Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2007, 06:00 PM   #1
ApplePod17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
iPod 5th Gen Update 1.2.2 available

I just plugged in my 5th gen iPod and iTunes said that version 1.2.2 is available! I'm downloading it now...
ApplePod17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 06:04 PM   #2
adrianblaine
macrumors 65816
 
adrianblaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
does it say what it fixes?
__________________
“Maybe we can show government how to operate better as a result of better architecture”
~Frank Lloyd Wright
adrianblaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 06:10 PM   #3
ApplePod17
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
nope. it just says bug fixes
ApplePod17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 07:49 PM   #4
StealthRider
macrumors 65816
 
StealthRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Yokosuka, Japan
Send a message via AIM to StealthRider
Hey, Safari seems snappier™!

Oh, wait...
StealthRider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 01:09 AM   #5
R.Youden
macrumors 68020
 
R.Youden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Maybe it will fix the bug that stops my iPod crashing when I plug it into my mac....
R.Youden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 01:23 AM   #6
A Pittarelli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
my 5.5 80 was updated as well, seems...how do you say it? snappier?
__________________
Anthony Pittarelli

anthony pittarelli on myspace
A Pittarelli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 03:08 AM   #7
martintyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
updated my 60GB 5th gen ipod last night, it then added the new album i had added to itunes, i then disconnected (when it said it could).. went to listen to the new album this morning and i cannot access any of my music...

Artists, Albums etc all just go to a list with just 'All' on it and nothing inside that. Going to 'About' still says i am using ~35GB
martintyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 03:13 AM   #8
prabeshfloyd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
everything gone!!!!!!!!!

I just updated to 1.2.2. when i plugged in my ipod it said "synching" for a while, so i got paranoid. when i unplugged my ipod it had all the song titles ad playlists intact left but nothing would play. It keeps on skipping to the next track. my backup is across the globe(in NEPAL-asia), i haven't restored the ipod yet. anyone know how to get around it?

help!!!!!!!!!

that darn 1.2.2 update screwed me over. because european law had to go down 4db, i lost 24 GB of music...........anyone know anything about this? nobody should do this update.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!! i can't even listen to the beatles song "help" anymore :-(

almost 24 GB of music gone!!!!!!!

i need help!!
prabeshfloyd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 05:06 AM   #9
StealthRider
macrumors 65816
 
StealthRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Yokosuka, Japan
Send a message via AIM to StealthRider
Quote:
Originally Posted by prabeshfloyd View Post
I just updated to 1.2.2. when i plugged in my ipod it said "synching" for a while, so i got paranoid. when i unplugged my ipod it had all the song titles ad playlists intact left but nothing would play. It keeps on skipping to the next track. my backup is across the globe(in NEPAL-asia), i haven't restored the ipod yet. anyone know how to get around it?

help!!!!!!!!!

that darn 1.2.2 update screwed me over. because european law had to go down 4db, i lost 24 GB of music...........anyone know anything about this? nobody should do this update.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!! i can't even listen to the beatles song "help" anymore :-(

almost 24 GB of music gone!!!!!!!

i need help!!
Relax. Just restore and re-sync your iPod.
StealthRider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 08:45 AM   #10
orangetrumpeter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Urbana, IL
I assume this update will provide that new battery meter icon as found on the other iPod releases with iTunes 7.5 recently....


EDIT: Apparently not.............

Last edited by orangetrumpeter; Nov 13, 2007 at 08:50 AM. Reason: update
orangetrumpeter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 09:53 AM   #11
prabeshfloyd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthRider View Post
Relax. Just restore and re-sync your iPod.
can not do that, my music existed only on my ipod. my library is empty. don't have all the songs. my backup files are in a place which is 26 hrs flight from here.
talk about screwed up situation....
prabeshfloyd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 11:08 AM   #12
StealthRider
macrumors 65816
 
StealthRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Yokosuka, Japan
Send a message via AIM to StealthRider
Good lesson, though - don't update anything mission-critical if you don't have a handy backup.

Google and download iPodRip - it's a shareware utility that may be able to pull the songs back off of your iPod.
StealthRider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 12:37 PM   #13
WICKEDfour
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
I also downloaded an installed 1.2.2 on my 80 GB 5.5-gen iPod - no hitches here. As of right now I see no new features - no battery indicator either. No release notes either! Hmm...
WICKEDfour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 12:42 PM   #14
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthRider View Post
Good lesson, though - don't update anything mission-critical if you don't have a handy backup.

Google and download iPodRip - it's a shareware utility that may be able to pull the songs back off of your iPod.
A vote for Senuti here-- it might be able to pull song files off, too.
And a vote for the mission-critical thing.
And a vote for "never, ever, unplug a device while it is working on its own system software!"
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 10:38 PM   #15
Football1maniac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Speaking of the 5 Gen iPod, has anyone YET been able to install the new UI from the 6th Gen iPod onto the 5, 5.5 Gens? Out of curiosity....
__________________
As Steve Wozniak once said, "Never trust a computer that you can't throw out a window"
iPod touch (16 GB) Jailbroken October 12, 2007
Football1maniac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 10:55 PM   #16
MacGeek Pro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE
Solution

The solution for those who upgraded to 1.2.2 and have since been unable to "see" their music on their iPods, you MUST upgrade to iTunes 7.5!

This worked for my wife's iPod 5.5G 80GB.

Cheers.
__________________
MacGeek Pro
15-inch Unibody MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 500 GB HDD, 4 GB RAM, 802.11n, 8x SuperDrive; iPhone 4 32 GB Black; iPad WiFi 16 GB
MacGeek Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 11:25 PM   #17
WhiteShadow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Washington D.C.
just out of curisoity I pluged my 5gen 60gb in last night, first time in over 6 months and update 1.2.2 nice.

although *safari is snappier* no real improvement.
WhiteShadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 11:35 PM   #18
iJesus
macrumors 6502a
 
iJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reno, Nevada
Send a message via AIM to iJesus Send a message via MSN to iJesus
Has anyone ever tried putting 6th Gen firmware on a 5th Gen iPod?

is it possible?
__________________
twitter.com/jesuspalma
iJesus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 11:43 PM   #19
orangetrumpeter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Urbana, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iJesus View Post
Has anyone ever tried putting 6th Gen firmware on a 5th Gen iPod?

is it possible?
I believe the general consensus was that this does not work because the actual hardware to run the new firmware of the 6G is different that that of the 5G.
orangetrumpeter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 11:54 PM   #20
MetalMac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tijuana, MEX
I would say snappier

Now it's easier (faster) to scroll through my music while playing it
__________________
15" retina mbp + G3 slot loading imac + iPod touch 4thG
MetalMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 12:00 AM   #21
iJesus
macrumors 6502a
 
iJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reno, Nevada
Send a message via AIM to iJesus Send a message via MSN to iJesus
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangetrumpeter View Post
I believe the general consensus was that this does not work because the actual hardware to run the new firmware of the 6G is different that that of the 5G.
DANG IT,

thanks man
__________________
twitter.com/jesuspalma
iJesus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 01:40 AM   #22
SunRiser
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ramat Gan - Israel
 
I just wanted to report that for my 5G (60 GB), everything fine with iTunes 7.4.2 and Quicktime 7.2.0
SunRiser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 05:46 AM   #23
Magnus Reftel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechcozmo View Post
A vote for Senuti here-- it might be able to pull song files off, too.
And a vote for the mission-critical thing.
And a vote for "never, ever, unplug a device while it is working on its own system software!"
*puts on a fake gray beard*
... and always mount a scratch monkey!
Magnus Reftel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 08:10 AM   #24
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangetrumpeter
I believe the general consensus was that this does not work because the actual hardware to run the new firmware of the 6G is different that that of the 5G.
How about running 5.5G firmware on a 5G iPod?
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 08:47 AM   #25
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonbot View Post
How about running 5.5G firmware on a 5G iPod?
From what I remember, it's the same firmware for the 5.5G and the 5G iPod.

Edit: Installed the update on my 5.5G 30 GB with iTunes 7.5 installed...everything is fine. Maybe it'll solve my problem of it not playing audio the first time around sometimes.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog

Last edited by Warbrain; Nov 14, 2007 at 09:03 AM.
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: iPod touch 5th gen jb, iPod disabled connect to iTunes issue... Truefan31 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 May 26, 2014 05:39 PM
iPod 5th gen topdudealan iPod touch 1 Jul 26, 2013 01:43 PM
iPod Touch 4th gen vs 5th gen? jread iPod touch 18 Jul 15, 2013 02:35 AM
iPod Touch 4th Gen Or 5th Gen? Goftrey iPod touch 8 Sep 22, 2012 09:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC