Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2007, 07:59 AM   #1
brianj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
vmware fusion change hard drive size

Hello,

How do I change the hard drive size of a image in fusion?

The settings are locked under the virtual machine -> settings menu.

Best regards
brianj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 12:06 AM   #2
jb6927
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianj View Post
Hello,

How do I change the hard drive size of a image in fusion?

The settings are locked under the virtual machine -> settings menu.

Best regards
+1! I am also looking to decrease the size of my image. I installed Vista 64 on my new MBP and have it 60GB of space. I would like to lower it to about 30GB. Anyway I can do this??
jb6927 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 04:06 PM   #3
Methos72d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Maybe this will help

I found this article online..


Hope this helps.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/690626#690626

Methos
Methos72d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 12:14 AM   #4
micsaund
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Expanding the disk itself is very easy.

1) Open a Terminal
2) cd to the directory with the .vmdk you wish to expand.
3) Run: "/Applications/VMware\ Fusion.app/Contents/MacOS/diskTool -X 50GB <file.vmdk>" where 50GB is the size you want and file.vmdk is the correct name for your VM.
4) Wait.

Now, the issue you run into is that you're increasing the physical (virtual) drive size, but the guest OS doesn't know about this. Just as if you had a 100GB drive, formatted it, installed Windows, and then somehow magically increased the disk to 120GB -- the formatting/partitioning is still set for 100GB.

What this means is that you'll have a larger drive, but the Windows install will only be configured for the old size. You must expand the partition within the VM. You can do this via something like Partition Magic or Acronis Disk Suite. I recently used Gparted (free) to expand a partition in a VM and it worked fine.

Mike
__________________
Check-out my review of Zagg Z.buds earbuds for the iPhone and save 20%.
micsaund is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2008, 06:19 AM   #5
pjc113
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Caveat

Just be careful if you have snapshots doing this will get you in trouble. You need to commit them before resizing first.
pjc113 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 03:06 AM   #6
Tex-Twil
macrumors 68020
 
Tex-Twil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methos72d View Post
I found this article online..


Hope this helps.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/690626#690626

Methos
HI,
this does not explain how to make the disk smaller

I also want to make the vm disk smaller.
Tex-Twil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 05:48 AM   #7
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
I did it a few months back with my mini because I was running out of disk space and didn't need such a big VM. However, I can't find the source I used to do it...but it was all within Fusion, I didn't have to do any Terminal commnds. I remember I had to delete all the old snapshots before it would let me shrink the drive.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does my hard drive space keep changing with VMWare? illiniry MacBook 3 Oct 29, 2011 02:11 PM
Installing and using older Windows OS's in VMware Fusion. lonesdav000 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Jul 1, 2011 01:53 PM
VMWare Fusion, Catia & Resources phoenix1492 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jan 19, 2011 08:06 AM
Snow Leopard: How to Change Hard Drive Size To Base 2? hormelmeatcompa OS X 11 Sep 10, 2009 08:29 AM
VMWare Fusion virtual hard drive problem evilsherpa Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 5, 2008 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC