Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2007, 07:59 AM   #1
brianj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
vmware fusion change hard drive size

Hello,

How do I change the hard drive size of a image in fusion?

The settings are locked under the virtual machine -> settings menu.

Best regards
brianj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 12:06 AM   #2
jb6927
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianj View Post
Hello,

How do I change the hard drive size of a image in fusion?

The settings are locked under the virtual machine -> settings menu.

Best regards
+1! I am also looking to decrease the size of my image. I installed Vista 64 on my new MBP and have it 60GB of space. I would like to lower it to about 30GB. Anyway I can do this??
jb6927 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 04:06 PM   #3
Methos72d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Maybe this will help

I found this article online..


Hope this helps.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/690626#690626

Methos
Methos72d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 12:14 AM   #4
micsaund
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Expanding the disk itself is very easy.

1) Open a Terminal
2) cd to the directory with the .vmdk you wish to expand.
3) Run: "/Applications/VMware\ Fusion.app/Contents/MacOS/diskTool -X 50GB <file.vmdk>" where 50GB is the size you want and file.vmdk is the correct name for your VM.
4) Wait.

Now, the issue you run into is that you're increasing the physical (virtual) drive size, but the guest OS doesn't know about this. Just as if you had a 100GB drive, formatted it, installed Windows, and then somehow magically increased the disk to 120GB -- the formatting/partitioning is still set for 100GB.

What this means is that you'll have a larger drive, but the Windows install will only be configured for the old size. You must expand the partition within the VM. You can do this via something like Partition Magic or Acronis Disk Suite. I recently used Gparted (free) to expand a partition in a VM and it worked fine.

Mike
__________________
Check-out my review of Zagg Z.buds earbuds for the iPhone and save 20%.
micsaund is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2008, 06:19 AM   #5
pjc113
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Caveat

Just be careful if you have snapshots doing this will get you in trouble. You need to commit them before resizing first.
pjc113 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 03:06 AM   #6
Tex-Twil
macrumors 68020
 
Tex-Twil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methos72d View Post
I found this article online..


Hope this helps.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/690626#690626

Methos
HI,
this does not explain how to make the disk smaller

I also want to make the vm disk smaller.
Tex-Twil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 05:48 AM   #7
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
I did it a few months back with my mini because I was running out of disk space and didn't need such a big VM. However, I can't find the source I used to do it...but it was all within Fusion, I didn't have to do any Terminal commnds. I remember I had to delete all the old snapshots before it would let me shrink the drive.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing a Hard Drive Partition - "The requested change in size is too small" bschamel Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jun 22, 2013 09:19 AM
VMware Fusion 4 and Fusion Drive Kilamite Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 24, 2013 04:54 AM
rMBP + vmware fusion + resolution change Langley MacBook Pro 6 Aug 7, 2012 05:50 PM
VMWare Fusion 3 doesn't work on Mountain Lion, VMWare asking full price for Fusion 4! Marc4 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 20 Jul 29, 2012 09:07 PM
VMWare Fusion 4: VM size RightMACatU Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jul 19, 2012 06:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC