Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2007, 05:03 AM   #1
Wouter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Exclamation My Mac only boots Windows XP

Hi,

I have a new Macbook running Leopard. I installed Windows XP using bootcamp which went OK. When I start up, the Macbook boots from Windows and there is no way I can go back to MAC OS (Leopard). How can I repair this situation. In the end I want to run Windows XP from MAC OS using VMWare Fusion.

Can someone give me advise on how to boot to Leopard again.

Thanks,

Wouter
Wouter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:13 AM   #2
RZetlin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Before boot up press the option key to bring up the boot selection menu. Select the Mac OS.
RZetlin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:33 AM   #3
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Or if that doesn't work you can reset the pram which stores the boot location by holding down cmd+option+p+r on boot.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 07:15 AM   #4
DarthTreydor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
that sounds kinda like this bad dream i had once
__________________
Mac Pro 1 x 2.8 Xeon 6GB RAM HD 2600
Macbook 2.1 C2D 4GB RAM
iMac 2.0 C2D 2GB RAM
iPhone 3G S 16GB
DarthTreydor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 07:55 AM   #5
weckart
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
You can also choose the startup disk within Windows' Control Panel. Try looking there if you are reading this from Windows now.
weckart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 05:01 PM   #6
Spliff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
I went through this Friday night, you need to take the Leopard disk and install the Bootcamp software in Windows. That way you'll have all your drivers etc.

Also as someone mentioned above, hold the [Option] key when booting up to choose which OS you want to boot into.
Spliff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 05:19 PM   #7
TimJim
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
To get back restart holding the Option key and select Mac OS X.

But, if your going to run Windows, you need to install the drivers which are on the Leopard install disk. This will make everything a lot better.
TimJim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:07 PM   #8
marclapierre13
macrumors 6502a
 
marclapierre13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Mine does this too. I already know about the "option" key startup, but is there any way in preference that It can boot up OS X by default, and not my XP?
__________________
.:Mac Addict:.
15.4" 2.53ghz/4GB/500GB MBPu; iPhone 5; 8GB 6G iPod Nano; Pentax K10D.
My Flickr
marclapierre13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:16 PM   #9
AutumnSkyline
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
apple menu> system prefs>Sytem>Startup Disk> Mac OS 10 everyone's happy
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1000 2.2 Ghz 256MB,30GB,14", 17" iMac 2.0 Ghz 160 GB, 1.5 GB SuperDrive, Ipod Shuffle 2G, 21 songs (Im a minimalist )
AutumnSkyline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 07:47 PM   #10
marclapierre13
macrumors 6502a
 
marclapierre13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
that only sets it to booting OS X that time, doesnt set it to boot by default.
__________________
.:Mac Addict:.
15.4" 2.53ghz/4GB/500GB MBPu; iPhone 5; 8GB 6G iPod Nano; Pentax K10D.
My Flickr
marclapierre13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 07:51 PM   #11
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I'd be interested to know, as well. It is strange. On my first imac - bootcamp would always default to OSX, unless I intervened with my "Alt key" (or command).

But on this iMac - it reboots to whatever OS was last up and running.

It's only annoying because I forget sometimes, and have to stare at the windows loading screen while waiting to restart.

I saw someone else who upon each boot - it would stop at the OS selection screen automatically, that seemed nice. But I think they installed a script or something in the EFI to do it.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 09:32 PM   #12
solvs
macrumors 601
 
solvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: LaLaLand, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by marclapierre13 View Post
that only sets it to booting OS X that time, doesnt set it to boot by default.
It should. Clicking on the Mac partition then clicking on the restart button should set that as the default. The next time you boot, it should automatically go into OS X again unless you hold down CMD and choose Windows. Even then, after choosing Windows, it should automatically go into the Mac the next time you boot and will only go into Windows if you click on it after holding down CMD again. It shouldn't change unless you do it in Control Panel or System Preferences. I don't know which happens if you click on the icon in Windows taskbar (the icon next to the clock on the lower right side), because I don't use it.
__________________
True love never dies
The only thing more dangerous than a woman scorned, is a man with nothing left to lose...
solvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No internet or wireless in Windows XP through Bootcamp sketchygio Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Nov 24, 2011 05:49 PM
Find My Mac not working in Guest (safari-only mode) GerMo iCloud and Apple Services 2 Nov 8, 2011 05:35 PM
windows xp driver's jordanr1186 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Apr 19, 2011 10:58 PM
I messed up somewhere, please help. Mac only booting Windows. Theone0581 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Mar 18, 2011 07:11 PM
2 GB ram only for windows xp boot camp? Yes OS X 2 Dec 29, 2008 06:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC