sorry, that was Monday the 10th. Thanks again." That was the last correspondence I have received and no check in sight....I have sent several e-mails since that date, one where I told Matt I had filed a complaint with the Richmond, Va Better Business Bureau where they had 56 complaints on file...I FINALLY RECEIVED MY CHECK ON JAN 4TH.. Last edited by damcmp; Jan 6, 2013 at 07:33 PM. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#21 |
|
Nearly 3 months and still waiting for payment
I sold a high-end Canon lens to Used Camera Buyer on 2/14/13. The lens was delivered to their facility on 2/22/13. I began contacting USB on 4/1 and as of 5/14/13 I still have not receive payment. I was told on 4/17/13 that my payment would be mailed on 4/29/13. However, when I emailed on 5/13 advising that the payment had still not been received, I was informed that the payment still had not bee mailed. At this point, I have no information from them as to when my payment will be mailed. I've filed complaints with BBB.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#22 |
|
I've bought and sold plenty of items on the FredMiranda.com forums despite not being an active member there. If you're smart, it's relatively safe. But of course there is no middle man, so no protection or fallback aside from PayPal. It's not for everybody.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#23 | ||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|||
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Has anybody used UnlockiPhoneHere.com?? | Rabeye | Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks | 11 | Feb 17, 2011 07:41 AM |
| Anyone here used sellyourmac.com? Care to share your experience? | lokiju | Community Discussion | 2 | Jan 14, 2011 07:58 PM |
| are you using mac.com or me.com? should i switch to me.com? | settledown | iCloud and Apple services | 5 | Oct 7, 2010 11:37 AM |
| Anybody used MacService.com? | Singin Hobo | MacBook | 2 | Nov 9, 2008 06:56 PM |
| Anybody use gamefly.com? | skubish | Games | 4 | Sep 7, 2006 09:43 PM |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.













Linear Mode

